The Definitive Guide to

Extraordinary Birds

Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
224
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Eleven-year-old December knows everything about birds, and everything about getting kicked out of foster homes. All she has of her mom is the bird guide she left behind, and a message: “In flight is where you’ll find me.” December believes she’s truly a bird, just waiting for the day she transforms. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout; she only needs to find the right tree and practice flying.When she’s placed with foster mom Eleanor, who runs a taxidermy business and volunteers at a wildlife rescue, December begins to see what home means in a new light. But the story she’s told herself about her past is what’s kept her going this long. Can she learn to let go?An extraordinary story about identity and family perfect for fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

What Kind of Book is Extraordinary Birds

Book Lists That Include Extraordinary Birds

Book Lists › birds
Children's Books About Birds
Book Lists › foster care
Children's Books About Foster Care
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Extraordinary Birds

What Has Sandy Stark-McGinnis Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Sandy Stark-McGinnis know that we want more details from them about Extraordinary Birds!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles book
5.9
teamwork · facing fears · imagination · flowers · adventure · courage · family · siblings · perseverance
The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles
Little Women  book
5.9
sisters · family · dads · moms
Little Women
The Magic Misfits book
5.8
family · friendship · making friends · LGBTQ · magic
The Magic Misfits
Three Pennies book
5.5
San Francisco · adoption · owls · change · foster care · family
Three Pennies
Andi Unexpected book
5.5
sleuthing · new parents · moving · family history · sisters · making friends · listening · names · family · detectives
Andi Unexpected
The Desperate Adventures of Zeno and Alya book
5.5
home · perseverance · friendship · making friends · illness · birds
The Desperate Adventures of Zeno and Alya
A True Home book
5.5
community · bravery · home · family · mice
A True Home
The Treasure of Maria Mamoun book
5.5
boats · making friends · family · treasure
The Treasure of Maria Mamoun

Book Details

ISBN 10:
1547601000
ISBN 13:
9781547601004
Publication Date:
April 30, 2019