Class Act
Class Act
4.4/5
Goodreads

Class Act

Written by Kelly Starling Lyons & illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Book #2 in the Jada Jones Series
Library Binding
$15.99
$14.87
6 - 8
Reading age
96
Page count
61
Words per page
560L
Lexile measure
Sep 19, 2017
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's Class Act About

Publisher Summary

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line? This easy-to-read story–with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters–is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

What Kind of Book is Class Act

Topics

Genres

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Class Act

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Kelly Starling Lyons Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Kelly Starling Lyons know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Vanessa Brantley-Newton Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Vanessa Brantley-Newton know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books From These Creatives

      picture • 40 Pages
      Dream Builder: The Story of Architect Philip Freelon
      5.5
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Laura Freeman
      picture • 32 Pages
      Tiara's Hat Parade
      5.4
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Nicole Tadgell
      picture • 32 Pages
      Going Down Home with Daddy
      5.4
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Daniel Minter
      picture • 40 Pages
      The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist
      5.3
      Cynthia Levinson, Vanessa Brantley-Newton
      picture • 32 Pages
      Tea Cakes for Tosh
      Kelly Starling Lyons, E. B. Lewis
      picture • 32 Pages
      Sing a Song: How Lift Every Voice and Sing Inspired Generations
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Keith Mallett
      picture • 32 Pages
      Just Like Me
      Vanessa Brantley-Newton
      picture • 32 Pages
      Ty's Travels: All Aboard!
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Nina Mata
      chapter • 130 Pages
      Brand New School, Brave New Ruby
      #1 in Series
      Derrick Barnes, Vanessa Newton, Vanessa Brantley-Newton
      picture • 32 Pages
      Ty's Travels: Zip, Zoom!
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Nina Mata
      picture • 32 Pages
      The King of Kindergarten
      5.0
      Derrick Barnes, Vanessa Brantley-Newton
      picture • 32 Pages
      Ellen's Broom
      Kelly Starling Lyons, Daniel Minter
      View more

    Discover All the Books in the Jada Jones Series

      chapter • 96 Pages
      Rock Star
      Rock Star
      chapter • 96 Pages
      Sleepover Scientist
      #3 in Series
      Sleepover Scientist
      chapter • 96 Pages
      Dancing Queen
      #4 in Series
      Dancing Queen
      chapter • 96 Pages
      Sky Watcher
      #5 in Series
      Sky Watcher

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Class Act

      chapter • 96 Pages
      Brute-Cake
      Troy Cummings
      chapter • 80 Pages
      Hope the Happiness Fairy
      Daisy Meadows
      picture • 80 Pages
      Katie the Kitten Fairy
      Daisy Meadows
      picture • 80 Pages
      Crystal the Snow Fairy
      Daisy Meadows
      picture • 96 Pages
      Humphrey's Pet Show Panic
      Priscilla Burris
      picture • 96 Pages
      Humphrey's Creepy-Crawly Camping Adventure
      Priscilla Burris

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780451534286
    Publication Date
    September 19, 2017
    Publisher
    Penguin Workshop
    Page Count
    96
    Words Per Page
    61
    Audience
    Early Reader
    Reading Age
    6 - 8 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2017029347
    Lexile® Level
    560L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~N
    ATOS® Book Level
    3.8
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    1
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    199394
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    LG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 95%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo