Rocks: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about rocks?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to rocks. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about rocks.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about rocks, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Dave’s Rock to popular sellers like Stick and Stone (Board Book) to some of our favorite hidden gems like Petra.

We hope this list of kids books about rocks can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Petra book
#1
Petra
Written and illustrated by Marianna Coppo
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

The humorous adventures of an irresistible little rock who finds herself in constantly changing circumstances, Petra is a picture book that celebrates the power of perspective and believing in yourself. Petra is a little rock who believes she is a mighty mountain . . . until a dog fetches her for its owner, and she is tossed into a bird’s nest. A mountain? No, Petra is now an egg! An egg of the world in a world of possibility. Until she’s flung into a pond, and becomes an amazing island . . . and, eventually, a little girl’s pet rock. What will she be tomorrow? Who knows? But she’s a rock, and this is how she rolls!

Charlotte and the Rock book
#2
Charlotte and the Rock
Written by Stephen W. Martin and illustrated by Samantha Cotterill
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can’t cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back…or can he?

Stick and Stone (Board Book) book
#3
Stick and Stone (Board Book)
Written by Beth Ferry and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Stick and Stone are sticking together in this hilarious and heart-warming board book that proves once and for all why best friends ROCK!

Construction Alphabet book
#4
Construction Alphabet
Written by Jerry Pallotta and illustrated by Rob Bolster and Jerry Pallotta
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

For fans of all things that go this noisy alphabet book explores construction equipment from A to Z. Find out about these construction machines and more, from a huge saw that cuts through roads to a massive vacuum that sucks up boulders. You’ll even learn a quick and easy recipe for concrete. Rock crushers, jackhammers, and wrecking balls will delight the youngest of readers learning their ABCs. Jerry Pallotta’s trademark humor punctuates the informative text. Vibrant oil paintings bring to life a busy construction site.

The Big Red Rock book
#5
The Big Red Rock
Written and illustrated by Jess Stockham
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

When Bif finds a big red rock blocking his way, he decides it has to go. But how? Nothing he tries will move it. Bif’s friend Bop knows some monsters who might be able to help. When none of their ingenious methods work, they all have to decide what to do next - with surprising results! A simple and comic tale about teamwork and problem solving.

  1. A Stone Sat Still - In this moving companion to the Caldecott Honor–winning They All Saw a Cat, Brendan Wenzel tells the story of a seemingly ordinary stone. But it isn’t just a stone—to the animals that use it, it’s a resting place, a kitchen, a safe haven…even an entire world. With stunning illustrations in cut paper, pencil, collage, and paint, and soothing rhythms that invite reading aloud, A Stone Sat Still is a gorgeous exploration of perspective, perception, sensory experience, color, size, function, and time, with an underlying environmental message that is timely and poignant. Once again Wenzel shows himself to be a master of the picture book form.

  2. Rocks - What are rocks? How are rocks formed? Why do some of them glitter? Baby Explorer encourages little ones to explore the world around them, through their five senses of seeing, touching, hearing, smelling, or tasting.

  3. The Little Dump Truck - A happy little dump truck, driven by Hard Hat Pete, hauls stones, rocks, and debris from a construction site to a landfill.

  4. The Blue Pebble - Under a daisy Oli finds a pebble. Everyone he shows it to tells him to throw it away. But Oli just knows he’ll find a use for it one day. At last he meets a very sad girl and finds he was right all along. His pebble is special after all.

The Thunder Egg book
#10
The Thunder Egg
Written by Tim J Myers and illustrated by Winfield Coleman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Stands-by-Herself lives with her grandmother in a buffalo-hide tipi among their Cheyenne people on the Great Plains. Other children make fun of her because she is always by herself dreaming. One day she finds a strange egg-shaped rock and senses there is something special about it. Taking it home, she cares for it as if it were a child, even though the other children mock her. When a terrible drought threatens to wipe out her people, could Stands-by-Herself’s rock hold the key to their survival? The Thunder Egg is the story of a girl’s coming of age, when she realizes that life can require us to think of others before ourselves and to follow what our hearts tell us. Featuring an author’s note, informative notes on the illustrations, and a bibliography, the book is filled with vibrant images of Plains Indian life in the unspoiled West. Carefully crafted text and paintings bring a true authenticity to the time, place, and people of the story.

Barnum's Bones book
#11
Barnum's Bones
Written by Tracey Fern and illustrated by Boris Kulikov
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Documents the work of an early 20th-century paleontologist, named after the famous circus icon by his ambitious parents, who grew up to work for the American Museum of Natural History and discovered the first documented skeletons of the Tyrannosaurus Rex and other noteworthy species. By the author of Pippo the Fool.

The Case of Windy Lake book
#12
The Case of Windy Lake
Written and illustrated by Michael Hutchinson
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Sam, Otter, Atim and Chickadee are four cousins growing up on the Windy Lake First Nation. They are inseparable. Nicknamed the Mighty Muskrats for their habit of laughing, fighting and adventuring together, the cousins find that each new exploit adds to their reputation. When a visiting archeologist goes missing, the cousins decide to solve the mystery of his disappearance. In the midst of community conflict, family concerns and environmental protests, the four get busy following every lead. From their base of operations in a fort made out of an old school bus, the Mighty Muskrats won’t let anything stop them from solving their case!

Dave's Rock book
#13
Dave's Rock
Written and illustrated by Frann Preston-Gannon
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Dave loves his rock. Jon loves his rock, too. The two buddies compete over whose rock is biggest, fastest, prettiest, and tallest. But their woodland friends have other ideas for how to use these circles with holes in the middle. Anyone up for a ride?

Dalmatian in a Digger book
#14
Dalmatian in a Digger
Written and illustrated by Rebecca Elliott
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7
  1. Bone Beds of the Badlands - Bone Beds of the Badlands transports readers to the heart of dinosaur country in the most gripping and terrifying Dylan Maples Adventure yet! Dylan and his best friends, Terry, Rhett and the Bomb, have won first place in the National Science Fair for their amazing mechanical T. rex. The prize: a parent-free trip to the badlands of Alberta. Unfortunately, the area is the scene of a manhunt for a desperate killer. When the boys get separated from their guided tour of Dinosaur Provincial Park, they may be lost, but they’re not alone…

  2. A Chip Off the Old Block - A plucky pebble shows true grit as he travels the country trying to find out if he fits in with any of his famous rock-formation relatives. Rocky comes from a long line of rock stars! Uncle Gibraltar, Aunt Etna, and Great-Grandma Half Dome are just some of the legendary rock formations he calls family. It’s no wonder he wants to matter in a big way too—but it’s not easy trying to get a foothold. Rocky gets tossed by The Wave and driven away at Devil’s Tower—but he’s determined not to allow these pitfalls to chip away at his confidence. Rather than feeling crushed, he keeps on rolling, hoping to become the rock-star he knows he’s meant to be.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!