Lalani of the Distant Sea
Lalani of the Distant Sea
Goodreads4.0 / 5

Lalani of the Distant Sea

Written by Erin Entrada Kelly & illustrated by Lian Cho
Published by Greenwillow Books
Prices as of Dec 3

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”–Kirkus (starred review)”A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”–Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach MeNewbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana. Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores. When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task–she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest–how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend? Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon. –Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

What Kind of Book is Lalani of the Distant Sea

Topics

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Lian Cho Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Lian Cho know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Erin Entrada Kelly Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Erin Entrada Kelly know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Out of Bounds
      Andrea Montalbano
      Stella Díaz Never Gives Up
      Angela Dominguez
      Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
      Julie Abe, Shan Jiang
      Party Problems
      Brian Weisfeld, Nicole C. Kear
      Sam Wu Is Not Afraid of Sharks
      Katie Tsang, Kevin Tsang, Nathan Reed
      The Stupendously Spectacular Spelling Bee
      Deborah Abela
      Marabel and the Book of Fate
      Tracy Barrett
      Gorilla Dawn
      Gill Lewis
      Judy Moody, Mood Martian
      Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds
      A Nearer Moon
      Melanie Crowder

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062747273
    Publication Date
    September 3, 2019
    Text Details
    The text of this book is set in Adobe Garamond Pro.
    Page Count
    400
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019012556
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0062747274
    Lexile® Level
    600L

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 70%

    Making good progress . . .

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @booksicedlattesblessed
    20