Discover

Company
City of Islands Book
City of Islands Book
A BookrooView of

City of Islands

Written by Kali Wallace

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

Publisher's Summary

A dark and riveting middle grade fantasy from the critically acclaimed Kali Wallace about an archipelago of magical islands and one girl’s dangerous discovery on the ocean floor. Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kate Milford. In a foggy archipelago called the City of Islands, twelve-year-old Mara has always been fascinated by the magic that drifts on the air as songs. But as a servant for the powerful Lady of the Tides, Mara must earn her keep by searching for magical treasures deep in the murky ocean. Then Mara finds the skeletons of strange hybrid creatures that haven’t existed in the city for centuries—all humming with a powerful spell-song. Convinced her discovery will earn her the opportunity to study magic, Mara shares them with the Lady. But instead of a reward, the Lady gives Mara a new challenge: to sneak into the island fortress, the Winter Blade. Now Mara must dive deeper than ever before to survive her mission. The chilling truths that Mara uncovers along the way, about her past as well as about the secrets of her beloved city, are more dangerous—and magical—than she ever imagined.

Topics in City of Islands

Details

  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Pages: 336
  • Book Type: chapter
  • Publication Date: July 24, 2018
  • ISBN: 0062499815
  • ISBN 13: 978-0062499813
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS

Looks like we don't have any reviews for City of Islands yet!

author
Kali Wallace

Kali Wallace is the author of two novels for teens and many short stories. She studied geology for years but now devotes her time to writing. She lives in Southern California. You can find her at www.kaliwallace.com.

View Author
Kali Wallace

More books like City of Islands

Ocean Meets Sky book
6.0
grandpa · the ocean · boats
Ocean Meets Sky
Ta-Da! book
5.0
princesses · magic · teamwork · imagination · being yourself · dragons · wizards · being bossy · competition · mischief · trying new things
Ta-Da!
The Language of Spells book
5.0
friendship · mystery · dragons · magic
The Language of Spells
Polly Diamond and the Magic Book book
4.8
writing · wish · magic · adventure
Polly Diamond and the Magic Book
First Stories: Peter Pan book
4.8
magic · classic literature · interactive · fairy tales · inspired by classic literature
First Stories: Peter Pan
The Little Mermaid book
4.8
inspired by classic literature · adventure · rescue · princesses · the ocean
The Little Mermaid
Aquarium book
4.5
wordless · nature · animals · the ocean
Aquarium
the ocean · leaving home · animals · mischief · adventure
Inky the Octopus

More books from these creatives

magic · the ocean
City of Islands