The Girl and the Ghost
The Girl and the Ghost
4.2/5
Goodreads

The Girl and the Ghost

Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
8 - 12
Reading age
288
Page count
191
Words per page
840L
Lexile measure
Aug 4, 2020
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

‘’’ Chosen as a 2020 Kirkus Prize Finalist for Young Readers’ Literature! ‘’’ A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies. ‘’I am a dark spirit,’’ the ghost announced grandly. ‘’I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.’’ Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable. But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side–and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness. Fans of Holly Black’s ‘’Doll Bones’’ and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

What Kind of Book is The Girl and the Ghost

Primarily about

Locations

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Religions

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      chapter • 272 Pages
      The Night Diary
      Veera Hiranandani
      chapter • 304 Pages
      The Eleventh Trade
      Alyssa Hollingsworth
      chapter • 272 Pages
      Prairie Lotus
      Linda Sue Park
      chapter • 256 Pages
      We Could Be Heroes
      Margaret Finnegan
      chapter • 240 Pages
      Hurricane Child
      Kacen Callender
      chapter • 336 Pages
      Orange for the Sunsets
      6.8
      Tina Athaide
      chapter • 315 Pages
      Wonder
      6.5
      #1 in Series
      R. J. Palacio
      chapter • 304 Pages
      Outside In
      Jennifer Bradbury
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Front Desk
      Kelly Yang
      chapter • 256 Pages
      Restart
      Gordon Korman
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062940957
    Publication Date
    August 4, 2020
    Publisher
    HarperCollins
    Page Count
    288
    Words Per Page
    191.26041666666666
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019040567
    WorldCat Number (OCLC)
    1122735222
    Lexile® Level
    840L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~T
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.6
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    9
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    509588
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 95%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 21%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @karahsutton
    56
    02
    @thegoodfather
    5

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo