Discover

Company

Knights: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about knights is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From The Wall in the Middle of the Book to Grilled Cheese and Dragons there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about knights? Let us know!

Top 10 Knights Books

The Wall in the Middle of the Book book
#1
The Wall in the Middle of the Book
Written and illustrated by Jon Agee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A knight who feels secure on his side of the wall that divides his book discovers that his side is not as safe as he thought, and the other side is not as threatening.

The Storybook Knight book
#2
The Storybook Knight
Written by Helen Docherty and illustrated by Thomas Docherty
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Even dragons love a good story... Leo was a gentle knight in thought and word and deed. While other knights liked fighting, Leo liked to sit and read... When Leo's mom and dad pack him off to fight a dragon, he takes a shield, a sword―and a pile of his favorite books. But can a story be as mighty as a sword?

The Princess Knight book
#3
The Princess Knight
Written by Cornelia Funke and illustrated by Kerstin Meyer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

Envious of her brothers who are in training to become knights, young Violetta disguises herself as a boy in order to take part in the big jousting contest in the hopes of showing everyone that she is just as capable.

Cedric and the Dragon book
#4
Cedric and the Dragon
Written by Elizabeth Raum and illustrated by Nina Victor Crittenden
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Prince Cedric is slow to walk, has a tough time with reading and math, and fails miserably at dragon slaying school. But with kindness and bravery, and his love for hugs, Cedric saves the kingdom. This cheerful picture book teaches kids that there are many ways to solve a problem and reinforces the idea that everyone has something special to offer.

Prince & Knight book
#5
Prince & Knight
Written by Daniel Haack and illustrated by Stevie Lewis
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Once upon a time, in a kingdom far from here, there was a prince in line to take the throne, so his parents set out to find him a kind and worthy bride. The three of them traveled the land far and wide, but the prince didn't quite find what he was looking for in the princesses they met. While they were away, a terrible dragon threatened their land, and all the soldiers fled. The prince rushed back to save his kingdom from the perilous beast and was met by a brave knight in a suit of brightly shining armor. Together they fought the dragon and discovered that special something the prince was looking for all along. This book is published in partnership with GLAAD to accelerate LGBTQ inclusivity and acceptance.

Watch That Witch! book
#6
Watch That Witch!
Written by Nancy Krulik and illustrated by Ben Balistreri
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Princess Pulverizer may not be a knight yet, but she won't let that stop her from saving the day! When Princess Pulverizer comes across two identical witches--one good and one bad--it's the evil one she finds most enchanting. That's because the impatient princess is ready to end her Quest of Kindness and finally become a knight, which is just what the bad witch offers. Can Princess Pulverizer's friends break the spell that seems to have taken hold of her?

The Sorcerer's Shadow book
#7
The Sorcerer's Shadow
Written by Jordan Quinn and illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Prince Lucas, his friend Clara, and Ruskin the dragon travel with a team of knights to the forest of Trellis, where they discover that an evil sorcerer's shadow has cursed the land and only someone pure of heart and full of hope can save them.

The Thirteenth Knight book
#8
The Thirteenth Knight
Written by Jordan Quinn and illustrated by Robert McPhillips, Jordan Quinn
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

In the thirteenth fantastical book from The Kingdom of Wrenly series, Prince Lucas and Clara learn about the legend of the Thirteenth Knight. The elite band of knights known as the Spires are searching for a new hero to join their ranks. With only twelve knights on this team, the Spires open a competition to fulfill a mysterious prophecy. The winner of the Spires’ competition must show bravery, valor, wisdom, and heart. But finding the Thirteenth Knight might prove to be the Spires’ greatest challenge ever. With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, The Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

Where's the Knight? book
#9
Where's the Knight?
Written and illustrated by Keith Moseley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Do knights in shining armor still exist? Grandfather, George, and Meg the dog are on the hunt to find out. Even though the three manage to wander through a spooky old castle without seeing a single medieval warrior, sharp-eyed kids will see them everywhere. Over 100 knights are leaning out of the slit windows, hiding behind drawbridges, and even jousting! Little hands will have lots of fun seeking out the tactile spots on these embossed pages as they count the knights.

