If Wendell Had a Walrus
If Wendell Had a Walrus
4.0/5
Goodreads

If Wendell Had a Walrus

Written by Lori Mortensen & illustrated by Matt Phelan
Hardcover
$17.99
$16.73
4 - 8
Reading age
32
Page count
13
Words per page
AD520L
Lexile measure
Apr 17, 2018
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A boy sets out to find a walrus only to make a new friend in this heartwarming, funny picture book by Lori Mortensen with art byMatt Phelan, creator of the New YorkTimes bestseller Snow White.Wendell is convinced that if he ever found a walrus, the twoof them would be the best of friends—they’d tell tons of jokes, ride bikes, and have the time of their lives. As Wendell begins his search, he soon realizes that walruses aren’t easy to come by. But looking for a walrus turns out to be its own adventure, one with an unexpected result.Matt Phelan’s gentle watercolor art complements Lori Mortensen’s charming story about the joy of finding new friends in this picture book perfect for fans of Strictly NoElephants by Lisa Mantchev and Billy Twitters and His BlueWhale Problem by Mac Barnett and Adam Rex.

What Kind of Book is If Wendell Had a Walrus

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Lori Mortensen Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Lori Mortensen know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Matt Phelan Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Matt Phelan know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books From These Creatives

      picture • 40 Pages
      Xander's Panda Party
      5.8
      Linda Sue Park, Matt Phelan
      picture • 40 Pages
      Chicken Lily
      5.6
      Lori Mortensen, Nina Victor Crittenden
      picture • 40 Pages
      You Are My Friend: The Story of Mister Rogers and His Neighborhood
      Aimee Reid, Matt Phelan
      picture • 40 Pages
      Nonsense! The Curious Story of Edward Gorey
      Lori Mortensen, Chloe Bristol
      picture • 32 Pages
      A Kite for Moon
      Jane Yolen, Heidi E. Y. Stemple, Matt Phelan
      chapter • 176 Pages
      Knights vs. Dinosaurs
      5.0
      #1 in Series
      Matt Phelan
      picture • 32 Pages
      Cindy Moo
      4.9
      Lori Mortensen, Jeff Mack
      picture • 48 Pages
      Big George: How a Shy Boy Became President Washington
      Anne Rockwell, Matt Phelan
      chapter • 216 Pages
      Snow White: A Graphic Novel
      Graphic Nov.
      Matt Phelan
      picture • 32 Pages
      Flora's Very Windy Day
      4.8
      Jeanne Birdsall, Matt Phelan
      picture • 40 Pages
      Arlo Draws an Octopus
      Lori Mortensen, Rob Sayegh Jr.
      picture • 36 Pages
      Away with Words: The Daring Story Of Isabella Bird
      Lori Mortensen, Kristy Caldwell
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      picture • 32 Pages
      The Snail And the Whale
      4.8
      Julia Donaldson, Axel Scheffler
      picture • 32 Pages
      Inky the Octopus
      Erin Guendelsberger
      picture • 32 Pages
      The Storm Whale
      Benji Davies
      picture • 32 Pages
      Penguinaut!
      4.9
      Marcie Colleen, Emma Yarlett
      picture • 32 Pages
      Five Flying Penguins
      Barbara Barbieri McGrath, Stephanie Fizer Coleman
      picture • 32 Pages
      This Is a Sea Cow
      3.0
      Cassandra Federman
      picture • 36 Pages
      The Octonauts and the Frown Fish
      Meomi
      picture • 32 Pages
      Harry and Horsie
      5.8
      Katie Van Camp, Lincoln Agnew
      picture • 32 Pages
      CookieBot!
      5.5
      Series
      Katie Van Camp, Lincoln Agnew
      picture • 32 Pages
      Max and Marla
      5.3
      Series
      Alexandra Boiger

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781627796026
    Publication Date
    April 17, 2018
    Publisher
    Henry Holt and Co (BYR)
    Page Count
    32
    Words Per Page
    13
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    4 - 8 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2017004846
    Lexile® Level
    AD520L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~N
    ATOS® Book Level
    2.3
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    0.5
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    507940
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    LG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 90%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo