Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
4.2/5
Goodreads

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Written by Julie Abe & illustrated by Shan Jiang
Book #1 in the Eva Evergreen Series
Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
8 - 12
Reading age
400
Page count
197
Words per page
HL760L
Lexile measure
Aug 4, 2020
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A young witch must pass a coming-of-age quest or risk losing her magic forever in this enchanting fantasy – perfect for fans of Kiki’s Delivery Service and Aru Shah and the End of Time. Sometimes all you need is a pinch of magic…Eva Evergreen is determined to earn the rank of Novice Witch before her thirteenth birthday. If she doesn’t, she’ll lose her magic forever. For most young witches and wizards, it’s a simple enough test: One: Help your town, do good all around. Two: Live there for one moon, don’t leave too soon. Three: Fly home by broomstick, the easiest of tricks. The only problem? Eva only has a pinch of magic. She summons heads of cabbage instead of flowers and gets a sunburn instead of calling down rain. And to add insult to injury, whenever she overuses her magic, she falls asleep. When she lands in the tranquil coastal town of Auteri, the residents expect a powerful witch, not a semi-magical girl. So Eva comes up with a plan: set up a magical repair shop to aid Auteri and prove she’s worthy. She may have more blood than magic, but her “semi-magical fixes” repair the lives of the townspeople in ways they never could have imagined. Only, Eva’s bit of magic may not be enough when the biggest magical storm in history threatens the town she’s grown to love. Eva must conjure up all of the magic, bravery, and cleverness she can muster or Auteri and her dreams of becoming a witch will wash away with the storm.

What Kind of Book is Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Topics

Locations

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Julie Abe Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Julie Abe know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Shan Jiang Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Shan Jiang know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Discover All the Books in the Eva Evergreen Series

      chapter • 368 Pages
      Eva Evergreen and the Cursed Witch
      #2 in Series
      Eva Evergreen and the Cursed Witch
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      chapter • 320 Pages
      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
      7.0
      #1 in Series
      J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
      chapter • 416 Pages
      Ghostfaces
      John Flanagan
      chapter • 368 Pages
      Lintang and the Pirate Queen
      chapter • 320 Pages
      A Wolf for a Spell
      Karah Sutton, Pauliina Hannuniemi
      chapter • 352 Pages
      The Dragon Warrior
      Katie Zhao
      chapter • 336 Pages
      Orange for the Sunsets
      6.8
      Tina Athaide
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze
      Elizabeth Foreman Lewis, William Low
      chapter • 400 Pages
      Spindlefish and Stars
      Christiane M. Andrews
      chapter • 400 Pages
      The Girl Who Drank the Moon
      6.3
      Kelly Barnhill
      chapter • 384 Pages
      The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes
      6.0
      #1 in Series
      Mariano Epelbaum, Wade Albert White

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780316493888
    Publication Date
    August 4, 2020
    Publisher
    Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
    Page Count
    400
    Words Per Page
    197
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019021821
    WorldCat Number (OCLC)
    1100426740
    Lexile® Level
    HL760L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~R
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.4
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    12
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    509413
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 100%

    Perfect!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @mamabearian
    15
    02
    @karahsutton
    13
    03
    @thegoodfather
    8

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo