Best Children's Books About Honesty

13 Children's Books About Honesty

Updated Jan. 19, 2019
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book
#1
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Written by Roald Dahl and illustrated by Quentin Blake
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

From the author of The BFG and Matilda! Willy Wonka’s famous chocolate factory is opening at last! But only five lucky children will be allowed inside. And the winners are: Augustus Gloop, an enormously fat boy whose hobby is eating; Veruca Salt, a spoiled-rotten brat whose parents are wrapped around her little finger; Violet Beauregarde, a dim-witted gum-chewer with the fastest jaws around; Mike Teavee, a toy pistol-toting gangster-in-training who is obsessed with television; and Charlie Bucket, Our Hero, a boy who is honest and kind, brave and true, and good and ready for the wildest time of his life!

The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His GRRRRR! book
#2
The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His GRRRRR!
Written and illustrated by Rob Biddulph
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From the award-winning author and illustrator of Blown Away, Rob Biddulph, comes a delightfully hilarious story about a grizzly bear named Fred who loses his GRRRRR. Each year, for as long as the forest has stood, a contest is held for the bears of the wood… Fred is the champion. He’s the best. But being the best takes time and training, especially when it comes to having the loudest growl. Then, one morning, disaster strikes—Fred’s GRRRRR is gone! Oh, no! Will Fred find his GRRRRR and realize that there’s more to life than being a winner?

The Bear Ate Your Sandwich book
#3
The Bear Ate Your Sandwich
Written and illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems. By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich. But you may not know how it happened. So let me tell you. It all started with the bear . . . So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it’s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale. The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach’s best book to date. You’ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).

Honey Moon Shiver book
#4
Honey Moon Shiver
Written and illustrated by Joyce Magnin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

"Honey Moon is in a terrible pickle. She borrowed her mother's precious silver locket without permission and now the family heirloom has gone missing. Honey suspects it was taken by one of her best friends. She sets out to find the necklace before her mother notices it's gone. Along the way, Honey meets Shiver, who turns out to be much more than the owner of the newest popsicle shop in Sleepy Hollow. With Shiver's guidance and a bit of magic, Honey is able to track down the locket and learn the importance of telling the truth and the power of forgiveness."--Amazon.com.

The Empty Pot book
#5
The Empty Pot
Written and illustrated by Demi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When Ping admits that he is the only child in China unable to grow a flower from the seeds distributed by the Emperor, he is rewarded for his honesty.

The Story Web book
#6
The Story Web
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In this heartfelt magical novel, Megan Frazer Blakemore shows that how we wield stories has the power to shape the world. When Alice was little, she found a gigantic spider web deep in the forest. Her dad called it the Story Web and told her how its strands were woven from the stories that hold our world together. Years later, Alice's dad is gone, and she's sure it's her fault. Now she won't even talk about her dad and definitely doesn't believe his farfetched stories. But when animals in town start acting strangely, she can't ignore them. They are trying to tell her the Story Web is in danger - that the fabric of our world is breaking. The only way to mend it is to tell honest tales from the heart. Alice must confront the real reason her dad is gone, but is she strong enough to finally tell her side of the story? This magical tale of truth and honesty, integrity and intention is perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate.

Olive Becomes Famous (and Hopes She Can Become Un-Famous) book
#7
Olive Becomes Famous (and Hopes She Can Become Un-Famous)
Written by Megan Atwood and illustrated by Gareth Llewhellin, Kim Barnes
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Olive is going to be in a commercial! The only problem is that Olive can't land the gymnastics stunt for it, and she is afraid to tell the truth. Meanwhile, her cross-country pen pal, Molly, has started taken acting classes and is super jealous of Olive, but doesn't want to tell her. Molly goes on a mission to get on a commercial, too, with her new friend from class. Follow the secrets and threatened friendship through reading the jealous emails and alternating first-person points of view to discover Olive's plan to make everything right.

The Boy Who Cried Wolf, Narrated by the Sheepish But Truthful Wolf  book
#8
The Boy Who Cried Wolf, Narrated by the Sheepish But Truthful Wolf
Written by Nancy Loewen and illustrated by Juan M. Moreno
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-8

So who was really pulling the wool over whose eyes? The Wolf gets candid about "the boy who cried" in this fractured version of a classic Aesop's fable, delighting readers with his first-person account, while back matter questions encourage discussion about perspective. Includes a condensed version of the original tale.

The Big Lie book
#9
The Big Lie
Written by Fran Manushkin and illustrated by Tammy Lyon, Fran Manushkin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Jake's new toy plane is missing. No one knows where it is, except Katie Woo. But Katie wants to keep the plane. What should she do?

Hello, Goodbye, and a Very Little Lie book
#10
Hello, Goodbye, and a Very Little Lie
Written by Christianne C. Jones and illustrated by Christine Battuz
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

Larry lies about practically everything until he meets a girl who outsmarts him.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to School... book
#11
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to School...
Written by Davide Cali and illustrated by Benjamin Chaud
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

First, some giant ants steal breakfast. Then there are the evil ninjas, massive ape, mysterious mole people, giant blob, and countless other daunting (and astonishing) detours along the way to school. Are these excuses really why this student is late? Or is there another explanation that is even more outrageous than the rest? From Davide Cali and Benjamin Chaud, the critically acclaimed author/illustrator team behind I Didn't Do My Homework Because . . . comes a fast-paced, actionpacked, laugh-out-loud story about finding the way to school despite the odds—and the unbelievable oddness!

I Didn't Do My Homework Because... book
#12
I Didn't Do My Homework Because...
Written by Davide Cali and illustrated by Benjamin Chaud
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

How many excuses are there for not doing homework? Let us count the ways: Giant lizards invaded the neighborhood. Elves hid all the pencils. And then there was that problem with carnivorous plants.... The excuses go on and on, each more absurd than the next and escalating to hilarious heights. Featuring detail-rich illustrations by Benjamin Chaud, this book is guaranteed to amuse kids and their parents, not to mention anyone who has experienced a slacker student moment—and isn't that everyone?

Kindness Makes the World Go Round book
#13
Kindness Makes the World Go Round
Written and illustrated by Sesame Workshop
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Elmo's mom has gifted him a camera! What a wonderful surprise and generous act of kindness! "Elmo snapped a few photos, then a thought came to mind "Does Elmo know what it means to be kind? To be humble and selfless and honest and true" Elmo set off to find out just what he knew!" Journey with Elmo to find the true meaning of kindness, exploring all of the kind characters and gestures that Sesame Street has to offer and creating a beautiful scrapbook along the way!

Have a suggestion for a book to add to this list? Send an email to [email protected] with your book and list suggestion.