An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Flamingos: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about flamingos?

As you can see, this list of kids books about flamingos is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about flamingos, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Add to list
Flora and the Flamingo
Written & illustrated by Molly Idle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6
In this wordless book with interactive flaps, a friendship develops between a girl named Flora and a graceful flamingo, as they learn to dance together.
Add to list
What Is a Flamingo?
Written by Ginger Swift
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4
<p>Learn about the most famous pink bird of them all-the flamingo! Babies and toddlers will love exploring every tropical page filled with playful animal friends and <strong>fun flamingo facts</strong> found under sturdy, easy-to-lift flaps perfect for little hands. <strong>A sunny addition to your littles library collection! </strong></p> <ul> <li>Surprise and delight with bright artwork and fun flamingo facts found under every flap</li> <li>Sturdy board book pages with thick flaps perfectly sized for little hands and fingers to turn the pages and read along</li> <li>Lifting flaps strengthens hand-eye coordination and fine motor skills</li> <li>Bright and cheerful addition to your littles library collection! A perfect summertime read! </li> <li>Collect all the books in the series: What Is a Narwhal, What Is a Sloth, and What Is a Llama</li> </ul>
Add to list
Fussy Flamingo
Written by Shelly Vaughan James & illustrated by Matthew Rivera
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6
**A hysterical visual tale about a picky flamingo and her encouraging parents, perfect for fans of _Grumpy Monkey_ and _I Don't Want to Be a Frog_!** Meet Lola, the "no, no" flamingo. Lola will NOT eat shrimp, thank you very much. She does NOT care that it will turn her feathers pink. It is just plain yucky. But when Lola sneaks other snacks, she discovers that you really are what you eat. This very silly story will delight even the pickiest of young readers and resonate with parents eager to see just one bite. Don't miss the fun flamingo facts in the back!
Add to list
I'm Worried
Written by Michael Ian Black & illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
A girl, a flamingo, and a worried potato star in the third book in New York Times bestselling author Michael Ian Black and illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi’s series about feelings—and why they’re good, even when they feel bad. Potato is worried. About everything. Because anything might happen. When he tells his friends, he expects them to comfort him by saying that everything will be okay. Except they don’t. Because it might not be, and that’s okay too. Still, there’s one thing they can promise for sure: no matter what happens…they will always be by his side.
Add to list
Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Mystery on the Ostrich Express
Written & illustrated by Laura James
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
This vibrant, fun illustrated chapter book follows a clever flamingo sleuth and is perfect for fans of CatStronauts and The Bad Guys. In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world’s greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He’s not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he’s very, very clever. It's the middle of the summer, so Fabio and his associate Gilbert are looking forward to a relaxing vacation—taking a journey on the fastest train in the world, the Ostrich Express! But just after the conductor calls, “All aboard!”, a very expensive ruby necklace disappears without a trace. And Fabio can never stay away from a whodunit. . . Can Fabio and Gilbert use their snooping skills to solve the case before the train reaches its destination? This delightful 2-color illustrated chapter book from Laura James, author of the critically acclaimed Pug series, will have animal lovers and would-be detectives laughing out loud.
I'm Sad book
Add to list
Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo book
Add to list
Pinky Got Out! book
Add to list
  • I'm Sad - A girl, a potato, and a very sad flamingo star in this charming sequel to I’m Bored by New York Times bestselling author and comedian Michael Ian Black and celebrated illustrator Debbie Ridpath Ohi. Everyone feels sad sometimes—even flamingos.

  • Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: The Case of the Missing Hippo - This hilarious, brightly illustrated chapter book starring Fabio the flamingo detective and his sidekick Gilbert the giraffe is perfect for fans of CatStronauts and The Bad Guys. In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world’s greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio. He’s not tall or strong, but slight and pink. And he’s very, very clever. When Fabio and his giraffe associate Gilbert drop in to the Hotel Royale for a relaxing glass of lemonade (pink, naturally), Fabio is persuaded to judge the hotel’s talent contest. But when the most promising contestant—Julia the jazz-singing hippopotamus—goes missing, Fabio must put his thinking cap back on and solve the mystery! Don’t miss these other books from Laura James! The Pug series Captain Pug Cowboy Pug Safari Pug

  • Pinky Got Out! - Fans of Tad Hills and Jory John will love this hilarious picture book about Pinky, a flamingo at the zoo who sneakily slips out to join a group of kids on their zoo tour. Pinky isn’t your typical flamingo. He’s a real escape artist! When he sees a young girl named Penny and her class touring the zoo, Pinky feels like they’re birds of a feather and decides to make a break for it. Penny is the first to spot the flamingo hiding in plain sight. One by one, she lets her friends in on Pinky’s antics as he tries to blend in with the seals, the meerkats, and even the pandas. Young readers will enjoy trying to find Pinky on every spread and will be curious to discover whether he can actually fly the coop!

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links