An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Vampires: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about vampires?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to vampires. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about vampires.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about vampires, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery to popular sellers like Bunnicula (Anniversary).

We hope this list of kids books about vampires can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
From Sunset Till Sunrise
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Devin Dexter and his cousin Tommy just saved the city of Gravesend from the menace of magical, malicious Cuddle Bunnies brought to life by the warlock, Herb. But there’s no rest for the wicked, as a new mysterious neighbor moves in across the street. At night. With a coffin. Tommy immediately jumps to conclusions as he thinks this can only mean one thing: Vampires. <p/>Devin isn’t so quick to believe, as he is struck by the neighbor’s daughter, a girl his age. Even though Tommy points out that they have never seen her during the day. Yet when she invites him to a dance at her school–the Nosfer Academy of Talented Understudies–how can Devin say no? Tommy, though, realizes that this is an opportunity. After tackling a wizard last winter, surely they can protect Gravesend from some measly vampires, right?

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Isadora Moon Has a Birthday
Written by Harriet Muncaster
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Fans of Vampirina and the Princess in Black series will love Isadora Moon: half-fairy, half-vampire, totally unique--and ready for her first-ever human birthday party!
Buy book
$14.99
Bookshop
$12.74
Amazon
$14.99
Used $14.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Isadora Moon Gets in Trouble
Written by Harriet Muncaster
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Fans of
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Isadora Moon Goes to the Ballet
Written by Harriet Muncaster
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Fans of Vampirina and the Princess in Black series will love Isadora Moon: half-fairy, half-vampire, totally unique--and total ballerina!
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-13
Discover a new series for fans of Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl and the Adams family. Welcome to the world of Nocturnia, where darkness reigns supreme, glitter is terrifying, and unicorns are the stuff of nightmares! This is the third book about Amelia Fang, a sparkly little vampire in a dark and gloomy world.
Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$10.94
Used $4.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Isadora Moon Goes on a Field Trip - Fans of Vampirina and the Princess in Black series will love Isadora Moon: half-fairy, half-vampire, totally unique--and totally unafraid to be different!

  • Isadora Moon Has a Sleepover - Fans of

  • Creepella Von Cacklefur #4: Return of the Vampire, Volume 4: A Geronimo Stilton Adventure - Breakout star Creepella von Cacklefur is back in another fur-raising adventure! <p/>A mysterious old friend of Grandpa Frankenstein shows up one night on the doorstep of Cacklefur Castle. He’s a vampire . . . and he needs the von Cacklefur family’s help. His ancient castle has been infested by strange and troublesome monsters and ghosts, and he’s afraid he’ll have to move out because of them! Yikes! It’s up to Creepella and her family and friends to help this vampire save his home.

  • Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis - Discover a new series for fans of Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl and the Adams family. Welcome to the world of Nocturnia, where darkness reigns supreme, glitter is terrifying, and unicorns are the stuff of nightmares! This is the second book about Amelia Fang, a sparkly little vampire in a dark and gloomy world.

Add to list
Isadora Moon Goes Camping
Written by Harriet Muncaster
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Fans of Vampirina and the Princess in Black series will love Isadora Moon: half-fairy, half-vampire, totally unique--and totally outdoorsy!
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Isadora Moon Saves the Carnival
Written by Harriet Muncaster
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9
Fans of
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Amelia Fang and the Rainbow Rangers
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Discover a new series for fans of Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl and the Adams family. Welcome to the world of Nocturnia, where darkness reigns supreme, glitter is terrifying, and unicorns are the stuff of nightmares! This is the fourth book about Amelia Fang, a sparkly little vampire in a dark and gloomy world.
Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$9.99
Used $3.24
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Isadora Moon Goes to School
Written by Harriet Muncaster
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Meet Isadora Moon! She’s half-fairy, half-vampire and totally unique!

Isadora Moon loves sunshine — and nighttime. She loves her magic wand — and her black tutu. She loves spooky bats — and Pink Rabbit. Isadora is half-fairy, half-vampire, and she’s special because she is different!

Now Isadora’s parents want her to start school, but she’s not sure where she belongs — fairy school or vampire school?

