An award-winning book club for kids
Shop Now

Night: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about night?

As you can see, this list of kids books about night is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about night, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

What's Next? book
#1
What's Next?
Written by Timothy Knapman and illustrated by Jane McGuinness
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

An inquisitive baby badger is drawn to discover the world outside his den in an endearing, delightfully illustrated father-and-child story. Baby Badger sleeps all day in his snuggly burrow. When he wakes, he explores every nook of his home and wants to know “what’s next?” So Daddy takes him to the dark forest above to roll in soft moss and snuffle in bluebell bulbs and watch the silvery moon setting, a signal that night is ending and it’s time to go home. But if daytime is “what’s next,” how can Baby Badger sleep without seeing that? So he slips out alone to see the brilliant flowers and birds and to feel the yellow sun hot on his fur. Cozy illustrations and a child-friendly text depict a curious little creature dazzled by the world’s natural wonders — and a doting father who is there to guide him back if “what’s next” turns out to take him a bit too far.

The Night Is for Darkness book
#2
The Night Is for Darkness
Written by Jonathan Stutzman and illustrated by Joseph Kuefler
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A gorgeous bedtime book that is also a tribute to the beauty of the natural world, from popular picture book creators Jonathan Stutzman and Joseph Kuefler. Perfect for fans of The Night Gardener.

The night is for darkness . . . and for surprising moonlit discoveries.

This lyrical story celebrates the wondrous beauty of the natural world and the intimate family moments we share each night.

The Night Is for Darkness is a story full of warmth and love—an ideal sendoff into the land of dreams.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!