The Definitive Guide to

Charlotte and the Rock

Written by Stephen W. Martin and illustrated by Samantha Cotterill
1234567
5.88
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
3-5
Target Age
32
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can’t cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back…or can he?

What Kind of Book is Charlotte and the Rock

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Mr. Staccato
Spent many carefree hours hunting clues with the Hardy boys and defending Redwall Abbey.
1234567
5.75

A story about a girl who makes the best of a somewhat disappointing situation. I found it playful and creative and enjoyed the comical twist at the end.

B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt
1234567
6.0

When a little girl wishes for a pet, and her parents get her a rock, she chooses to look on the bright side and ends up loving her pet rock so much. Little did she, or her parents, know that the rock was actually a dinosaur egg! This book has darling illustrations to go along with its fun story and unexpected ending.

Book Lists That Include Charlotte and the Rock

Book Topics › 2019 Picture Book Summer Reading List
100 Picture Children's Books to Read This Summer of 2019
Book Topics › friendship
Favorite Children's Books About Friendship
Book Topics › love
Moving Children's Books About Love
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Charlotte and the Rock

Who Illustrated Charlotte and the Rock

illustrator
Samantha Cotterill

Samantha Cotterill is an illustrator and textile designer. Her picture book debut, No More Bows!, which she also wrote, was called “an enjoyable, repeatable read-aloud with memorable art” by Kirkus Reviews in a starred review. She is also the illustrator of Charlotte and the Rock by Stephen Martin, The Forever Garden by Laurel Snyder, Jinx and the Doom Fight Crime! by Lisa Mantchev, and Just Add Glitter by Angela DiTerlizzi. Samantha lives with her family in Upstate New York.

View Illustrator

What Has Stephen W. Martin Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Stephen know that you want more details about Charlotte and the Rock!

What Has Samantha Cotterill Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Samantha know that you want more details about Charlotte and the Rock!

More Books From These Creatives

Jinx and the Doom Fight Crime! book
Lisa Mantchev, Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
5.0
Just Add Glitter book
Angela DiTerlizzi, Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
4.5
The Secret Rhino Society book
Jonathan E. Jacobs, Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
4.3
Nope. Never. Not for Me! book
Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
3.0
This Beach Is Loud! book
Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
3.0
The Forever Garden book
Laurel Snyder, Samantha Cotterill
Picture book
2.0

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Book Details

ISBN 10:
1101993898
ISBN 13:
9781101993897
Publication Date:
March 14, 2017

Suggested Links