The Definitive Guide to

Class Act

Written by Kelly Starling Lyons & illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Book #2 in the Jada Jones Series
Published by Penguin Workshop
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Sep 20
$15.99
Retail Price
$13.59
Bookshop
$15.99
used $15.99
Amazon
Sep 19, 2017
Publication Date
96
Pages
6-8
Target Age

What's Class Act About

Publisher Summary

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line? This easy-to-read story–with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters–is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

What Kind of Book is Class Act

Book Lists That Include Class Act

Book Topics › school
Children's Books About School
Book Topics › art
Children's Books About Art
Book Topics › trying new things
Terrific Children's Books About Trying New Things
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Class Act

author
Kelly Starling Lyons

Kelly Starling Lyons grew up in Pittsburgh. She is the award-winning author of several books for children including Ellen’s Broom, a Coretta Scott King illustrator award book, and Hope’s Gift.

View Author

Who Illustrated Class Act

illustrator
Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self taught illustrator of more than 80 children’s books. She first fell in love with picture books when she was read the Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats as a child. It was the first time Vanessa saw an image of a brown child that looked like her. Diversity is at the very heart of her illustrations and storytelling. She has written and illustrated three of her own books, Let Freedom Sing, Don’t Let Auntie Mabel Bless The Table and Grandma’s Purse. Vanessa wants every child to know the joy she felt when she saw herself in a picture book. “I want every child to know that I see you.” Vanessa is a lover of music and food. When she isn’t creating children’s Books she is cooking or singing somewhere. She lives in NC with her husband of 25 years and her daughter Zoe.

View Illustrator

What Has Kelly Starling Lyons Said About Class Act

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kelly know that you want more details about Class Act!

What Has Vanessa Brantley-Newton Said About Class Act

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Vanessa know that you want more details about Class Act!

Discover All the Books in the Jada Jones Series

The Series

View All
Chapter book
Add to list

More Books From These Creatives

Tammi Sauer, Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Board book
4.5
Add to list
Tammi Sauer, Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Picture book
4.5
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Class Act

Book Details

ISBN:
9780451534286
Publication Date:
September 19, 2017
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2017029347
ASIN/ISBN 10:
045153428X
Lexile® Level:
560L
ATOS® Book Level:
3.8
Accelerated Reader® Points:
1.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
199394
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 70%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.