An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Size And Shape and Animals: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about size and shape is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From Bears Are Big to Whose Nose? there’s something here for everyone’s tastes. Do you have a favorite book about size and shape? Let us know!

Add to list
Bears Are Big
Written by Douglas Florian & illustrated by Barbara Bakos
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4
Discover animal opposites in this playful board book by award-winning author Douglas Florian. Bears are big. Bees are small. Shrews are short. Giraffes are tall. In this fun, rhyming story by award-winning author Douglas Florian, little ones can meet pairs of animals and discover how they're different! The pairs include bears/bees, shrews/giraffes, rhinos/tigers, turtles/snails, sloths/cheetahs, eels/tree frogs, hippos/butterflies, and ravens/doves.
Add to list
Little Friends: Big and Small
Written & illustrated by Amy A. Oliver, Barbi Sido, Natalie Munday, and Roger Priddy
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3
Invites young readers to match the sentences on each page with similar sentences featuring opposing terms that appear in a corner of the book that has pages that move independently.
Add to list
Creature Features
Written & illustrated by Natasha Durley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
Vibrantly illustrated by new talent Natasha Durley, this is an animal book with a difference. Each page is bursting with unusual creatures united by a common characteristic. From enormous ears to humongous horns, from elephants to earwigs, this eclectic collection celebrates the diversity and the commonality of the animal kingdom. And with something to look for on every page, it's guaranteed to fascinate young animal lovers.
Add to list
Keith the Cat with the Magic Hat
Written & illustrated by Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Meet Keith—a very cute cat with a magical hat! When Keith wears the hat, it makes bunnies appear out of nowhere! It even makes a stick move all on its own! But when Keith’s hat falls off, will the magic still work and save the day?
Add to list
Mail Duck: A Book of Shapes and Surprises
Written & illustrated by Erica Sirotich
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3
**Come along on Mail Duck’s delivery route for a day full of lift-the-flap surprises!** Mail Duck is delivering differently shaped packages to all his friends on his mail route. (Trudy likes triangles, and Harry likes hearts!) Lift the flaps to peek inside and guess what each friend received. Then head back to the post office for a big surprise: a thank-you celebration for Mail Duck planned by all his pals using the various packages they received throughout the story! Sixteen flaps and a final double-gatefold spread give readers plenty of sweet and silly details to unpack in this charming board book.
Fuzzy Yellow Ducklings book
Add to list
Animals Brag about Their Bottoms book
Add to list
A Greyhound, a Groundhog book
Add to list
You Are (Not) Small book
Add to list
  • Fuzzy Yellow Ducklings - This charming introduction to colors, shapes, and animals has been delighting children all over the world for ten years! There is a surprise on every peek-a-boo page, where textured shapes magically turn into colorful creatures perfect for toddler’s touching.

  • Animals Brag about Their Bottoms - Fans of Taro Gomi's Everyone Poops and Matthew Van Fleet's Tails will be over the moon for this adorable book about beautiful animal bottoms.All bottoms are wonderful! Don't you agree? Each animal in this adorable book has a different reason for loving their behind--from cute and round to fashionable and striped. Maki Saito makes readers laugh out loud with playful illustrations of the backsides of hippos, zebras, pandas, mandrills, and more. Her traditional Japanese art techniques add a sophisticated, beautiful feel. Charming and whimsical, this book encourages self-love and body positivity, as well as a whole lot of laughter and fun.

  • A Greyhound, a Groundhog - From a heavyweight author and illustrator duo comes a delicious tongue twister of a picture book that features a little round greyhound and a little round groundhog. With very spare, incredibly lively language, this is an entertaining read-aloud, with two amazing—and oh-so-adorable—characters at its heart. When a greyhound meets a groundhog, wordplay and crazy antics ensue. The two animals, much like kids, work themselves into a frenzy as they whirl around and around one another. (Around, round hound. Around, groundhog!) The pace picks up (Around and around and astound and astound!), until they ultimately wear themselves out.

  • You Are (Not) Small - Winner of the 2015 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Two fuzzy creatures can’t agree on who is small and who is big, until a couple of surprise guests show up, settling it once and for all! The simple text of Anna Kang and bold illustrations of New Yorker cartoonist Christopher Weyant tell an original and very funny story about size—it all depends on who’s standing next to you.

