What's the Big Deal About Books

What's What's the Big Deal About About

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House–and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President?and Rad American Women from A-Z: Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

What's the Big Deal About Books in Order

Who Wrote The What's the Big Deal About Books

author
Ruby Shamir
Ruby Shamir
View Author

Who Illustrated The What's the Big Deal About Books

illustrator
Matt Faulkner

Award-winning children’s book author and illustrator <b>Matt Faulkner</b> has illustrated twenty-nine books and written and illustrated seven more since he began his career back in 1985. Matt is married to author and librarian Kristen Remenar.

View Illustrator
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo
Add to list
What's the Big Deal About First Ladies - Book #1
Written by Ruby Shamir & illustrated by Matt Faulkner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America? Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?

It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House–and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all!

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President?and Rad American Women from A-Z: Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $1.63
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
What's the Big Deal About Freedom - Book #2
Written by Ruby Shamir & illustrated by Matt Faulkner
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

From the Constitution to abolition, from voting to civil rights, this chapter book for civic-minded young readers filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname land of the free.

It’s a free country! Why? Because in America we’re free to speak our minds, choose our leaders, and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again–but it wasn’t always easy!

Did you know that Henry Box Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?

This entertaining, fact-filled book, perfect for fans of the Who Was series, is a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy. It celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free. Find out how they did it and why standing up for the land of the free is such a big deal!

Buy book
$13.99
Bookshop
$11.89
Amazon
$13.99
Used $13.99
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
What's the Big Deal About Elections - Book #3
Written by Ruby Shamir & illustrated by Matt Faulkner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

From ballots to bonfires, from suffrage to stumping, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows why voting is so important and why America gets to call its government a body of, by, and for the people.

Did you know that Election Day is on Tuesday because that was the best day for farmers to vote? Or that George Washington was our only elected president who ran unopposed? Or that Native Americans were only given the right to vote in 1924? It’s all true!

We hear a lot about political campaigns on the news, but there’s tons to know about elections beyond the politics of each race. Who gets to vote? Who gets to run? What do elected officials do once they’re in office–and what do candidates do if they lose? Why do people fight so hard for the right to vote? In this kid-friendly, fact-filled book, young readers will find out how Americans choose their leaders, local and federal, and why elections should matter to them, even if they can’t vote (yet)!

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.28
Used $1.89
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
What's the Big Deal About Americans - Book #4
Written by Ruby Shamir & illustrated by Matt Faulkner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From Native American traditions to immigrant inventions, from diversity to democracy, from ice cream cones to apple pie, this picture book is filled with fun facts and historical trivia, celebrating the melting pot and mosaic that is America.

Did you know that the inventor of American cheese actually came from Canada? Or that founding father Benjamin Franklin was inspired to create a democratic society by a confederacy of Native American tribes who came together to stop their constant warring? How about that both “God Bless America” and “White Christmas” were written by Irving Berlin, a Russian Jew who fled to the U.S. because of persecution back home?

People have come to America from many different countries, in many different ways, for many different reasons. Americans have many different beliefs, different languages, and different traditions. But even with all of these differences, America comes together with the understanding that our country and government is “of the people, by the people, and for the people.” And there’s nothing more American than that.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $0.99
Prices as of Jan 16

Suggested Links