Buy book
$14.99
Bookshop
$12.74
Amazon
$14.99
Used $14.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring a vampire girl, Amelia Fang. Welcome to the world of Nocturnia, where darkness reigns supreme, glitter is terrifying, and unicorns are the stuff of nightmares!
Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Middle School Bites - Tom is desperate to fit in at school, but he's hungry and howling, not to mention

  • Beet Juice Buddies - Mina the vampire and her family are on vacation in Transylvania, and Mina has two problems–she has to conceal the fact that she prefers beet juice to blood when she meets great-great-great grandpa Drac, and she needs to rescue a group of tourists who do not realize that they are on the dinner menu.

  • I Love My Fangs! - Is a vampire still a vampire if his fang is all wobbly? Find out in this funny and endearing spin on the classic first lost tooth story. Young Dracula loves his fangs. They are pointy. They are sharp! They are a cherished family trait. So one day, when a fang wiggles…and jiggles…and falls loose, Dracula doesn’t know what to do. He tries pushing it back in. Then taping it. Then sticking it. Because a vampire can’t have only one fang!…Right?

  • Vampirina Ballerina - Oh, to be a ballerina!

Add to list
Bunnicula (Anniversary)
Written by James Howe & illustrated by Alan Daniel
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11
"Bunnicula rules " --Dav Pilkey, creator of the Captain Underpants series
Buy book
$10.99
Bookshop
$9.34
Amazon
$6.89
Used $1.49
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery
Written by James Howe & illustrated by Alan Daniel
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This book is written by Harold. His fulltime occupation is dog. He lives with Mr. and Mrs. Monroe and their sons Toby and Pete. Also sharing the home are a cat named Chester and a rabbit named Bunnicula. It is because of Bunnicula that Harold turned to writing. Someone had to tell the full story of what happened in the Monroe household after the rabbit arrived. <P>Was Bunnicula really a vampire? Only Bunnicula knows for sure. But the story of Chester’s suspicions and their consequences makes uproarious reading. <P>Since its first appearance in 1979, “Bunnicula” has been a hit with kids and their parents everywhere, selling over 8 million copies and winning numerous awards.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$12.69
Used $1.59
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
Vampire Island
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-

In her offbeat portrayal of this not-quite-normal family, the author of Witch Twins uses her unique brand of humor to introduce readers to three vampire siblings who face challenges growing up that most normal kids couldn’t even imagine.

Buy book
$14.99
Bookshop
$12.74
Amazon
$14.99
Used $2.00
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
My FANGtastically Evil Vampire Pet
Written by Mo O'Hara & illustrated by Marek Jagucki
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

This epic spin-off of Mo O’Hara’s New York Times bestselling My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish series features an aspiring evil scientist, paranormal pets, and plenty of hilarious summer camp shenanigans. Welcome to Camp Mwhaaa-haa-ha-a-watha! This summer is going to be epic. Epically evil, that is. ‘Cause I’m going to Evil Scientist Summer Camp! No annoying little brothers. No annoying zombie goldfish. Just me, my best friend Sanj, our notebook of evil plans, and my truly evil (and totally forbidden) vampire kitten Fang. We’ve got it all planned out. Okay, so maybe I didn’t expect for the totally not-evil Geeky Girl to show up, or for Sanj to find a new partner to work with, but there’s no way I’m going to let them ruin my summer. Evil Emperor of the Camp, here I come! Signed, The Great and Powerful Mark

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
A Straw for Two
Written by Eric Sanvoisin & illustrated by Martin Matje
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Bitten by an ink-drinking vampire who is allergic to blood, Odilon, the son of a bookstore owner, has become an ink drinker. Now he loves using a straw to devour books, but he has no one to share his secret with. He’s lonely . . . until a new girl, Carmilla, arrives at school. Could he make her an ink drinker too? When Odilon follows Carmilla home, he discovers that she’s just as special as he is, and that there’s plenty for them to share. . . .

Buy book
$9.95
Bookshop
$8.46
Amazon
$9.95
Used $2.86
Prices as of Apr 17
Add to list
  • Vampire Breath - Exploring his basement, Freddy and his friend Cara discover a mysterious bottle labeled “Vampire Breath” and accidentally break it open, unleashing a very thirsty Count Nightwing on the town. Original.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.