The Inquisitor's Tale book
#10
The Inquisitor's Tale
Written by Adam Gidwitz and illustrated by Hatem Aly
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

On a dark night, travelers from across France cross paths at an inn and begin to tell stories of three children. Their adventures take them on a chase through France: they are taken captive by knights, sit alongside a king, and save the land from a farting dragon. On the run to escape prejudice and persecution and save precious and holy texts from being burned, their quest drives them forward to a final showdown at Mont Saint-Michel, where all will come to question if these children can perform the miracles of saints. Join William, an oblate on a mission from his monastery; Jacob, a Jewish boy who has fled his burning villa≥ and Jeanne, a peasant girl who hides her prophetic visions. They are accompanied by Jeanne''s loyal greyhound, Gwenforte . . . recently brought back from the dead. Told in multiple voices, in a style reminiscent of The Canterbury Tales, our narrator collects their stories and the saga of these three unlikely allies begins to come together.

Books About Dragons & Knights

The Storybook Knight book
#1
The Storybook Knight
Written by Helen Docherty and illustrated by Thomas Docherty
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Even dragons love a good story... Leo was a gentle knight in thought and word and deed. While other knights liked fighting, Leo liked to sit and read... When Leo's mom and dad pack him off to fight a dragon, he takes a shield, a sword―and a pile of his favorite books. But can a story be as mighty as a sword?

The Sorcerer's Shadow book
#2
The Sorcerer's Shadow
Written by Jordan Quinn and illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Prince Lucas, his friend Clara, and Ruskin the dragon travel with a team of knights to the forest of Trellis, where they discover that an evil sorcerer's shadow has cursed the land and only someone pure of heart and full of hope can save them.

The Inquisitor's Tale book
#3
The Inquisitor's Tale
Written by Adam Gidwitz and illustrated by Hatem Aly
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

On a dark night, travelers from across France cross paths at an inn and begin to tell stories of three children. Their adventures take them on a chase through France: they are taken captive by knights, sit alongside a king, and save the land from a farting dragon. On the run to escape prejudice and persecution and save precious and holy texts from being burned, their quest drives them forward to a final showdown at Mont Saint-Michel, where all will come to question if these children can perform the miracles of saints. Join William, an oblate on a mission from his monastery; Jacob, a Jewish boy who has fled his burning villa≥ and Jeanne, a peasant girl who hides her prophetic visions. They are accompanied by Jeanne''s loyal greyhound, Gwenforte . . . recently brought back from the dead. Told in multiple voices, in a style reminiscent of The Canterbury Tales, our narrator collects their stories and the saga of these three unlikely allies begins to come together.

Honorable Mentions
  1. The Forgetful Knight - This hilarious, Monty Python–style sendup of the classic knight-and-dragon story comes with jaunty rhymes and a fabulous twist ending Mischief! Mishaps! Dragons! Here’s the story of an intrepid knight, only our narrator can’t quite remember the details. Did that knight carry a sandwich, or a sword? Was he supposed to fight a cat, or a dragon? A hilarious and unpredictable adventure ensues, building through laugh-out-loud rhymes until, at last, the narrator remembers his own role at the center of all the marvelous madness. Fans of Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man, David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken, all of Patrick McDonnell’s and Mac Barnett’s picture books will love this zany read-aloud adventure.

  2. Hello Knights! - New from beloved author Joan Holub, Hello Knights! is a fun, playful board book about unexpected friendship! Knights run up. Knights run down. Take the queen her royal crown. Knights march here. Knights march there. Take the king his underwear. Perfect for reading out loud, Joan Holub’s hilarious text and Chris Dickason’s lively illustrations will have little ones huff-puff laughing as the knights and dragons run up and down the castle wall. A clever, interactive approach to first concepts, this board book series also introduces important “next-step” concepts like opposites in a hilariously engaging way.

  3. The Dragon and the Nibblesome Knight - A case of mistaken identity allows two sworn enemies—a young dragon and knight—to become friends. But what will they do when they discover the truth? A funny, rhyming read-aloud picture book illustrated by Benji Davies, of The Storm Whale. - GODWIN BOOKS -

  4. Dragon Night - Georgie is afraid of the night. It's too dark with the lights off. Too quiet with everyone asleep. And being alone makes everything worse. The dragon is afraid of the knight. After all, the knight carries a heavy sword, and he always wants to fight. The dragon knows just what to do to help Georgie overcome his fear, and the two set off on a unforgettable magical adventure. But when the morning comes, the dragon is still afraid of the knight. How can Georgie help his friend? With kindness and empathy--and a little creativity--maybe Georgie can work some magic of his own. J. R. Krause, an award-winning animator of The Simpsons and Futurama, has created a visually stunning story with incredible emotional depth, which addresses the needs of children to express their feelings and be received with kindness and empathy.

Want to see even more books about knights and dragons?

How about books about dragons?

Did you enjoy our knights book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!

Table of Contents
  1. Top 10 Knights Books
  2. + dragons (7)
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More