An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Sewing And Quilting: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about sewing and quilting?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to sewing and quilting. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about sewing and quilting.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about sewing and quilting, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Quiltmaker’s Gift to popular sellers like The Prince and the Dressmaker to some of our favorite hidden gems like The Quilt Story.

We hope this list of kids books about sewing and quilting can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
The Quilt Story
Written by Tony Johnston & illustrated by Tomie dePaola
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

After a move to a new home, comfort comes from a surprising place.

Long ago, a young girl named Abigail put her beloved patchwork quilt in the attic. Generations later, another young girl discovers the quilt and makes it her own, relying on its warmth to help her feel secure in a new home.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$2.03
Used $-3.32
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
I Had a Favorite Dress
Written by Boni Ashburn & illustrated by Julia Denos
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

A young girl loves her favorite dress, but when it gets worn, goes out of fashion, or she grows too big to fit, her mother fixes up her old favorite into something new.

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$15.94
Used $5.53
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
The Boy and the Quilt
Written by Shirley Kurtz & illustrated by Cheryl Benner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-10

With a little help from his mother and sister, a young boy makes a quilt of his own. Includes instructions for making a quilt and a comforter.

Buy book
$17.15
Bookshop
$14.58
Amazon
$17.15
Used $17.15
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Rachel's Roses
Written by Ferida Wolff & illustrated by Margeaux Lucas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Rachel Berger needs twenty-five cents to make her dream come true. But for Rachel, twenty-five cents is a fortune–and she’s running out of time. Third-grader Rachel Berger longs to be different. At the very least, she’d like to be set apart from her copycat little sister, Hannah. The second Rachel spots the glass rose buttons at Mr. Solomon’s button shop, her heart stops. They’ll be the perfect, unique touch on the skirt her mother is making her for Rosh Hashanah. There’s just one problem: Rachel can’t afford them. With her focus set on earning enough to buy them before the holiday, will Rachel lose sight of what’s really important? Themes of sisterhood, sibling rivalry, and strong family values are organically woven in to this charmingly illustrated chapter book set on the Lower East Side of Manhattan in the early twentieth century.

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$15.99
Used $15.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Quiltmaker's Gift
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When a generous quiltmaker finally agrees to make a quilt for a greedy king, but only under certain conditions, she causes him to undergo a change of heart. Each page highlights a different quilt block pattern whose name relates to the unfolding story.

Buy book
$19.99
Bookshop
$16.99
Amazon
$14.58
Used $1.95
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Prince and the Dressmaker - Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

  • The Keeping Quilt: 25th Anniversary Edition - This 25th anniversary edition of a beloved and bestselling classic about family and tradition includes fifteen pages of bonus material. “We will make a quilt to help us always remember home,” Anna’s mother said. “It will be like having the family in backhome Russia dance around us at night.” And so it was. From a basket of old clothes, Anna’s babushka, Uncle Vladimir’s shirt, Aunt Havalah’s nightdress, and an apron of Aunt Natasha’s become The Keeping Quilt, passed along from mother to daughter for almost a century. For four generations the quilt is a Sabbath tablecloth, a wedding canopy, and a blanket that welcomes babies warmly into the world. In strongly moving pictures that are as heartwarming as they are real, Patricia Polacco tells the story of her own family and the quilt’s further story that remains a symbol of their enduring love and faith. This anniversary edition includes fifteen pages of original material describing the quilt’s journey and its home at the Mazza Museum in Findley, Ohio.

  • Sweet Clara and the Freedom Quilt - Illus. in full color. As a seamstress in the Big House, Clara dreams of a<BR>reunion with her Momma, who lives on another plantation–and even of running<BR>away to freedom. Then she overhears two slaves talking about the Underground<BR>Railroad. In a flash of inspiration, Clara sees how she can use the cloth in<BR>her scrap bag to make a map of the land–a freedom quilt–that no master will<BR>ever suspect. “A particularly effective way to introduce the subject to younger<BR>children, adding a trenchant immediacy to their understanding of a difficult<BR>but important chapter in the country’s past.”–(starred) “Horn Book.” <BR>”This first-rate book is a triumph of the heart.”–(starred) “Publishers<BR>Weekly. <BR>”

  • The Patchwork Quilt - Twenty years ago Valerie Flournoy and Jerry Pinkney created a warmhearted intergenerational story that became an award-winning perennial. Since then children from all sorts of family situations and configurations continue to be drawn to its portrait of those bonds that create the fabric of family life.

