Into the Tall, Tall Grass
Into the Tall, Tall Grass
Goodreads4.2 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Into the Tall, Tall Grass

Published by Margaret K McElderry Books
Prices as of Jul 21

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A girl journeys across her family’s land to save her grandmother’s life in this captivating and magical debut that’s perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish. Yolanda Rodríguez-O’Connell has a secret. All the members of her family have a magical gift–all, that is, except for Yolanda. Still, it’s something she can never talk about, or the townsfolk will call her family brujas–witches. When her grandmother, Wela, falls into an unexplained sleep, Yolanda is scared. Her father is off fighting in a faraway war, her mother died long ago, and Yolanda has isolated herself from her best friend and twin sister. If she loses her grandmother, who will she have left? When a strange grass emerges in the desert behind their house, Wela miraculously wakes, begging Yolanda to take her to the lone pecan tree left on their land. Determined not to lose her, Yolanda sets out on this journey with her sister, her ex-best friend, and a boy who has a crush on her. But what is the mysterious box that her grandmother needs to find? And how will going to the pecan tree make everything all right? Along the way, Yolanda discovers long-buried secrets that have made their family gift a family curse. But she also finds the healing power of the magic all around her, which just might promise a new beginning.

What Kind of Book is Into the Tall, Tall Grass

Topics

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      A Box of Bones
      Marina Cohen
      Spindlefish and Stars
      Christiane M. Andrews
      The Classy Crooks Club
      Alison Cherry
      The Girl and the Witch's Garden
      Erin Bowman
      When You Trap a Tiger
      Tae Keller
      Skylark and Wallcreeper
      Anne O'Brien Carelli
      Louisiana's Way Home
      Kate DiCamillo
      Aleca Zamm Fools Them All
      Ginger Rue
      The Infinity Year of Avalon James
      5.3
      Dana Middleton
      Circus Mirandus
      5.3
      Cassie Beasley

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781534449671
    Publication Date
    April 7, 2020
    Reading Age
    9 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019032230
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1534449671
    Lexile® Level
    660L

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 55%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.