An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Jokes: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about jokes?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to jokes. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about jokes.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about jokes, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Lettuce Laugh: 600 Corny Jokes About Food to popular sellers like The Terrible Two to some of our favorite hidden gems like More Adventures of the Great Brain.

We hope this list of kids books about jokes can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Add to list
More Adventures of the Great Brain
Written by John D. Fitzgerald & illustrated by Mercer Mayer and John D. Fitzgerald
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
This second book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl. Has Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, given up his con-artist ways for a bicycle? Not for long. Soon the Great Brain is back to his old tricks, swindling and trading, and even convincing the whole town there's a prehistoric monster on the loose. But when someone robs the bank, even the police are stumped. Can the Great Brain solve the crime and put the crooks behind bars?
Add to list
Lettuce Laugh: 600 Corny Jokes About Food
Written by Natasha Wing
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-12
Food fun! From Salad Sillies and Veggie Varieties to Eggs-traordinary Breakfasts and A Potluck of Puns, this tasty collection serves up plenty of belly laughs. It’s got a huge menu of more than 600 jokes, riddles, tongue twisters, knock-knocks, and other wordplay, plus comic illustrations on every page. So how did the watermelon start up a business? With seed money. Kids will just eat this up!
Add to list
Ellie May on April Fool's Day
Written by Hillary Homzie & illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Ellie May can’t believe her class is allowed to celebrate April Fools’ Day—so long as it’s done in good fun. Practicing on her parents and sisters, Ellie May brainstorms harmless pranks. Soon enough, good intentions turn her classroom and home upside-down when fake ants, trick tape, and hidden surprises don’t go as planned. Ellie May may not be perfect like Miss-Know-itAll Ava but she eventually realizes that the best trick is to make friends genuinely laugh—at no one’s expense.
Add to list
Funny Kid #3: Prank Wars
Written by Matt Stanton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Big Nate meets Timmy Failure in Funny Kid #3: Prank War, the third book in the uproarious highly illustrated middle grade series by Matt Stanton, Australia’s bestselling children’s book author. Max is the Funny Kid and, given the choice, he’d always rather laugh than fight. But when a prank war breaks out just before the big overnight class trip, Max has no choice but to pull off the funniest prank ever! Gunker dragons, duck smugglings, stolen suitcases, lethal super-beans, and the greatest prank ever played are just some of the hilarious antics in store. Paired with hilarious black-and-white illustrations from the author, Max’s mishaps will leave even the most reluctant reader laughing out loud. Matt Stanton again brings his bestselling children’s book chops to the hilarious Funny Kid series, perfect for early middle grade readers looking for side-splitting laughs and lovable, relatable characters!
Add to list
The Terrible Two Get Worse
Written by Mac Barnett and Jory John & illustrated by Kevin Cornell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
On their own, pranksters Miles and Niles were pretty devious. Now that they've formed a pranking duo, they're terrible! But their powers will be tested when their favorite nemesis, Principal Barkin, is replaced by his stern and cunning father, Former Principal Barkin. Now Miles and Niles will do just about anything to get their old antagonist back--including pranking alongside him. Authors and friends Mac Barnett and Jory John "are in perfect comic harmony" (Publishers Weekly) in this series that celebrates inventiveness, friendship, and the power of teamwork--for good, or for terrible.
The Terrible Two Go Wild book
Add to list
Jackie's Jokes book
Add to list
The Terrible Two book
Add to list
I Am Fartacus book
Add to list
  • The Terrible Two Go Wild -

  • Jackie's Jokes - April Fools’ Day is long and hard for the third-grade Huit octuplets, but it is nothing compared to the challenges of Tax Day, through which Jackie discovers her special power and gift and learns more about their parents’ mysterious disappearance. Simultaneous.

  • The Terrible Two - The Terrible Two (Terrible Two Series #1) by Mac Barnett and Jory John, Kevin Cornell

  • I Am Fartacus - When Chub leads his cadre of middle school misfits in an effort to bring down the evil empire led by his nemesis Arch, he inadvertently becomes the school hero.

