An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Voting: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about voting?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to voting. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about voting.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about voting, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Everyone Gets a Say to popular sellers like Lillian’s Right to Vote to some of our favorite hidden gems like Granddaddy’s Turn.

We hope this list of kids books about voting can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
V Is for Voting
Written by Kate Farrell & illustrated by Caitlin Kuhwald
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

V Is for Voting is an ABC book that introduces progressive families to concepts like social justice and civil rights and reminds readers that every vote counts!

A is for active participation.
B is for building a more equal nation.
C is for citizens’ rights and our duty.
D is for difference, our strength and our beauty.

An engaging introduction to the tenets of democracy, V Is for Voting is a playful, poetic, and powerful primer about the importance of voting and activism. Featuring Kate Farrell’s rhyming text and Caitlin Kuhwald’s bold art, plus thoughtful back matter, the book is a gorgeous, and crucial, addition to every young reader’s library. It makes the perfect gift for fans of A Is for Activist, Woke Baby, and Feminist Baby.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$15.42
Used $8.95
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
Granddaddy's Turn
Written by Michael S Bandy and Eric Stein & illustrated by James E. Ransome
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Based on the true story of one family’s struggle for voting rights in the civil rights-era South, this moving tale shines an emotional spotlight on a dark facet of U.S. history. Life on the farm with Granddaddy is full of hard work, but despite all the chores, Granddaddy always makes time for play, especially fishing trips. Even when there isn’t a bite to catch, he reminds young Michael that it takes patience to get what’s coming to you. One morning, when Granddaddy heads into town in his fancy suit, Michael knows that something very special must be happening–and sure enough, everyone is lined up at the town hall! For the very first time, Granddaddy is allowed to vote, and he couldn’t be more proud. But can Michael be patient when it seems that justice just can’t come soon enough? This powerful and touching true-life story shares one boy’s perspective of growing up in the segregated South, while beautiful illustrations depict the rural setting in tender detail.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
Citizen Baby: My Vote
Written by Daniel Prosterman and Megan E Bryant & illustrated by Micah Player
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Get to know the voting process with Citizen Baby!

Citizen Baby knows a thing or two about voting. It’s important to meet the candidates (they love babies!) and to call voters. Plus, you get a sticker at the polls! Children and adults alike will enjoy learning about voting in this adorable, informative board book.

Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
Equality's Call: The Story of Voting Rights in America
Written by Deborah Diesen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8
Learn all about the history of voting rights in the United States--from our nation's founding to the present day--in this powerful picture book from the New York Times bestselling author of The Pout-Pout Fish.
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$13.99
Used $10.73
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
Vote for Our Future!
Written by Margaret McNamara & illustrated by Micah Player
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
In this charming and powerful picture book about voting and elections, the students of Stanton Elementary School learn how we can find--and
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.06
Used $2.48
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Everyone Gets a Say - From Jill Twiss and EG Keller, the #1 New York Times bestselling team behind Last Week Tonight with John Oliver Presents: A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo and The Someone New, comes a new picture book about voting, just in time for the 2020 election season! Pudding the snail and his friends can’t seem to agree on anything. Whatever Jitterbug the chipmunk wants, Geezer the goose does not. Whatever Toast the butterfly wants, Duffles and Nudge the otters are absolutely against. And if somehow Toast and Duffles and Jitterbug and Nudge all agree on something, then Geezer is not having it. So when Toast suggests they need a leader, the friends try to figure out the best way to pick someone to be in charge. Should that someone be the fastest? The fluffiest? The squishiest? Or can Pudding show his friends that there just might be a way where everyone gets a say? In this follow-up to The Someone New, Jill Twiss and EG Keller cleverly underscore the importance of speaking up and using your voice.

  • Go Vote, Baby! - A fun, sturdy novelty board book with 13 sliding doors! Toddlers will love casting their vote as they “slide-and-vote” in everyday situations like striped or polka dot socks in the morning, vanilla or chocolate ice cream at snack time, and many more exciting choices every kid faces throughout the day. This sturdy board book is a great way to encourage toddlers to always cast their votes, despite how ordinary or tiny the decision may seem!

  • I Voted: Making a Choice Makes a Difference - With the next presidential election upon us, this witty, nonpartisan book will help explain the concept of voting to the youngest readers. I Voted explains the concept of choosing, individually, and as a group, from making a simple choice: “Which do you like better, apples or oranges?”, to selecting a class pet, to even more complicated decisions, like electing community representatives. You may not always get want you want, but there are strategies to better your odds! Serge Bloch’s effortless and charming illustrations paired with Mark Shulman’s funny and timely text create a perfect resource for discussing current events with your children. Backmatter includes information about the United States electoral process. A Junior Library Guild Selection!

  • When You Grow Up to Vote - In the voice of one of the most iconic and beloved political figures of the twentieth century comes a book on citizenship for the future voters of the twenty-first century. Eleanor Roosevelt published the original edition of When You Grow Up to Vote in 1932, the same year her husband was elected president. The new edition has updated information and back matter as well as fresh, bold art from award-winning artist Grace Lin. Beginning with government workers like,firefighters and garbage collectors, and moving up through local government to the national stage, this book explains that the people in government work the voter.Fresh, contemporary, and even fun, When You Grow Up to Vote is the book parents and teachers need to talk to children about how our government is designed to work.

Add to list
Lillian's Right to Vote
Written by Jonah Winter & illustrated by Shane W. Evans
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

A 50th anniversary tribute to the Voting Rights Act of 1965 finds an elderly woman reflecting on her family’s history, from the passage of the 15th Amendment through her participation in the protest march from Selma to Montgomery.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$15.18
Used $10.71
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
If You Go with Your Goat to Vote
Written by Jan Zauzmer & illustrated by Andrew Roberts
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5
What happens when you go with your grown-up to vote?

If you are a kid, you may chew over the ballot. If you are a bunny, you may hop to the polling place. If you are a piglet, you may squeal with delight when you get a sticker. And best of all, if you go with your grown-up to vote . . . you will grow up to vote yourself!

Lighthearted and colorful, <i>If You Go with Your Goat to Vote</i> shows little ones just what to expect on Election Day–and will inspire grown-ups to be model voters. <b><i>Includes 16 stickers!</i></b>

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$12.29
Used $4.24
Prices as of Mar 9
Add to list
What's the Big Deal About Elections
Written by Ruby Shamir & illustrated by Matt Faulkner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

From ballots to bonfires, from suffrage to stumping, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows why voting is so important and why America gets to call its government a body of, by, and for the people.

Did you know that Election Day is on Tuesday because that was the best day for farmers to vote? Or that George Washington was our only elected president who ran unopposed? Or that Native Americans were only given the right to vote in 1924? It’s all true!

We hear a lot about political campaigns on the news, but there’s tons to know about elections beyond the politics of each race. Who gets to vote? Who gets to run? What do elected officials do once they’re in office–and what do candidates do if they lose? Why do people fight so hard for the right to vote? In this kid-friendly, fact-filled book, young readers will find out how Americans choose their leaders, local and federal, and why elections should matter to them, even if they can’t vote (yet)!

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.28
Used $1.99
Prices as of Mar 9

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.