The Definitive Guide to

Max and the Millions

Written by Ross Montgomery
Published by Wendy Lamb Books
1234567
4.75 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 19
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$16.99
used $16.99
Amazon
Mar 13, 2018
Publication Date
272
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In the vein of The Borrowers and The Indian in the Cupboard, this is an imaginative, irresistible, and incredible exploration into what happens when one boy discovers a kingdom of tiny people.

The day before summer vacation, Max’s closest friend at boarding school disappears, leaving behind his amazing model collection and a handful of sand on his bedroom floor. Like Max, the eccentric janitor Mr. Darrow is a genius at building tiny models. Eight weeks later, Max finds that the sand has magically transformed into a whole desert kingdom–filled with millions of tiny people!

Max wears hearing aids, and they allow him to hear the ant-sized people. There’s a boy named Luke who’s about to become king. But when Max appears, he plunges their world into chaos. Luckily, Luke has two strong allies: Ivy, a fearless girl, and Luke’s trusty steed–a flea.

While Max and his new friend Sasha fight to protect the Floor from their evil headmaster, Luke must fight to save it from being destroyed by all-out war.

What Kind of Book is Max and the Millions

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following is a list of concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Language: This book has one instance of profanity (using the word he**). There is some name calling, such as "idiots" and "wiener."
Violence: The violence in this story includes a war and some violent language between the ant-sized beings. Mr. Pitt is in the new building when it falls due to it not being properly built.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Quotes from This Book

  • “The world is filled of millions of miracles that no one sees.”

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
4.75 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include Max and the Millions

Book Topics › skills and hobbies
Children's Books About Skills And Hobbies
Book Topics › physical disabilities
Children's Books About Physical Disabilities
Book Topics › deafness
Children's Books About Deafness
Book Topics › school
Children's Books About School
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Max and the Millions

author
Ross Montgomery

Ross Montgomery has worked as a pig farmer, a postman, and a primary school teacher, so writing books was the next logical step. He spent his childhood reading everything he could get his hands on, from Jacqueline Wilson to comic books, and it taught him pretty much everything that’s worth knowing. If you looked through his pockets, you’d find empty potato chip packets, lists of things to do, and a bottle of that stuff you put on your nails to stop biting them. He lives in London with his girlfriend, a cat named Fun Bobby, and a cactus on every available surface. His previous books include <i>Alex, the Dog and the Unopenable Door</i> and <i>The Tornado Chasers, </i> and <i>Perijee & Me, </i> available from Wendy Lamb Books. Visit him online at rossmontgomery.co.uk and on Twitter at @mossmontmomery.

View Author

What Has Ross Montgomery Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Ross know that you want more details about Max and the Millions!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Max and the Millions

Book Details

ISBN:
9781524718848
Publication Date:
March 13, 2018
ASIN/ISBN 10:
152471884X

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 28%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.