The Definitive Guide to

City of Islands

Written by Kali Wallace
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
336
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's City of Islands About

Publisher Summary

A dark and riveting middle grade fantasy from the critically acclaimed Kali Wallace about an archipelago of magical islands and one girl’s dangerous discovery on the ocean floor. Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kate Milford. In a foggy archipelago called the City of Islands, twelve-year-old Mara has always been fascinated by the magic that drifts on the air as songs. But as a servant for the powerful Lady of the Tides, Mara must earn her keep by searching for magical treasures deep in the murky ocean. Then Mara finds the skeletons of strange hybrid creatures that haven’t existed in the city for centuries—all humming with a powerful spell-song. Convinced her discovery will earn her the opportunity to study magic, Mara shares them with the Lady. But instead of a reward, the Lady gives Mara a new challenge: to sneak into the island fortress, the Winter Blade. Now Mara must dive deeper than ever before to survive her mission. The chilling truths that Mara uncovers along the way, about her past as well as about the secrets of her beloved city, are more dangerous—and magical—than she ever imagined.

What Kind of Book is City of Islands

Book Lists That Include City of Islands

Book Lists › the ocean
Children's Books About The Ocean
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote City of Islands

author
Kali Wallace

Kali Wallace is the author of two novels for teens and many short stories. She studied geology for years but now devotes her time to writing. She lives in Southern California. You can find her at www.kaliwallace.com.

View Author

What Has Kali Wallace Said About City of Islands

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kali Wallace know that we want more details from them about City of Islands!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked City of Islands

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone book
7.0
magic · witches · wizards
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix book
6.9
adventure · wizards · magic · brothers · twins
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Ella Enchanted book
5.9
cinderella stories · magic · parties · perseverance · fairies · self-reliant princesses · princesses
Ella Enchanted
The Thief Lord book
5.8
sleuthing · magic · time
The Thief Lord
The Magic Misfits book
5.8
family · friendship · making friends · LGBTQ · magic
The Magic Misfits
A Dragon's Guide to the Care and Feeding of Humans book
5.5
pets · magic · dragons · San Francisco · artists
A Dragon's Guide to the Care and Feeding of Humans
The Infinity Year of Avalon James book
5.3
spelling · magic · friendship
The Infinity Year of Avalon James

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062499815
ISBN 13:
9780062499813
Publication Date:
July 24, 2018