Discover

Company
Charlotte and the Rock Book
Charlotte and the Rock Book
A BookrooView of

Charlotte and the Rock

Written by Stephen W. Martin and illustrated by Samantha Cotterill

Published by Dial Books for Young Readers

1234567
5.88
Overall

Publisher's Summary

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can’t cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back…or can he?

Topics in Charlotte and the Rock

Details

  • Age Range: 3-5
  • Pages: 32
  • Book Type: picture
  • Publication Date: March 14, 2017
  • ISBN: 1101993898
  • ISBN 13: 978-1101993897
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS
1234567
5.75
Mr. Staccato
Spent many carefree hours hunting clues with the Hardy boys and defending Redwall Abbey.

A story about a girl who makes the best of a somewhat disappointing situation. I found it playful and creative and enjoyed the comical twist at the end.

1234567
6.0
B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt

When a little girl wishes for a pet, and her parents get her a rock, she chooses to look on the bright side and ends up loving her pet rock so much. Little did she, or her parents, know that the rock was actually a dinosaur egg! This book has darling illustrations to go along with its fun story and unexpected ending.

author
Stephen W. Martin

Coming soon!

View Author
Stephen W. Martin
illustrator
Samantha Cotterill

Samantha Cotterill is an illustrator and textile designer. Her picture book debut, No More Bows!, which she also wrote, was called “an enjoyable, repeatable read-aloud with memorable art” by Kirkus Reviews in a starred review. She is also the illustrator of Charlotte and the Rock by Stephen Martin, The Forever Garden by Laurel Snyder, Jinx and the Doom Fight Crime! by Lisa Mantchev, and Just Add Glitter by Angela DiTerlizzi. Samantha lives with her family in Upstate New York.

View Illustrator
Samantha Cotterill

More books like Charlotte and the Rock

View All ›
To the Sea book
6.7
Preschool · 100 Hidden Gem · making friends · kindness · calming reads for bedtime · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
More Than Balloons book
6.0
Best Children's Books by Age · 100 Hidden Gem · calming reads for bedtime · love · children's books for adults · valentines · babies · parents
More Than Balloons
How Do You Say I Love You? book
5.8
love · travel · children's books for adults · valentines · diversity · languages
How Do You Say I Love You?
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship · rhyming
We are Better Together
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
families · ice cream · rhyming · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family
My Pet Giraffe book
5.5
pets · fall · hide-and-seek · animals · Halloween
My Pet Giraffe
When Your Elephant Has the Sniffles book
5.5
empathy · pets · sick · silly · elephants
When Your Elephant Has the Sniffles
Mommy's Best Kisses book
5.4
calming reads for bedtime · love · moms · animals · baby animals
Mommy's Best Kisses