Otto Tattercoat and the Forest of Lost Things
Otto Tattercoat and the Forest of Lost Things
5.5/7
Bookroo
4.0/5
Goodreads

Otto Tattercoat and the Forest of Lost Things

Written by Matilda Woods
Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
8 - 12
Reading age
256
Page count
189
Words per page
640L
Lexile measure
Jun 9, 2020
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

From a masterful storyteller comes an adventure filled with magic and mischief, courage and family. Perfect for fans of The Penderwicks and the Brothers Grimm fairy tales. In the city of Hodorf, the Tattercoats live by a strict code. Only steal what you need, don’t leave a trace of yourself behind, and if another Tattercoat is in trouble, you must always help them out. These are the rules that guide Nim’s life as she and her rat, Nibbles, live on the streets and the rooftops of the only place she’s ever called home. So when a new boy named Otto comes to town and gets caught up in the devious plottings of a former Tattercoat who’s fallen from grace, Nim takes it upon herself to come to Otto’s rescue. But Otto isn’t the only one who needs help: The days in Hodorf have been growing progressively shorter and darker since the legendary sundragons went extinct. The air is getting colder, hope is waning, and it won’t be long until the freeze grows so bone-deep that the chimneys the Tattercoats use for warmth at night will no longer suffice. With things growing more dire, Nim sets off into the murky woods surrounding the city, searching for Otto–and for answers. With this story of magic, wonder, adventure, and smarts, Matilda firmly establishes herself as a powerful voice in the middle-grade space. Praise for Otto Tattercoat and the Forest of Lost Things * An engrossing tale…Both charming and wise. –Kirkus Reviews, starred review Woods fills her tale with vivid settings–a Dickensian atmosphere, a fairyland forest–and touching teamwork, and Otto’s fortitude makes for a winning read. –Publishers Weekly [A] frosty tale of magic and bravery. –Booklist

What Kind of Book is Otto Tattercoat and the Forest of Lost Things

Primarily about

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following are concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • The Tattercoats live by a code of conduct call the Tattercode. What do think of the Tattercode?
  • As orphans, the Tattercoats face many difficulties. In what ways were they resourceful? How did they look out for one another?

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

What Has Matilda Woods Said About This Book

Nothing yet! Let Matilda Woods know that you want to hear from them about their book.

More Books by Matilda Woods

    chapter • 208 Pages
    The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker
    Matilda Woods
    chapter • 272 Pages
    The Girl Who Sailed the Stars
    Matilda Woods
    View more

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    chapter • 304 Pages
    The Girl Who Speaks Bear
    chapter • 272 Pages
    At the Bottom of the World
    #1 in Series
    Bill Nye, Gregory Mone, Nicholas Iluzada
    chapter • 272 Pages
    The Magic Misfits
    5.8
    #1 in Series
    Neil Patrick Harris, Lissy Marlin, Kyle Hinton
    chapter • 256 Pages
    Bud, Not Buddy
    6.0
    Christopher Paul Curtis
    chapter • 288 Pages
    Withering-by-Sea
    Judith Rossell
    chapter • 304 Pages
    If the Magic Fits
    chapter • 304 Pages
    Finding Serendipity
    5.0
    #1 in Series
    Angelica Banks, Stevie Lewis
    chapter • 277 Pages
    Rooftoppers
    Katherine Rundell, Terry Fan
    chapter • 256 Pages
    Spindrift and the Orchid
    Emma Trevayne
    chapter • 224 Pages
    The Road to Ever After
    Moira Young

Book Details

ISBN
9780525515272
Publication Date
June 9, 2020
Publisher
Viking Books For Young Readers
Page Count
256
Words Per Page
189
Audience
Middle Grade
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2020012700
Lexile® Level
640L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~P
ATOS® Book Level
4.4
Accelerated Reader® Points
7
Accelerated Reader Quiz
508418
Accelerated Reader Interest Level
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 95%

So, SO close to perfection!

Depth Score - 28%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@thegoodfather
35

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo