An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Skills And Hobbies: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about skills and hobbies?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to skills and hobbies. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about skills and hobbies.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about skills and hobbies, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey to popular sellers like The Tiger Rising to some of our favorite hidden gems like Ruby Holler.

We hope this list of kids books about skills and hobbies can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey
Written by Susan Wojciechowski & illustrated by P. J. Lynch
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

The spirit of Christmas heals a sorrowing woodcarver’s heart in this splendid reissue of a Candlewick holiday classic, dressed in a radiant new cover. The spirit of Christmas heals a sorrowing woodcarver’s heart in this splendid edition of a holiday classic, complete with a CD masterfully narrated by James Earl Jones.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Ruby Holler
Written by Sharon Creech
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

“You are now entering Ruby Holler, the one and only Ruby Holler! Your lives are never going to be the same—“

“Trouble twins” Dallas and Florida are orphans who have given up believing there is such a thing as a loving home. Tiller and Sairy are an eccentric older couple who live in the beautiful, mysterious Ruby Holler, but they’re restless for one more big adventure. When they invite the twins to join them on their journeys, they first must all stay together in the Holler, and the magic of the place takes over. Two pairs of lives grow closer and are changed forever.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$5.19
Used $-0.73
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Max and the Millions
Written by Ross Montgomery
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In the vein of The Borrowers and The Indian in the Cupboard, this is an imaginative, irresistible, and incredible exploration into what happens when one boy discovers a kingdom of tiny people.

The day before summer vacation, Max’s closest friend at boarding school disappears, leaving behind his amazing model collection and a handful of sand on his bedroom floor. Like Max, the eccentric janitor Mr. Darrow is a genius at building tiny models. Eight weeks later, Max finds that the sand has magically transformed into a whole desert kingdom–filled with millions of tiny people!

Max wears hearing aids, and they allow him to hear the ant-sized people. There’s a boy named Luke who’s about to become king. But when Max appears, he plunges their world into chaos. Luckily, Luke has two strong allies: Ivy, a fearless girl, and Luke’s trusty steed–a flea.

While Max and his new friend Sasha fight to protect the Floor from their evil headmaster, Luke must fight to save it from being destroyed by all-out war.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$11.00
Used $2.62
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Beautiful Eggs
Written & illustrated by Alice Lindstrom
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-7

A large-format board book for Easter that celebrates traditions of egg-decorating from around the world in exquisite cut-paper illustration.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Village Blacksmith
Written by & illustrated by G. Brian Karas
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
A contemporary envisioning of a nineteenth-century poem pairs artwork by G. Brian Karas with the Henry Wadsworth Longfellow classic.
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$14.29
Used $8.00
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Never Satisfied: The Story of The Stonecutter - A hilarious story about thinking the grass is greener somewhere else Have you ever wished you were someone else? Stanley the stonecutter has, because cutting stones is hard work for a frog! So Stanley wishes he could have it easy like the tea-drinking businessman . . . and, boom, he’s transformed. Then he decides he’d be better off as the majestic king. But even that isn’t good enough when he sees the radiant sun. Why, if he were the sun, everyone would look up to him, right? Hmm, will Stanley ever be satisfied? Dave Horowitz’s fantastic collage illustrations bring this classic folktale to hilarious life as Stanley’s endless comparisons bring him full circle. Maybe being yourself is not half bad after all!

  • Dog Food - For dog lovers of all ages, a banquet of (pepper) puppy puns! Saxton Freymann and Joost Elffers have wowed readers with the funny food faces of HOW ARE YOU PEELING, the underwater vegetable visions of ONE LONELY SEAHORSE and the lush produce landscapes of GUS AND BUTTON. Now with DOG FOOD, the duo turns its talents to the canine realm, wittily reworking familiar doggy phrases for a whole new level of humor and meaning. These pepper pooches and mango mutts are guaranteed to charm dog owners, dog lovers, and even – dare we say it – cat fans. Chow down!

  • The Tiger Rising - A National Book Award finalist by Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo. Walking through the misty Florida woods one morning, twelve-year-old Rob Horton is stunned to encounter a tiger—a real-life, very large tiger—pacing back and forth in a cage. What’s more, on the same extraordinary day, he meets Sistine Bailey, a girl who shows her feelings as readily as Rob hides his. As they learn to trust each other, and ultimately, to be friends, Rob and Sistine prove that some things—like memories, and heartache, and tigers—can’t be locked up forever. Featuring a cover illustration by Stephen Walton.

  • Under the Bottle Bridge - In the tradition of Counting by 7s and Three Times Lucky, critically acclaimed author Jessica Lawson returns with her fourth whimsical, lyrical, and heartfelt middle grade novel about a girl who’s desperately trying to keep her life together, when everything seems to be falling apart. In the weeks leading up to Gilbreth, New York’s annual AutumnFest, twelve-year-old woodcraft legacy Minna Treat is struggling with looming deadlines, an uncle trying to hide Very Bad News, and a secret personal quest. When she discovers mysterious bottle messages under one of the village’s 300-year-old bridges, she can’t help but wonder who’s leaving them, what they mean, and, most importantly…could the messages be for her? Along with best friend Crash and a mystery-loving newcomer full of suspicious theories, Minna is determined to discover whether the bottles are miraculously leading her toward the long-lost answers she’s been looking for, or drawing her into a disaster of historic proportions.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.