The Definitive Guide to

Extraordinary Birds

Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Sep 23
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$8.49
used $1.44
Amazon
Apr 30, 2019
Publication Date
224
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Eleven-year-old December knows everything about birds, and everything about getting kicked out of foster homes. All she has of her mom is the bird guide she left behind, and a message: “In flight is where you’ll find me.” December believes she’s truly a bird, just waiting for the day she transforms. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout; she only needs to find the right tree and practice flying.When she’s placed with foster mom Eleanor, who runs a taxidermy business and volunteers at a wildlife rescue, December begins to see what home means in a new light. But the story she’s told herself about her past is what’s kept her going this long. Can she learn to let go?An extraordinary story about identity and family perfect for fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

What Kind of Book is Extraordinary Birds

Book Lists That Include Extraordinary Birds

Book Topics › birds
Children's Books About Birds
Book Topics › foster care
Children's Books About Foster Care
Book Topics › orphans
Children's Books About Orphans
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Extraordinary Birds

author
Sandy Stark-McGinnis
Sandy Stark-McGinnis
View Author

What Has Sandy Stark-McGinnis Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Sandy know that you want more details about Extraordinary Birds!

More Books by Sandy Stark-McGinnis

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Extraordinary Birds

Book Details

ISBN:
9781547601004
Publication Date:
April 30, 2019
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2018045422
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1547601000
Lexile® Level:
700L
ATOS® Book Level:
4.5
Accelerated Reader® Points:
7.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
504139
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.