The Definitive Guide to

The Great Brain

Written by John D. Fitzgerald and illustrated by Mercer Mayer
1234567
5.75
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$6.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
175
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's The Great Brain About

Publisher Summary

This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old. Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit. When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day. Whether it’s saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
5.75

The Great Brain always manages to get himself (and his unsuspecting younger brother) into trouble with his harebrained schemes, but he always figures out a way to get them out again. The first book in the series, this book introduces the characters and the setting for the rest of the books. I love that these books are funny and engaging, and that they contain descriptions of childhood adventures that seem at once perfectly normal and perfectly magical. Read this one, then read them all!

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Great Brain

Who Illustrated The Great Brain

What Has John D. Fitzgerald Said About The Great Brain

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let John D. Fitzgerald know that we want more details from them about The Great Brain!

What Has Mercer Mayer Said About The Great Brain

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Mercer Mayer know that we want more details from them about The Great Brain!

More Books From These Creatives

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0142400580
ISBN 13:
9780142400586
Publication Date:
February 9, 2004