Best Children's Books About Trying new things

92+ Children's Books About Trying new things

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Just a Duck? book
#1
Just a Duck?
Written and illustrated by Carin Bramsen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Now that Cat has learned to play games that Duck enjoys, it’s Duck’s turn to try things that Cat likes. However, climbing trees and swatting at leaves prove to be a bit tricky for flat-footed Duck. What’s an unlikely pair of friends to do?

Shark Nate-O book
#2
Shark Nate-O
Written by Tara Luebbe, Becky Cattie and illustrated by Daniel Duncan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Nate loves sharks. He reads shark books every day, watches sharks on TV, and talks about them nonstop. He even likes to pretend he's a shark wherever he goes! However, there is one small problem. . . . Nate can't swim. When his older brother points this out, Nate works hard to overcome his fears and learn how to blow bubbles, use a kickboard, and finally swim without help, as quickly and as gracefully as a shark. Will he be able to beat his brother in a swim tryout and get his bite back? Kids will love this jawsome book complete with vibrant and whimsical art and a list of shark facts in the back!

The Cow Who Climbed a Tree book
#3
The Cow Who Climbed a Tree
Written and illustrated by Gemma Merino
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Tina isn't like the other cows. She believes that the sky is the limit and that everything is possible. But her sisters aren't convinced—and when Tina tells them she has climbed a tree and met a dragon, they decide that her nonsense has gone too far. Off they go into the woods to find her…and soon discover a world of surprises!

When Your Llama Needs a Haircut book
#4
When Your Llama Needs a Haircut
Written by Susanna Leonard Hill and illustrated by Daniel Wiseman
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-4

When it’s picture day and you realize your llama needs a haircut, you’ll need a good comb and some luck! This charming and hilarious board book features one shaggy llama and a whole lot of hairstyles! Uh-oh. It’s picture day and someone's a mess! Does your llama need a haircut? After a hilarious shampoo, it’s time to decide which style would be best for your shaggy llama. A mohawk? Layers? Or how about a brand-new fur color? But be careful…or you just might end up with a haircut, too!

Wally Does Not Want a Haircut book
#5
Wally Does Not Want a Haircut
Written and illustrated by Amanda Driscoll
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Wally the sheep does not want to get the haircut he really needs, even after all the other farm animals get new hairdos, but when his shaggy wool gets him in trouble, he has no choice but to ask for a trim.

Dinnertime for Chickies book
#6
Dinnertime for Chickies
Written and illustrated by Janee Trasler
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

Wash your wings, and take a seat. What will these tiny chickies eat? With the help of Cow, Pig, and Sheep, soon the chickies learn to cheep, "Pass the carrots. Pass the peas. Pass those yummy broccolis!" With engaging rhymes, endearing illustrations, and a soft padded cover, this book is perfect for babies and toddlers to enjoy, especially those picky chickies.

Bertie Wings It! book
#7
Bertie Wings It!
Written by Leslie Gorin and illustrated by Brendan Kearney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Bertie the birdie knows: he's ready to fly from the nest and into the sky. But whenever he's about to take wing, his fellow feathered friends squawk at him to STOP and follow their advice instead. But not one of these "experts"--the persuasive penguin, the emu, or the kiwi--has ever actually flown! Will Bertie learn to trust his own instincts . . . and soar?

A Piece of Home book
#8
A Piece of Home
Written by Jeri Watts and illustrated by Hyewon Yum
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

"When Hee Jun's family moves from Korea to West Virginia, he struggles to adjust to his new home. His eyes are not big and round like his classmates, and he can't understand anything the teacher says, even when she speaks s-l-o-w-l-y and loudly at him. As he lies in bed at night, the sky seems smaller and darker. But little by little Hee Jun begins to learn English words and make friends on the playground. And one day he is invited to a classmate's house, where he sees a flower he knows from his garden in Korea, "mugunghwa," or Rose of Sharon, as his friend tells him and Hee Jun is happy to bring a shoot to his grandmother to plant a "piece of home" in their new garden."--Provided by publisher.

Big Girl Panties book
#9
Big Girl Panties
Written by Fran Manushkin and illustrated by Valeria Petrone
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Follows a young girl as she celebrates wearing underwear instead of diapers.

Lena's Shoes Are Nervous book
#10
Lena's Shoes Are Nervous
Written by Keith Calabrese and illustrated by Juana Medina
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Today is a big day! Today, Lena starts kindergarten. She is very excited. But there’s just one problem... Lena’s shoes are nervous. Lena doesn’t want to miss out on her first day of school, but she can’t go without her favorite shoes! How can she convince them to be brave?

Shopping! book
#11
Shopping!
Written and illustrated by Jess Stockham
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A child helps decide which items to purchase from the store and where to go to buy them.

