An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Elections: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about elections?

As you can see, this list of kids books about elections is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about elections, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Captain Awesome for President
Written by Stan Kirby & illustrated by George O’Connor
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

In the twentieth Captain Awesome adventure, Eugene decides to run for class president! After much thought (actually, really not that much), Eugene has made a big decision. He’s decided to run for class president! But there’s a hitch. Meredith Mooney, a.k.a. Little Miss Stinky Pinky, has also decided to run! Since Eugene can’t reveal to his classmates his identity as Captain Awesome, he has to figure out some other way to prove to them that he’s the one for the job! With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Captain Awesome chapter books are perfect for beginning readers!

Grace for President
Written by Kelly DiPucchio & illustrated by LeUyen Pham
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

“Where are the girls?” When Grace’s teacher reveals that the United States has never had a female president, Grace decides to be the first. And she immediately starts off her political career as a candidate the school’s mock election! Author Kelly DiPucchio not only gives readers a fun introduction to the American electoral system, but also teaches them the value of hard work, courage, and independent thought—and offers an inspiring example of how to choose our leaders.

I Voted: Making a Choice Makes a Difference
Written by Mark Shulman & illustrated by Serge Bloch
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

With the next presidential election upon us, this witty, nonpartisan book will help explain the concept of voting to the youngest readers.

I Voted explains the concept of choosing, individually, and as a group, from making a simple choice: “Which do you like better, apples or oranges?”, to selecting a class pet, to even more complicated decisions, like electing community representatives.

You may not always get want you want, but there are strategies to better your odds!

Serge Bloch’s effortless and charming illustrations paired with Mark Shulman’s funny and timely text create a perfect resource for discussing current events with your children.

Backmatter includes information about the United States electoral process.

A Junior Library Guild Selection!

Class Act
Written by Kelly Starling Lyons & illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line? This easy-to-read story—with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters—is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

Book Uncle and Me
Written by Uma Krishnaswami & illustrated by Julianna Swaney
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Every day, nine-year-old Yasmin borrows a book from Book Uncle, a retired teacher who has set up a free lending library on the street corner. But when the mayor tries to shut down the rickety bookstand, Yasmin has to take her nose out of her book and do something.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links