The Definitive Guide to

If Wendell Had a Walrus

Written by Lori Mortensen & illustrated by Matt Phelan
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Sep 23
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$14.39
used $1.99
Amazon
Apr 17, 2018
Publication Date
32
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A boy sets out to find a walrus only to make a new friend in this heartwarming, funny picture book by Lori Mortensen with art byMatt Phelan, creator of the New YorkTimes bestseller Snow White.Wendell is convinced that if he ever found a walrus, the twoof them would be the best of friends—they’d tell tons of jokes, ride bikes, and have the time of their lives. As Wendell begins his search, he soon realizes that walruses aren’t easy to come by. But looking for a walrus turns out to be its own adventure, one with an unexpected result.Matt Phelan’s gentle watercolor art complements Lori Mortensen’s charming story about the joy of finding new friends in this picture book perfect for fans of Strictly NoElephants by Lisa Mantchev and Billy Twitters and His BlueWhale Problem by Mac Barnett and Adam Rex.

What Kind of Book is If Wendell Had a Walrus

Book Lists That Include If Wendell Had a Walrus

Book Topics › the beach
Children's Books About The Beach
Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote If Wendell Had a Walrus

author
Lori Mortensen

Lori Mortensen is an award-winning children’s book author of more than 70 books and over 350 stories and articles. Recent picture book releases include If Wendell Had a Walrus (Henry Holt), Chicken Lily, (Henry Holt), Mousequerade Ball (Bloomsbury) illustrated by New York Times bestselling illustrator Betsy Lewin, and Cowpoke Clyde Rides the Range (Clarion, 2016) a sequel to Cowpoke Clyde & Dirty Dawg, one of Amazon’s Best Picture Books of 2013.

When she’s not letting her cat in, or out, or in, she’s tapping away at her computer, conjuring, coaxing, and prodding her latest stories to life. Today, she lives in Northern California with her family and their mega-fluffy cat, Max.

View Author

Who Illustrated If Wendell Had a Walrus

illustrator
Matt Phelan

Matt Phelan has illustrated many books for young readers, including Xander’s Panda Party by Linda Sue Park and Marilyn’sMonster by Michelle Knudson. He has also written and illustrated a number of graphic novels, such as Snow White, a New YorkTimes bestseller, and The Storm in the Barn, winner of the ScottO’Dell award.

View Illustrator

What Has Lori Mortensen Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lori know that you want more details about If Wendell Had a Walrus! Try tweeting Lori on twitter (@lorimortensen).

What Has Matt Phelan Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Matt know that you want more details about If Wendell Had a Walrus!

More Books From These Creatives

Jeanne Birdsall, Matt Phelan
Picture book
5.3
Add to list
Lori Mortensen, Michael Allen Austin
Picture book
4.6
Add to list
Lori Mortensen, Michael Allen Austin
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked If Wendell Had a Walrus

Book Details

ISBN:
9781627796026
Publication Date:
April 17, 2018
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2017004846
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1627796029
Lexile® Level:
AD520L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.