Add to list
Big Chickie, Little Chickie: A Book of Opposites
Written & illustrated by Janee Trasler
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-4
In the newest addition to the hilarious series, the Chickies say cheese, while young readers learn their opposites. With rhyming words and great illustrations, the Chickies help babies and toddlers have fun while learning the fundamentals in this padded paper-over-board perfect for little hands. Chickies up. Chickies down. Chickies smile. Chickies frown. Clickety-CLICK! Chickies pose for a pic!
Add to list
Crocopotamus
Written & illustrated by Mary Murphy
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3
Mix and match the front and back of wild animals to produce silly and magnificent new species! What do you call a cross between a tiger and a zebra? How about an elephant and a hippopotamus? Find out as you flip the pages and create incredible critters and silly animal names. Sturdy board-book pages open to the left and the right for easy manipulation by little hands, and bright, bold animals wait to be mixed up again and again.
Add to list
Animal Shapes
Written & illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-6
Best-selling picture book creator Christopher Silas Neal is diving into the world of original board books with _Animal Shapes_, a book that humorously mashes up animals and shapes to create a unique and funny object! _When a cozy cat meets a circle, they make a . . ._ _Purrrrrcle_ In this delightful board book with striking images, Christopher Silas Neal combines animals and shapes to form a unique, inventive objective. Children will have endless fun guessing what brand-new, made-up animal will appear next! This book will have kids playing and guessing with each reread!
Add to list
My First Shapes Book
Written & illustrated by Flowerpot Press
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-6
Introduces readers to shapes, including circles, rectangles, and octagons.
Add to list
How Things Grow
Written & illustrated by Eric Carle
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
A brand-new title in this bestselling series from Eric Carle! A tadpole becomes a frog, an acorn becomes an oak tree, and a caterpillar becomes a butterfly. By lifting the big, sturdy flaps, young readers will discover the world around them and how things grow through Eric Carle’s bright, beautiful images. A perfect companion title for Eric Carle’s ABC, Opposites, and All Around Us.
Esio Trot book
Add to list
Whose Feet? book
Add to list
Shapes book
Add to list
Bumpy Books: Patterns book
Add to list
  • Esio Trot - From the bestselling author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The BFG! Mr. Hoppy is in love with his neighbor, Mrs. Silver; but she is in love with someone else—Alfie, her pet tortoise. With all her attention focused on Alfie, Mrs. Silver doesn’t even know Mr. Hoppy is alive. And Mr. Hoppy is too shy to even ask Mrs. Silver over for tea. Then one day Mr. Hoppy comes up with a brilliant idea to get Mrs. Silver’s attention. If Mr. Hoppy’s plan works, Mrs. Silver will certainly fall in love with him. After all, everyone knows the way to a woman’s heart is through her tortoise.

  • Whose Feet? - Babies can spot the differences between animals and people in this pure fun book with a built-in guessing game and underlying educational aspect. Straightforward words and appealing, large illustrations bring smiles and chortles, a perfect opportunity for parents to cuddle up with little ones.

  • Shapes - Courtney Dicmas introduces babies to basic concepts with her award-winning charm and humour. In Opposites, interactions between animals with drastically different characteristics provides plenty of opportunities to discuss and make comparisons. Colours takes an original approach to the topic by representing popular colours through ocean creatures. Shapes cleverly demonstrates the way that different shapes appear in nature, through the outlines of animals, or through the negative space between them and their family members. How many birds can roost on a wire? Find out in the final book in the series: Numbers!

  • Bumpy Books: Patterns - A delightful introduction to patterns! Whether it’s stripes or polka dots, children will learn about unique patterns in Bumpy Books: Patterns. Each spread is full of glossy, embossed patterns to trace in this tactile learning experience. Little ones will love each brightly colored pattern and are encouraged to spot the patterns around them!

Add to list
Whose Tail?
Written by Sue Tarsky & illustrated by Michael Garton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
Babies can spot the differences between animals and people in this pure fun book with a built-in guessing game and underlying educational aspect. Straightforward words and appealing, large illustrations bring smiles and chortles, a perfect opportunity for parents to cuddle up with little ones.
Add to list
Whose Ears?
Written & illustrated by Sue Tarsky
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Babies can spot the differences between animals and people in this pure fun book with a built-in guessing game and underlying educational aspect. Straightforward words and appealing, large illustrations bring smiles and chortles, a perfect opportunity for parents to cuddle up with little ones.
Add to list
Redbird: Friends Come in Different Sizes
Written & illustrated by Barney Saltzberg
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4
Barney Saltzberg’s irrepressible and imaginative books—Good Egg, Beautiful Oops!, Arlo Needs Glasses, and A Little Bit of Oomph!, combine distinctive art, a lively spirit, and paper engineering to bring great joy to kids (and grown-ups, too). Now Barney is launching a new series of board books about a character named Redbird. With his long orange beak, red body, and friendly expression, Redbird calls to mind Dr. Seuss’s offbeat heroes and Boynton’s zany barnyard creatures, while embodying the author’s signature playful style. In Friends Come in Different Sizes, he introduces readers to all his delightful friends—some who are tall and some who are taller, and some who are small and some who are smaller. Friends can be SHORT. Friends can be LONG. Doesn’t matter what they look like . . . Friends all get along!
Add to list
Whose Nose?
Written by Sue Tarsky & illustrated by Michael Garton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
Babies can spot the differences between animals and people in this pure fun book with a built-in guessing game and underlying educational aspect. Straightforward words and appealing, large illustrations bring smiles and chortles, a perfect opportunity for parents to cuddle up with little ones.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links