The Definitive Guide to

What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

Written by Ruby Shamir & illustrated by Matt Faulkner
Published by Philomel Books
Goodreads Rating - 3.7 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Jan 16
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$17.99
used $1.63
Amazon
Jan 3, 2017
Publication Date
32
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House–and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President?and Rad American Women from A-Z: Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

What Kind of Book is What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

Book Lists That Include What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

Book Topics › First Ladies
Children's Books About First Ladies
Book Topics › politics and government
Children's Books About Politics And Government
Book Topics › social science
Children's Books About Social Science
Book Topics › United States
Children's Books About United States
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

author
Ruby Shamir
Ruby Shamir
View Author

Who Illustrated What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

illustrator
Matt Faulkner

Award-winning children’s book author and illustrator <b>Matt Faulkner</b> has illustrated twenty-nine books and written and illustrated seven more since he began his career back in 1985. Matt is married to author and librarian Kristen Remenar.

View Illustrator

What Has Ruby Shamir Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Ruby know that you want more details about What's the Big Deal About First Ladies!

What Has Matt Faulkner Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Matt know that you want more details about What's the Big Deal About First Ladies!

What Do Critics Say About This Book

  • Starred Review

    “A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, ‘remember the ladies.’”

    Read the full review
  • “This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history. . . . A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections.”

    Read the full review
  • “Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history.”

    Read the full review

Discover All the Books in the What's the Big Deal About Series

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

Book Details

ISBN:
9780399547249
Publication Date:
January 3, 2017
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2016011185
ASIN/ISBN 10:
039954724X
Lexile® Level:
1120L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.
Top Contributors
#1
@thegoodfather
30