Discover

Company
Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races Book
Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races Book
A BookrooView of

Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Written by K D Halbrook and illustrated by Ilse Gort

Published by Henry Holt and Co (BYR)

Publisher's Summary

Silver’s dreams of becoming a legendary water dragon racer come true when she befriends a rare dragon that can swim and fly.

Twelve-year-old Silver Batal calls the desert home, but her heart belongs to the waters. Although she’s expected to become a jeweler like her father, Silver harbors a secret and forbidden wish to race water dragons. Destiny comes calling when her friendship with a mysterious old woman leads her to Hiyyan, a baby dragon that can swim and fly. Risking everything, Silver, Hiyyan, and her resourceful cousin Brajon set off across the desert to join the legendary races in the royal city. But the road to Calidia is filled with danger, and the trio must band together as they encounter ferocious cave beasts, clever desert foxes, and cutthroat competition. Set in a vivid, Arab-inspired world filled with friendly and fearsome water dragons, K.D. Halbrook’s middle-grade fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Tui T. Sutherland, Sayantani DasGupta, and Roshani Chokshi.

Topics in Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

Details

  • Age Range: 9-12
  • Pages: 336
  • Book Type: chapter
  • Publication Date: June 4, 2019
  • ISBN: 1250181070
  • ISBN 13: 9781250181077
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS

Looks like we don't have any reviews for Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races yet!

author
K D Halbrook

K.D. Halbrook is the author of the middle grade novel, SMOKE AND MIRRORS, as well as the upcoming SILVER BATAL AND THE WATER DRAGON RACES, an exciting new fantasy series. She writes young adult novels as Kristin Halbrook. When she's not writing, K.D. loves to play with her minigoldendoodle, spend time with her family, bake batch after batch of cookies (and other delicious things), go for runs, hikes, swims, and cycles, paint, play music, and sing at the top of her lungs. Her travels have taken her around the world, but there are still dozens of countries she can't wait to see. She's a firm believer that everyone can be more awesome today than they were yesterday, and even MORE awesome tomorrow!

View Author
K D Halbrook
illustrator
Ilse Gort

Coming soon!

View Illustrator
Ilse Gort

More books like Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races

This Little Explorer book
6.9
Age 2 · explorers · biography · Best Children's Books by Age · travel · adventure · female role models · journeys · Native Americans · diversity
This Little Explorer
To the Sea book
6.7
Preschool · 100 Hidden Gem · making friends · kindness · calming reads for bedtime · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
families · ice cream · rhyming · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship · rhyming
We are Better Together
Russell and the Lost Treasure book
5.5
sleuthing · detectives · opposites · adventure
Russell and the Lost Treasure
Bath! Bath! Bath! book
5.5
rhyming · water · bath time
Bath! Bath! Bath!
Too Many Carrots book
5.3
sharing · coping with failure · friendship · carrots
Too Many Carrots
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

More books from these creatives

competition · teamwork · adventure · water · friendship · dragons
Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races
belonging · bullying · the circus · mystery
Smoke and Mirrors