An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Weddings: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about weddings?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to weddings. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about weddings.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about weddings, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Flower Girl Katie to popular sellers like Junie B. Jones Is (almost) a Flower Girl.

We hope this list of kids books about weddings can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Maisy Goes to a Wedding
Written & illustrated by Lucy Cousins
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Excitement is in the air as Maisy discovers the fun of going to a wedding with friends. Today Maisy is going to the wedding of her friends Penguin and Ostrich, so she needs to put on a fancy outfit. She can’t wait! When she arrives at the wedding, there are beautiful flowers, lots of gifts, and many people. As music plays, the bride walks down the aisle, then the happy couple exchange their vows while everyone cheers. Afterward, there’s confetti to toss, food to eat, a speech to hear, a band to dance to, and a bouquet to be thrown. Now who do you think will catch it?

Magnolia Mudd and the Super Jumptastic Launcher Deluxe
Written by Katey Howes & illustrated by Valerio Fabbretti
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-10

Magnolia Mudd’s Uncle Jamie is the very BEST grown-up. He always invents cool things with her . . . until the day he and Miss Emily announce their engagement. That’s bad enough—but even worse, Miss Emily wants Magnolia to be a FLOWER GIRL! No way is Magnolia tossing petals. But maybe Uncle Jamie’s new bride-to-be is more fun that Magnolia imagined . . .

Flower Girl Dreams
Written by Debbie Dadey & illustrated by Tatevik Avakyan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Unable to comprehend a beloved librarian’s imminent marriage to a cafeteria worker who seems to be perpetually grouchy, Pearl becomes jealous when Echo, Shelly, and Kiki are all asked to be flower girls.

Ellie the Flower Girl
Written by Callie Barkley & illustrated by Tracy Bishop
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Read on for the next Critter Club book: Liz’s night at the museum.

Midnight Reynolds and the Agency of Spectral Protection
Written by Catherine Holt
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Twelve-year-old Midnight Reynolds has a huge secret—she’s a spectral protector, someone who helps ghosts cross over into the afterlife. Alongside her best friend Tabitha, Midnight is busy juggling the wilds of middle school with her undercover ghost-hunting job. When mysterious and dangerous robberies start happening in their small town, all signs point to some sort of spectral manipulation, and Midnight’s boss asks her to take over the investigation. Can Midnight find the culprit and stop them before the spectral energy endangers their town? This series has twists and turns galore for budding mystery lovers, all seen through the lens of a lovable and smart heroine. And the positive female friendships and hysterical writing will keep series fans coming back for more.

  • Princess Posey and the Flower Girl Fiasco - Everyone’s favorite first grade friend, Princess Posey, learns that sometimes exciting news comes with big changes in this twelfth book in the series! When Posey’s grandpa announces that he’s marrying Posey’s neighbor, Mrs. Romero, Posey is thrilled! She LOVES Mrs. Romero and she’s going to be the flower girl! But then she learns that Mrs. Romero will be moving away, and her dog Hero, too. That is just about the worst news ever and Posey wants nothing to do with the wedding. Now no one is happy. Then Mrs. Romero has an idea—what if Hero stays with Posey? Posey jumps at the idea, but it turns out that makes Hero even more miserable than she was. Is Posey strong enough to do what will make everyone happy again?

  • Royal Wedding Disaster: From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess - You are invited to a Genovian Royal Wedding in this second book pulled From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess, a Princess Diaries spin-off series, written and illustrated by New York Times-bestselling author Meg Cabot. Olivia Grace Clarisse Mignonette Harrison still finds it hard to believe that she’s a real live PRINCESS OF GENOVIA. Not only does she get to live in an actual palace with her newly discovered family and two fabulous poodles (who all love her and think that she’s anything but ordinary!), but she also gets her very own PONY! Of course, things aren’t going exactly like she imagined. Her half-sister Mia is very busy learning how to take over the country while trying to plan a wedding and her father is actually getting remarried himself—to Mia’s mother!—and spends most of his time “renovating” the summer palace, although Grandmere says he is just hiding from the wedding preparations. Olivia hardly gets to see either of them. Fortunately, Grandmere has her own plans for Mia’s wedding, and needs Olivia’s help to pull them off. Just when Olivia starts to think that things are going to work out after all, the palace is invaded by a host of new cousins and other royals who all seem to be angry at Olivia (although Grandmere says they are just jealous). As the day of the wedding gets closer and closer, Olivia becomes more and more worried. For such a carefully planned event, it seems like a LOT of things are going wrong. . . . Can Olivia keep this royal wedding from becoming a royal disaster? This is fun, illustrated middle grade—and this is the first series illustrated by Meg Cabot herself! The paperback features an interview with Meg Cabot and an excerpt of the next book.

  • Junie B. Jones Is (almost) a Flower Girl - Meet the World’s Funniest Kindergartner—Junie B. Jones! Junie B.’s aunt Flo is getting married. What a perfect chance for her to show everyone how grown-up she is! Too bad she wasn’t picked to be the flower girl in the wedding so she could really show off. But surely Junie B. can still find some way to get everyone’s attention.

  • The Best Man - Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn’t see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he’s the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there’s a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

The Ring Bearer
Written & illustrated by Floyd Cooper
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Mama’s getting married, and Jackson has an important job to do! A story about love, weddings, and the special joy that is a blended family.

Jackson’s mama is getting married, and he gets to be the ring bearer. But Jackson is worried . . . What if he trips? Or walks too slowly? Or drops the rings? And what about his new stepsister, Sophie? She’s supposed to be the flower girl, but Jackson’s not sure she’s taking her job as seriously as she should.

In a celebration of blended families, this heartwarming story, stunningly illustrated by the award-winning Floyd Cooper, is a perfect gift for any child who’s nervous to walk down the aisle at a wedding, and shows kids that they can handle life’s big changes.

The Duchess and Guy: A Rescue-to-Royalty Puppy Love Story
Written by Nancy Furstinger & illustrated by Julia Bereciartu
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A heartwarming tale about a beagle and the Duchess who adopted him, this picture book is inspired by the true story of Meghan Markle and her rescue dog, Guy. When he was a pup, Guy was just like any dog in the shelter; he liked to bark and follow his nose, and dreamed of a forever home above all things. But when Guy met Meghan, he had no idea he was about to star in his own Cinderella story. Guy can now be spotted escorting Queen Elizabeth and frolicking in Buckingham Palace.

This rags-to-riches story of how one regal beagle got a second chance at life will charm and delight.

Sister of the Bride
Written by Beverly Cleary
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Barbara can hardly believe her older sister is getting married. With all the excitement of wedding plans going on, Barbara can’t help dreaming of the day she will be the bride. She can’t wait to fall in love.

But as the big day gets closer, wedding planning often turns into family arguments. Even the bride and groom are bickering over details, and Barbara’s fun-loving sister is turning into a very practical, grown-up person. Weddings are fun, but all this serious stuff is scary enough to make Barbara think she’s not going to be rushing into a serious romance any time soon.

Flower Girl Katie
Written by Fran Manushkin & illustrated by Tammy Lyon
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Katie is delighted when her Aunt Patty asks her to be a flower girl—but then she starts thinking about everything that could go wrong and worries that she will spoil her aunt’s wedding.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links