The Year I Flew Away
The Year I Flew Away
Goodreads3.8 / 5

The Year I Flew Away

Published by Versify
Prices as of Dec 3

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In this magical middle-grade novel, ten-year-old Gabrielle finds out that America isn’t the perfect place she imagined when she moves from Haiti to Brooklyn. With the help of a clever witch, Gabrielle becomes the perfect American – but will she lose herself in the process? Perfect for fans of HURRICANE CHILD and FRONT DESK. It’s 1985 and ten-year-old Gabrielle is excited to be moving from Haiti to America. Unfortunately, her parents won’t be able to join her yet and she’ll be living in a place called Brooklyn, New York, with relatives she has never met. She promises her parents that she will behave, but life proves to be difficult in the United States, from learning the language to always feeling like she doesn’t fit in to being bullied. So when a witch offers her a chance to speak English perfectly and be “American,” she makes the deal. But soon she realizes how much she has given up by trying to fit in and, along with her two new friends (one of them a talking rat), takes on the witch in an epic battle to try to reverse the spell. Gabrielle is a funny and engaging heroine you won’t soon forget in this sweet and lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk.

What Kind of Book is The Year I Flew Away

Topics

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Karma Khullar's Mustache
      Kristi Wientge
      American as Paneer Pie
      Supriya Kelkar
      Orange for the Sunsets
      6.8
      Tina Athaide
      Year of Billy Miller
      5.5
      Kevin Henkes
      Absolutely Almost
      5.3
      Lisa Graff
      Out of Bounds
      Andrea Montalbano
      Tiny Infinities
      J. H. Diehl
      Skateboard Sibby
      Clare O’Connor
      Cilla Lee-Jenkins: This Book Is a Classic
      Susan Tan, Dana Wulfekotte
      Judy Moody, Mood Martian
      Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780358272755
    Publication Date
    February 2, 2021
    Page Count
    256
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    019036630
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0358272750

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 48%

    Still needs the basics.

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @thegoodfather
    5