Add to list
The Tapper Twins Go to War
Written & illustrated by Geoff Rodkey
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
This bestselling first book in the Tapper Twins series is a hilariously authentic showcase of what it's like to be in middle school in our digitally-saturated world, told as a colorful "oral history" with photos, screenshots, text messages, chat logs, and online gaming digital art. Twelve-year-old twins, Claudia and Reese, who couldn't be more different...except in their determination to come out on top in a vicious prank war. But when the competition escalates into an all-out battle that's fought from the cafeteria of their New York City private school all the way to the fictional universe of an online video game, the twins have to decide if their efforts to destroy each other are worth the price.
Add to list
Lincoln Tells a Joke
Written by Kathleen Krull & illustrated by Stacy Innerst and Paul Brewer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Poor Abraham Lincoln! His life was hardly fun at all. A country torn in two by war, citizens who didn't like him as president, the loss of two young sons, a homely appearance--what could there possibly be to laugh about? And yet he did laugh. Lincoln wasn't just one of our greatest presidents. He was a comic storyteller, a lover of jokes, someone who could lighten a grim situation with a clever quip. What better way to deal with a hard life than to find the humor in it?
Add to list
My Weird School Special: Bummer in the Summer!
Written by Dan Gutman & illustrated by Jim Paillot
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10
With more than 23 million books sold, the My Weird School series really gets kids reading! School’s almost out for the summer, and A.J. is dreaming about all the fun things he’s going to do on vacation. But A.J.’s dream quickly turns into a nightmare when three familiar spirits appear to show him summers past, present, and yet to come. Will they be able to convince him to leave his bad ways behind? Or will this summer end up being a total bummer? Bestselling author Dan Gutman brings his kid-friendly sense of humor to this special series of after-school chapter books featuring hilarious stories plus thirty-two pages of games, puzzles, and more. This is one weird summer vacation special you won’t want to miss!
Add to list
One Funny Day
Written by Kate Mcmullan & illustrated by R.W. Alley
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8
Wagner has been fooled by just about everyone this April Fools' Day--his best friend Pearl, his teacher, and even the librarian. Tired of being on the receiving end of all the pranks, Wagner is determined to have the last laugh. This easy-to-read installment of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor-winning Pearl and Wagner series promises a whole lot of giggles for young readers!
Add to list
Roald Dahl's Mischief and Mayhem
Written by Roald Dahl
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Pranks, tricks, mischief, and more in this ideal companion book to Roald Dahl’s beloved novels! Professional tricksters put your cunning to the test. Inside this wicked little book you’ll find step-by-step instructions for making mischief and mayhem as well as outrageous jokes, fiendish quizzes, and a few smelly surprises. Includes extracts from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, The BFG, The Witches, and more. Like The Missing Golden Ticket and Other Splendiferous Secrets, this book is a wonderful complement to Roald Dahl novels, with tons of great extras fans will love. It’s the perfect way to complete your Dahl collection!
KNOCK KNOCK book
Add to list
Who is the Mystery Reader? (Unlimited Squirrels) book
Add to list
Chick and Brain: Smell My Foot! book
Add to list
  • KNOCK KNOCK - Knock Knock is a fresh and innovative method of humorous storytelling that uses knock-knock jokes to tell the story of Bear and his woodland friends Raccoon, Rabbit, Turtle, and others. With each new visitor, Bear grows increasingly frustrated at his lack of peace and quiet. Little does Bear know that his friends have a surprise in store for him — a happy hibernation party!

  • Who is the Mystery Reader? (Unlimited Squirrels) - From Mo Willems, creator of the revolutionary, award-winning, best-selling Elephant & Piggie books, comes this breakout beginning-reader series. An ensemble cast of Squirrels, Acorns, and pop-in guests host a page-turning extravaganza. Each book features a funny, furry adventure AND bonus jokes, quirky quizzes, nutty facts, and so, so many Squirrels. In Who is the Mystery Reader?, Zoom Squirrel tries out a new superpower with help from a mysterious Mystery Reader. But will the Squirrel pals ever find out who the real Mystery Reader is? Do you know more about reading than the Squirrels do? You will by the end of this book!

  • Chick and Brain: Smell My Foot! - From Newbery Honor winner Cece Bell comes an offbeat, pitch-perfect storybook for beginning readers that will have them in fits of giggles. “Maybe your foot smells good. Maybe your foot smells great. But I will not smell your foot until you say PLEASE.” Meet Chick and Brain. And their friend Spot. Chick likes to follow the rules. Brain might not be as smart as he looks. And Spot just wants to eat lunch. In a graphic reader loaded with verbal and visual humor, Cece Bell offers a comical primer on good manners gone awry. Simple, silly, and perfectly suited for its audience, this tale of Chick and Brain’s constant misunderstandings and miscommunications proves once again that Cece Bell is a master at meeting kids where they are.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links