The Definitive Guide to

Hello, Universe

Written by Erin Entrada Kelly & illustrated by Isabel Roxas
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
320
Pages
Chapter
Book Type
Add to list

What's Hello, Universe About

Publisher Summary

Winner of the Newbery Medal “A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.”—Washington Post Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. “Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal

What Kind of Book is Hello, Universe

Book Lists That Include Hello, Universe

Book Topics › deafness
Children's Books About Deafness
Book Topics › 2019 Chapter Book Summer Reading List
2019 Summer Reading List for Readers Ages 8-12
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Hello, Universe

author
Erin Entrada Kelly

New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and You Go First, a New York Times bestseller, Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick, Kirkus Reviews Best Book, and School Library Journal Best Book. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. www.erinentradakelly.com

View Author

Who Illustrated Hello, Universe

illustrator
Isabel Roxas

Isabel Roxas is the littlest of her tribe. She is an artist with a taste for the odd and uncommon and for tales that go awry. She has illustrated several books including Let Me Finish! with author Minh Lè and A Day in the Market with May Tobias-Papa. When Isabel is not crafting pictures and stories, she is making little creatures out of clay. Learn more about Isabel online at studioroxas.com or on Instagram at @studioroxas.

View Illustrator

What Has Erin Entrada Kelly Said About Hello, Universe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Erin know that you want more details about Hello, Universe!

What Has Isabel Roxas Said About Hello, Universe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Isabel know that you want more details about Hello, Universe!

Did Hello, Universe Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books From These Creatives

Boo-La-La Witch Spa book
Samantha Berger, Isabel Roxas
Picture book
5.0
Add to list
Case of the Missing Donut book
Alison McGhee, Isabel Roxas
Picture book
4.8
Add to list
Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World book
Susan Hood, Sophie Blackall, Emily Winfield Martin, Shadra Stickland, Melissa Sweet, LeUyen Pham, Oge Mora, Julie Morstad, Lisa Brown, Selina Alko, Hadley Hooper, Isabel Roxas, Erin Robinson, Sara Palacios
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Hello, Universe

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062414151
Publication Date:
March 14, 2017
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2016022723
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062414151
Lexile:
690L
Accelerated Reader Points:
6.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
187756
ATOS Book Level:
4.7
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 70%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.