The Definitive Guide to

If Wendell Had a Walrus

Written by Lori Mortensen and illustrated by Matt Phelan
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
32
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A boy sets out to find a walrus only to make a new friend in this heartwarming, funny picture book by Lori Mortensen with art byMatt Phelan, creator of the New YorkTimes bestseller Snow White.Wendell is convinced that if he ever found a walrus, the twoof them would be the best of friends—they’d tell tons of jokes, ride bikes, and have the time of their lives. As Wendell begins his search, he soon realizes that walruses aren’t easy to come by. But looking for a walrus turns out to be its own adventure, one with an unexpected result.Matt Phelan’s gentle watercolor art complements Lori Mortensen’s charming story about the joy of finding new friends in this picture book perfect for fans of Strictly NoElephants by Lisa Mantchev and Billy Twitters and His BlueWhale Problem by Mac Barnett and Adam Rex.

What Kind of Book is If Wendell Had a Walrus

Book Lists That Include If Wendell Had a Walrus

Book Lists › the beach
Children's Books About The Beach
Book Lists › friendship
Favorite Children's Books About Friendship
Book Lists › adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote If Wendell Had a Walrus

author
Lori Mortensen

Lori Mortensen is an award-winning children’s book author of more than 70 books and over 350 stories and articles. Recent picture book releases include If Wendell Had a Walrus (Henry Holt), Chicken Lily, (Henry Holt), Mousequerade Ball (Bloomsbury) illustrated by New York Times bestselling illustrator Betsy Lewin, and Cowpoke Clyde Rides the Range (Clarion, 2016) a sequel to Cowpoke Clyde & Dirty Dawg, one of Amazon’s Best Picture Books of 2013.

When she’s not letting her cat in, or out, or in, she’s tapping away at her computer, conjuring, coaxing, and prodding her latest stories to life. Today, she lives in Northern California with her family and their mega-fluffy cat, Max.

View Author

Who Illustrated If Wendell Had a Walrus

illustrator
Matt Phelan

Matt Phelan has illustrated many books for young readers, including Xander’s Panda Party by Linda Sue Park and Marilyn’sMonster by Michelle Knudson. He has also written and illustrated a number of graphic novels, such as Snow White, a New YorkTimes bestseller, and The Storm in the Barn, winner of the ScottO’Dell award.

View Illustrator

What Has Lori Mortensen Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lori Mortensen know that we want more details from them about If Wendell Had a Walrus! Try tweeting at them on twitter (@lorimortensen).

What Has Matt Phelan Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Matt Phelan know that we want more details from them about If Wendell Had a Walrus!

More Books From These Creatives

Chicken Lily book
5.6
facing fears · poetry · chickens
Chicken Lily
Cowpoke Clyde and Dirty Dawg book
4.6
cowboys and cowgirls · dogs · bath time
Cowpoke Clyde and Dirty Dawg
What Are You Waiting For? book
4.6
bunnies · detectives · the moon
What Are You Waiting For?
cowboys and cowgirls · dogs · perseverance
Cowpoke Clyde Rides the Range
nursery rhymes · cows · the moon · perseverance
Cindy Moo
dance · counting · numbers
Mousequerade Ball: A Counting Tale

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Boats on the Bay book
6.8
boats · vehicles · the beach
Boats on the Bay
Madeline book
6.8
Paris · bravery · doctors · illness · female role models · adventure
Madeline
To the Sea book
6.7
making friends · kindness · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
Wherever You Go book
6.5
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · being yourself · travel · seasons · adventure · leaving home
Wherever You Go
Baby's First Bank Heist book
6.5
the zoo · silly · adventure · money · pets
Baby's First Bank Heist
The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His GRRRRR! book
6.4
friendship · animals · honesty · bears · teamwork · bullying · making friends · losing
The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His GRRRRR!
Dough Knights and Dragons book
6.3
dragons · baking · friendship · problem solving · activism
Dough Knights and Dragons
Sunk! book
6.3
pirates · friendship · penguins · adventure
Sunk!

Book Details

ISBN 10:
1627796029
ISBN 13:
9781627796026
Publication Date:
April 17, 2018