The Definitive Guide to

Charlotte and the Rock

Written by Stephen W. Martin & illustrated by Samantha Cotterill
1234567
5.88 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
3-5
Target Age
32
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An unexpected friendship forms between a girl and her pet rock in this charming story that’s perfect for fans of What Pet Should I Get?

Charlotte has always really wanted a pet, so when her parents present her with one for her birthday she expects a cat, dog, or maybe a bird. Instead, she receives a rock. Rocks can’t cuddle, fetch, or even help her eat her vegetables, but that doesn’t stop Charlotte from loving her rock as if he were real. If only he could love her back…or can he?

What Kind of Book is Charlotte and the Rock

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
6.0 / 7.0

When a little girl wishes for a pet, and her parents get her a rock, she chooses to look on the bright side and ends up loving her pet rock so much. Little did she, or her parents, know that the rock was actually a dinosaur egg! This book has darling illustrations to go along with its fun story and unexpected ending.

Mr. Staccato
Spent many carefree hours hunting clues with the Hardy boys and defending Redwall Abbey.
1234567
5.75 / 7.0

A story about a girl who makes the best of a somewhat disappointing situation. I found it playful and creative and enjoyed the comical twist at the end.

Book Lists That Include Charlotte and the Rock

Book Topics › rocks
Children's Books About Rocks
Book Topics › 2019 Picture Book Summer Reading List
100 Picture Children's Books to Read This Summer of 2019
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Charlotte and the Rock

Who Illustrated Charlotte and the Rock

illustrator
Samantha Cotterill

Samantha Cotterill is an illustrator and textile designer. Her picture book debut, No More Bows!, which she also wrote, was called “an enjoyable, repeatable read-aloud with memorable art” by Kirkus Reviews in a starred review. She is also the illustrator of Charlotte and the Rock by Stephen Martin, The Forever Garden by Laurel Snyder, Jinx and the Doom Fight Crime! by Lisa Mantchev, and Just Add Glitter by Angela DiTerlizzi. Samantha lives with her family in Upstate New York.

View Illustrator

What Has Stephen W. Martin Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Stephen know that you want more details about Charlotte and the Rock!

What Has Samantha Cotterill Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Samantha know that you want more details about Charlotte and the Rock! Try tweeting Samantha on twitter (@mummysamart) or messaging Samantha on instagram (@mummysamart).

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Charlotte and the Rock

Book Details

ISBN:
9781101993897
Publication Date:
March 14, 2017
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2016001609
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1101993898
Lexile:
AD510L
Accelerated Reader Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
188791
ATOS Book Level:
2.29
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.