An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Creative Writing: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about creative writing?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to creative writing. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about creative writing.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about creative writing, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Yasmin the Writer to popular sellers like Little Red Writing.

We hope this list of kids books about creative writing can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Once Upon a Baby Brother
Written by Sarah Sullivan & illustrated by Tricia Tusa
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

When he goes away on a trip, Lizzie, who loves to tell and write stories, is surprised to discover that much of her storytelling inspiration comes from her messy baby brother Marvin.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 19
Add to list
Poppy's Best Paper
Written by Susan Eaddy & illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams—and an even bigger personality.

More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She’s sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend’s paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true.

Rosalinde’s adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

Buy book
$15.95
Bookshop
$13.56
Amazon
$15.95
Used $15.95
Prices as of Jan 19
Add to list
Little Red Writing
Written by Joan Holub & illustrated by Melissa Sweet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Acclaimed writer Joan Holub and Caldecott Honoree Melissa Sweet team up in this hilarious and exuberant retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, in which a brave little red pencil finds her way through the many perils of writing a story.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.89
Used $1.35
Prices as of Jan 19
Add to list
Yasmin the Writer
Written by Saadia Faruqi & illustrated by Hatem Aly
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Ms. Alex has assigned Yasmin’s class to write about their heroes. Yasmin loves to write, but she can’t decide who her hero is. After dismissing lots of ideas, could it be that Yasmin’s hero has been right beside her all along?

Buy book
$20.65
Bookshop
$17.55
Amazon
$20.65
Used $20.65
Prices as of Jan 19
Add to list
Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets
Written by Kwame Alexander, Chris Colderley, and Marjory Wentworth & illustrated by Ekua Holmes
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A Newbery Medalist and a Caldecott Honoree’s New York Times best-selling ode to poets who have sparked a sense of wonder. Out of gratitude for the poet’s art form, Newbery Award–winning author and poet Kwame Alexander, along with Chris Colderley and Marjory Wentworth, present original poems that pay homage to twenty famed poets who have made the authors’ hearts sing and their minds wonder. Stunning mixed-media images by Ekua Holmes, winner of a Caldecott Honor and a John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award, complete the celebration and invite the reader to listen, wonder, and perhaps even pick up a pen.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$10.99
Used $2.26
Prices as of Jan 19
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Writing Radar - The Newbery Award–winning author of Dead End in Norvelt shares advice for how to be the best brilliant writer in this funny and practical creative writing guide perfect for all kids who dream of seeing their name on the spine of a book. With the signature wit and humor that have garnered him legions of fans, Jack Gantos instructs young writers on using their “writing radar” to unearth story ideas from their everyday lives. Incorporating his own misadventures as a developing writer, Gantos inspires readers to build confidence and establish good writing habits as they create, revise, and perfect their stories. Pop-out text boxes highlight key tips, alongside Gantos’s own illustrations, sample stories, and snippets from his childhood journals. More than just a how-to guide, Writing Radar is a celebration of the power of storytelling and an ode to the characters who—many unwittingly—inspired Gantos’s own writing career.

  • Bears Make the Best Writing Buddies - Adelaide loves writing. Bear loves writing. But Theo does NOT love writing. Thankfully, Adelaide and Bear are ready to team up and persuade the entire class, including Mrs. Fitz-Pea, that Bears make the best writing buddies. After all, who better to teach you how to fish and forage for new ideas than a bear? This third picture book in Carmen Oliver’s Bears Make the Best…series is sure to encourage even the most reluctant writer to write a story.

  • Lucky Stars - Every day in Mr. Wolf's class is an adventure... even when you have to stay home from school!

  • Gooney the Fabulous - Mrs. Pidgeon has been reading Aesop’s fables to her second grade class. What’s a fable? Well, it’s a story that has animals as characters, and it teaches you something important, and . . . Once again it is Gooney Bird Greene who knows how to turn lessons into fun. She has an idea. A fabulous idea! What if each child creates his or her own fable, and tells it to the class? One by one Mrs. Pidgeon’s students create costumes and stories and morals and excitement. Everyone except Nicholas. What on earth is making Nicholas so unhappy? Leave it to Gooney Bird, of course, to help him solve his problem . . . in a truly fabulous way.

Add to list
Gooney the Fabulous
Written by Lois Lowry
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Gooney Bird Greene has a fabulous idea after her teacher reads fables to the class. The children learn that fables are stories with animal characters that teach something important. Gooney’s fabulous idea is that each student create their own fable and tell it to the class! Everyone but Nicholas is excited about their stories and costumes. Can Gooney Bird find out why Nicholas is unhappy and get him to join in the fun? Now that would be truly fabulous!

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 19
Add to list
Idea Jar
Written by Adam Lehrhaupt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
"Seems destined to help jump-start classroom writing assignments." --Publishers Weekly
Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$10.99
Used $3.60
Prices as of Jan 19

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.