Big Day Out book
#12
Big Day Out
Written and illustrated by Jess Stockham
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Young children's lives are full of new experiences and we all want to make these enjoyable and rewarding. Talking to children helps them to understand and prepare for these events, and this series of books aim to promote discussion.

School Trip book
#13
School Trip
Written by Jess Stockham and illustrated by Jan Lewis
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

A group of children enjoy a field trip in this story that answers such questions as: What if I get lost? What is there to see? and many more. Includes tips for reading with young children.

Do You Like These Boots? book
#14
Do You Like These Boots?
Written and illustrated by Jacky Davis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-6

Ladybug Girl has outgrown her favorite pair of boots! So her mom takes her to the shoe store to buy another pair. Children will learn their colors with Ladybug Girl as she tries on new boots–until she finds the perfect pair!

Dentist book
#15
Dentist
Written by Jess Stockham and illustrated by Jan Lewis
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Young children visit the dentist and see what a typical appointment might be like, including having their teeth examined, learning how to keep their teeth clean, and getting a filling.

Sports Day book
#16
Sports Day
Written and illustrated by Jan Lewis
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Children enjoy a school sports day in this story that addresses such questions as: Which team am I in? Where do I go? Who's the winner? and many more. Includes tips for reading with young children.

Grow It! book
#17
Grow It!
Written and illustrated by Georgie Birkett
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Simple text and illustrations show a child helping with gardening tasks.

My New Baby book
#18
My New Baby
Written and illustrated by Rachel Fuller
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A child adjusts to the arrival of a new sibling and to how life is different with a newborn baby around. On board pages.

Colors-Dicmas book
#19
Colors-Dicmas
Written and illustrated by Courtney Dicmas
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

First concepts can be wild, especially when animals are involved! Young children acquire and retain information more effectively when they are entertained and engaged. Vibrant, dynamic and funny, this is the perfect introduction to colors for very young readers.

Performance book
#20
Performance
Written and illustrated by Jan Lewis
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Young children’s lives are full of new experiences, and these books help make these enjoyable and rewarding. The simple conversational text and lively illustrations are carefully designed to encourage further dialogue between reader and child.

Numbers book
#21
Numbers
Written and illustrated by Courtney Dicmas
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

Courtney Dicmas introduces babies to basic concepts with her award-winning charm and humour. In Opposites, interactions between animals with drastically different characteristics provides plenty of opportunities to discuss and make comparisons. Colours takes an original approach to the topic by representing popular colours through ocean creatures. Shapes cleverly demonstrates the way that different shapes appear in nature, through the outlines of animals, or through the negative space between them and their family members. How many birds can roost on a wire? Find out in the final book in the series: Numbers!

Hop a Little, Jump a Little! book
#22
Hop a Little, Jump a Little!
Written and illustrated by Annie Kubler
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

Babies wear themselves out moving and playing.

Hannah Is My Name book
#23
Hannah Is My Name
Written and illustrated by Belle Yang
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

"Based on her own immigration story, Yang’s offering is a winner — a spot-on depiction of the immigration experience in America." — KIRKUS REVIEWS It’s a long way from Taiwan to San Francisco, but Hannah’s family has made the journey because they want to make America their home. In America, Baba tells his daughter, people are free to say what they think, and children can grow up to be whatever they choose. As Hannah takes a new name, starts a new school, learns a new language, and adjusts to a new way of life, they all wait — and hope — for the arrival of the green cards that will assure they are finally home to stay.

Jabberwalking book
#24
Jabberwalking
Written and illustrated by Juan Felipe Herrera
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Can you walk and talk at the same time? How about Jabberwalk? Can you write and draw and walk and journal all at the same time? If not, you re in luck: exuberant, blue-cheesy cilantro man Juan Felipe Herrera, Poet Laureate of the United States, is here to teach you everything he knows about being a real-life, bonified, Jabberwalking poet!

Black Belt Bunny book
#25
Black Belt Bunny
Written by Jacky Davis and illustrated by Jay Fleck
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

From the author of the bestselling Ladybug Girl series, this hilarious, empowering picture book about a little black-belt who faces a new challenge is perfect for fans of The Three Ninja Pigs, The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog, and I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato Black Belt Bunny is fast and strong and has seriously awesome moves—from front-kicks to back-flips to air-chops. Then he’s faced with something new, something every bunny must learn, something he might not be as good at: He has to make . . . a salad. Black Belt Bunny tries to escape. He even disguises himself with a fake mustache. But when he finally hops to it, he discovers that his seriously awesome moves come in pretty handy, and that—in a funny twist that puts the narrator in the hot seat—he isn’t the only one who has to try new things.

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.