The Definitive Guide to

Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Written by K D Halbrook & illustrated by Ilse Gort
Goodreads Rating - 3.7 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 20
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$16.99
used $16.99
Amazon
Jun 4, 2019
Publication Date
336
Pages
9-12
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Silver’s dreams of becoming a legendary water dragon racer come true when she befriends a rare dragon that can swim and fly.

Twelve-year-old Silver Batal calls the desert home, but her heart belongs to the waters. Although she’s expected to become a jeweler like her father, Silver harbors a secret and forbidden wish to race water dragons. Destiny comes calling when her friendship with a mysterious old woman leads her to Hiyyan, a baby dragon that can swim and fly. Risking everything, Silver, Hiyyan, and her resourceful cousin Brajon set off across the desert to join the legendary races in the royal city. But the road to Calidia is filled with danger, and the trio must band together as they encounter ferocious cave beasts, clever desert foxes, and cutthroat competition. Set in a vivid, Arab-inspired world filled with friendly and fearsome water dragons, K.D. Halbrook’s middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Tui T. Sutherland, Sayantani DasGupta, and Roshani Chokshi.

What Kind of Book is Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Book Lists That Include Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Book Topics › water
Children's Books About Water
Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

author
K D Halbrook

K.D. Halbrook is the author of the middle grade novel, SMOKE AND MIRRORS, as well as the upcoming SILVER BATAL AND THE WATER DRAGON RACES, an exciting new fantasy series. She writes young adult novels as Kristin Halbrook.

When she’s not writing, K.D. loves to play with her minigoldendoodle, spend time with her family, bake batch after batch of cookies (and other delicious things), go for runs, hikes, swims, and cycles, paint, play music, and sing at the top of her lungs. Her travels have taken her around the world, but there are still dozens of countries she can’t wait to see. She’s a firm believer that everyone can be more awesome today than they were yesterday, and even MORE awesome tomorrow!

View Author

Who Illustrated Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

What Has K D Halbrook Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let K know that you want more details about Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races! Try tweeting K on twitter (@kristinhalbrook) or messaging K on instagram (@kristinhalbrook).

What Has Ilse Gort Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Ilse know that you want more details about Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races!

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Book Details

ISBN:
9781250181077
Publication Date:
June 4, 2019
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2018038287
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1250181070
Lexile® Level:
680L

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.