The Definitive Guide to

Hello, Universe

Written by Erin Entrada Kelly and illustrated by Isabel Roxas
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
320
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's Hello, Universe About

Publisher Summary

Winner of the Newbery Medal “A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.”—Washington Post Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. “Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal

What Kind of Book is Hello, Universe

Categories:
newbery
Themes:
confidence

Book Lists That Include Hello, Universe

Book Lists › 2019 Chapter Book Summer Reading List
2019 Summer Reading List for Readers Ages 8-12
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Hello, Universe

Who Illustrated Hello, Universe

What Has Erin Entrada Kelly Said About Hello, Universe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Erin Entrada Kelly know that we want more details from them about Hello, Universe!

What Has Isabel Roxas Said About Hello, Universe

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Isabel Roxas know that we want more details from them about Hello, Universe!

Did Hello, Universe Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books From These Creatives

Boo-La-La Witch Spa book
5.0
Halloween · witches · silly
Boo-La-La Witch Spa
vikings · being yourself · self-discovery · silly · princesses
The Littlest Viking

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Hello, Universe

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone book
7.0
magic · witches · wizards
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
The Graveyard Book book
7.0
chapter book
The Graveyard Book
The Wheel on the School book
7.0
chapter book
The Wheel on the School
The Secret Garden book
6.9
trees · seasons · making friends · nature · flowers · gardening · female role models · choosing cheeriness
The Secret Garden
Appleblossom the Possum book
6.8
animals · teamwork · dance · trying new things · problem solving · baby animals · siblings · rescue
Appleblossom the Possum
True (. . . Sort Of) book
6.8
empathy · anger · honesty
True (. . . Sort Of)
A Boy Called Bat book
6.8
autism · animals · empathy · bats · jobs and careers · disabilities · sharing
A Boy Called Bat
Always Neverland book
6.5
family history · adventure · stars
Always Neverland

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062414151
ISBN 13:
9780062414151
Publication Date:
March 14, 2017