The Black Kids
The Black Kids
4.1/5
Goodreads

The Black Kids

Written by Christina Hammonds Reed
Other
$12.99
$12.08
14 - 18
Reading age
400
Page count
228
Words per page
830L
Lexile measure
Apr 5, 2022
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's The Black Kids About

Publisher Summary

A New York Times bestseller A William C. Morris Award Finalist “Should be required reading in every classroom.” –Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin “A true love letter to Los Angeles.” –Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion “A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” –Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots. Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

What Kind of Book is The Black Kids

Primarily about

Locations

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include The Black Kids

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Christina Hammonds Reed Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Christina Hammonds Reed know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Black Kids

      chapter • 336 Pages
      Slay
      Brittney Morris
      chapter • 352 Pages
      Between Shades of Gray
      Ruta Sepetys
      chapter • 400 Pages
      Dreamland Burning
      Jennifer Latham
      chapter • 432 Pages
      Ace of Spades
      Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
      chapter • 464 Pages
      The Hate U Give
      #1 in Series
      Angie Thomas
      chapter • 448 Pages
      Monday's Not Coming
      Tiffany D Jackson
      chapter • 400 Pages
      A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
      Holly Jackson
      chapter • 368 Pages
      Furia
      Yamile Saied Méndez
      chapter • 374 Pages
      The Truth about Forever
      Sarah Dessen
      chapter • 332 Pages
      Vampire Academy
      Richelle Mead
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781534462731
    Publication Date
    April 5, 2022
    Publisher
    Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
    Page Count
    400
    Words Per Page
    228
    Audience
    Young Adult
    Reading Age
    14 - 18 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019035025
    Lexile® Level
    830L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~T
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.3
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    14
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    508901
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    UG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 95%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @elainer
    30

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo