The Definitive Guide to

The Great Brain

Written by John D. Fitzgerald & illustrated by Mercer Mayer
1234567
5.75 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 22
$6.99
Retail Price
$5.94
Bookshop
$6.99
used $6.99
Amazon
Feb 9, 2004
Publication Date
175
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's The Great Brain About

Publisher Summary

This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old. Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit. When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day. Whether it’s saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.

What Kind of Book is The Great Brain

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
5.75 / 7.0

The Great Brain always manages to get himself (and his unsuspecting younger brother) into trouble with his harebrained schemes, but he always figures out a way to get them out again. The first book in the series, this book introduces the characters and the setting for the rest of the books. I love that these books are funny and engaging, and that they contain descriptions of childhood adventures that seem at once perfectly normal and perfectly magical. Read this one, then read them all!

Book Lists That Include The Great Brain

Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › funny and humorous
Hilarious Children's Books Filled With Humor
Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Book Topics › 1850-1899
Children's Books About 1850-1899
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Great Brain

author
John D. Fitzgerald

John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscences led to eight memorable Great Brain books. John D. Fitzgerald also wrote several best-selling adult books, including <i>Papa Married a Mormon</i>. He died in Florida, his home of many years, at the age of eighty-one.

View Author

Who Illustrated The Great Brain

illustrator
Mercer Mayer

MERCER MAYER began writing and illustrating children’s books in 1966, and since then, he has published over 300 titles. Readers can open almost any of his award-winning books and out may pop dragons, cuddly monsters, wonderful creatures, and endearing critters. Drawing from his own childhood adventures for inspiration, Mayer created one of children’s books most cherished characters, Little Critter. He currently lives in Connecticut.

View Illustrator

What Has John D. Fitzgerald Said About The Great Brain

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let John know that you want more details about The Great Brain!

What Has Mercer Mayer Said About The Great Brain

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Mercer know that you want more details about The Great Brain!

More Books From These Creatives

John D. Fitzgerald, Mercer Mayer
Chapter book
5.5
Add to list
John D. Fitzgerald, Mercer Mayer
Chapter book
5.5
Add to list
John D. Fitzgerald, Mercer Mayer
Chapter book
5.5
Add to list
John D. Fitzgerald, Mercer Mayer
Chapter book
5.5
Add to list
John D. Fitzgerald, Mercer Mayer
Chapter book
5.5
Add to list
Mercer Mayer
Picture book
5.0
Add to list
John D. Fitzgerald, Mercer Mayer
Chapter book
5.0
Add to list
Mercer Mayer, C. Nahmad
Picture book
4.5
Add to list
Ron Miller, Mercer Mayer
Picture book
4.5
Add to list
Jay Williams, Mercer Mayer
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Great Brain

Book Details

ISBN:
9780142400586
Publication Date:
February 9, 2004
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0142400580

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 12%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.