Add to list
The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.
Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Show Way
Written by Jacqueline Woodson & illustrated by Hudson Talbott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Soonie’s great-grandma was just seven years old when she was sold to a big plantation without her ma and pa, and with only some fabric and needles to call her own. She pieced together bright patches with names like North Star and Crossroads, patches with secret meanings made into quilts called Show Ways – maps for slaves to follow to freedom. When she grew up and had a little girl, she passed on this knowledge. And generations later, Soonie – who was born free – taught her own daughter how to sew beautiful quilts to be sold at market and how to read.

From slavery to freedom, through segregation, freedom marches and the fight for literacy, the tradition they called Show Way has been passed down by the women in Jacqueline Woodson’s family as a way to remember the past and celebrate the possibilities of the future. Beautifully rendered in Hudson Talbott’s luminous art, this moving, lyrical account pays tribute to women whose strength and knowledge illuminate their daughters’ lives.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$13.99
Used $0.34
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
The Seasons Sewn: A Year in Patchwork
Written by Ann Whitford Paul & illustrated by Michael McCurdy
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Informative text about quilt patterns, including Bear’s Paw, Trail of the Covered Wagon, and Turkey Tracks, and appealing scratchboard illustrations provide a glimpse of pioneer life and celebrate an American art form.

Buy book
$16.00
Bookshop
$13.60
Amazon
$16.00
Used $16.00
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Josefina Story Quilt
Written by & illustrated by Bruce Degen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In 1957, Harper published its first I Can Read title, Little Bear, written by Else Holmelund Minarik and illustrated by Maurice Sendak. Large type, simple vocabulary, chapter-like divisions, and decorative pictures made Little Bear perfect for emerging readers

Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$3.99
Used $0.25
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
The Quilts of Gee's Bend
Written & illustrated by Susan Goldman Rubin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Since the early nineteenth century, the women of Gee s Bend in southern Alabama have created stunning, vibrant quilts. In the only photo-essay book about the quilts of Gee s Bend for children, award-winning author Susan Goldman Rubin explores the history and culture of this fascinating group of women and their unique quilting traditions. Rubin uses meticulous research to offer an exclusive look at an important facet of African American art and culture. In the rural community of Gee s Bend, African American women have been making quilts for generations. They use scraps of old overalls, aprons, and bleached cornmeal sacks anything they can find. Their traditions have been passed down through the decades. Much to the women s surprise, a selection of the quilts was featured in an exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, in 2002. The exhibition then traveled to the Whitney Museum in New York City. Eye-poppingly gorgeous, wrote a critic for the “New York Times “about the exhibition. He continued, Some of the most miraculous works of modern art America has produced. The Metropolitan Museum of Art will exhibit its newly acquired collection of Gee s Bend quilts in 2017. Rubin is known for producing well-researched, highly praised, and sophisticated biographies of artists and other important figures. Through similar research, “The Quilts of Gee s Bend” shares specifics about this rare community and its rich traditions, allowing children to pause to consider history through the eyes of the people who lived it and through a legacy that is passed on to the next generation. This book should be of great interest to classrooms, libraries, and those interested in African American art in the United States, in addition to quilting, life in early emancipated colonies in the South, and Gee s Bends importance in the Civil Right s movement. The quilts and the incredible stories behind them are powerful motivators for anyone who wishes to accomplish anything. A map, directions on how to make a quilt square, endnotes, and an index round out this stunning nonfiction book. “

Buy book
$21.95
Bookshop
$18.66
Amazon
$21.95
Used $21.95
Prices as of Jan 18

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.