The Definitive Guide to

Are You a Cat?

Written & illustrated by Coll Muir
Published by HarperCollins
1234567
4.6 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 21
$17.99
Retail Price
$15.29
Bookshop
$17.99
used $17.99
Amazon
May 19, 2020
Publication Date
32
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What Does Bookroo Think of Are You a Cat?

“Simple, playful—but still clever—humor will delight readers ready for a lighthearted laugh.”

“Are you a cat? . . . I’m a dog, and dogs chase cats.” So begins the hilarious encounter between Dog and Cat. It’s a bright, blue-sky day, Dog and Cat sit at the top of a hill, and Dog wants to know if Cat is a cat. But Cat has no interest in being chased, so Cat says he is not a cat. He is a bird. “Okay, if you’re a bird, prove it. . . . Fly up to that tree.” Confirmed to not be a bird, Cat insists he is a squirrel, a rabbit, and, perhaps most humorously, a butterfly. Each time, Dog questions Cat’s assertion, and when Cat reaffirms, challenges him to prove it. “Okay, if you’re a butterfly, land on that flower without squashing it.” The encounter ends on a delightfully witty note when Dog and Cat spot Mouse. Suddenly Cat is willing to accept his true nature as a cat that likes to chase mice, and it’s Mouse claiming to be something other than a mouse. Muir’s comedic tale is refreshing and entertaining—while a lesson could be pulled from its pages, it also provides an opportunity to simply laugh with a child at some deadpan silliness. The digital illustrations are simple in design and color. As in Muir’s Can Cat and Bird Be Friends?, Cat and Dog are essentially basic rectangles with stubs for ears or arms. Dialogue is identified only by color, which might require explaining for younger readers.

What's Are You a Cat? About

Publisher Summary

From the creator of Can Cat and Bird Be Friends comes a delightful story featuring an adorable cat and an inquisitive dog.

Dogs chase cats. Everyone knows this, especially cats.

When Dog wants to chase Cat, he politely asks, “are you a cat?”

To outrun and outsmart Dog, Cat pretends to be other animals that dogs wouldn’t ordinarily want to chase. It’s a masterful plan indeed. But when an unexpected creature walks by, it’s impossible for Cat to play pretend for much longer.

In a charming picture book filled with pleasing banter and hilarious quips, rising talent Coll Muir creates the perfect story about staying true to yourself.

Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat, and We Found a Hat.

What Kind of Book is Are You a Cat?

Quotes from Are You a Cat?

  • “Are you a cat?”
  • “Okay, if you’re a butterfly, land on that flower without squashing it.”

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • When Cat says he’s a certain type of animal, like a bird or a rabbit, Dog tells him to prove it by doing things that those animals do—like fly or climb down a hole. Have you ever pretended to be a type of animal?

  • The story ends with Mouse using the same tactic Cat used. What do you think will happen next?

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.25 / 7.0
B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
4.25 / 7.0
The Goodfather
Favorite pastime? Reading with my kids. Just finished Nana Cracks the Case!
1234567
5.5 / 7.0
Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
4.5 / 7.0
Mom of Boys
Mom of three little boys who love books about dragons, whangdoodles and magic.
1234567
4.5 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include Are You a Cat?

Book Topics › butterflies
Children's Books About Butterflies
Book Topics › bunnies and rabbits
Children's Books About Bunnies And Rabbits
Book Topics › mice
Children's Books About Mice
Book Topics › birds
Children's Books About Birds
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Are You a Cat?

author & illustrator
Coll Muir

Coll Muir is a London-based illustrator and writer of children’s books. After graduating from Edinburgh College of Art, he worked in the film and television industry. Coll’s debut book is Can Cat and Bird Be Friends? You can keep up with him and his many other stories at www.collmuir.com.

View Author

What Has Coll Muir Said About Are You a Cat?

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Coll know that you want more details about Are You a Cat?! Try tweeting Coll on twitter (@coll_muir) or messaging Coll on instagram (@coll_muir).

Coll Muir's Book Dedication

For Marrianne & Arthur

More Books by Coll Muir

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Are You a Cat?

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062865946
Publication Date:
May 19, 2020
Illustration Details:
The artist used Procreate and Adobe to create the digital illustrations for this book.
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062865943

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 28%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.