Lalani of the Distant Sea
Lalani of the Distant Sea
3.9/5
Goodreads

Lalani of the Distant Sea

Written by Erin Entrada Kelly & illustrated by Lian Cho
Hardcover
$16.99
$15.80
8 - 12
Reading age
400
Page count
130
Words per page
600L
Lexile measure
Sep 3, 2019
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”–Kirkus (starred review)”A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”–Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach MeNewbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana. Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores. When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task–she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest–how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend? Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon. –Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

What Kind of Book is Lalani of the Distant Sea

Primarily about

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Lian Cho Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Lian Cho know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Erin Entrada Kelly Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Erin Entrada Kelly know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books From These Creatives

      picture • 40 Pages
      It Began with Lemonade
      5.3
      Gideon Sterer, Lian Cho
      chapter • 336 Pages
      Those Kids from Fawn Creek
      Erin Entrada Kelly
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Blackbird Fly
      Erin Entrada Kelly
      picture • 400 Pages
      We Dream of Space
      Erin Entrada Kelly
      chapter • 160 Pages
      Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey
      Graphic Nov.
      Erin Entrada Kelly
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Hello, Universe
      4.5
      Isabel Roxas, Erin Entrada Kelly
      picture • 40 Pages
      The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom
      4.5
      Colleen AF Venable, Lian Cho
      picture • 40 Pages
      A Hundred Thousand Welcomes
      Lian Cho
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      chapter • 432 Pages
      Gorilla Dawn
      Gill Lewis
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Starry River of the Sky
      Grace Lin
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
      #1 in Series
      Grace Lin
      chapter • 336 Pages
      Fly on the Wall
      Graphic Nov.
      Remy Lai
      chapter • 336 Pages
      Orange for the Sunsets
      6.8
      Tina Athaide
      chapter • 320 Pages
      The Prettiest
      Brigit Young
      chapter • 320 Pages
      Stand Up, Yumi Chung!
      Jessica Kim
      chapter • 352 Pages
      The Storybook of Legends
      Shannon Hale
      chapter • 416 Pages
      Tumble & Blue
      Cassie Beasley
      chapter • 432 Pages
      Anya and the Dragon
      Sofiya Pasternack

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062747273
    Publication Date
    September 3, 2019
    Publisher
    Greenwillow Books
    Text Details
    The text of this book is set in Adobe Garamond Pro.
    Page Count
    400
    Words Per Page
    130
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2019012556
    Lexile® Level
    600L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~O
    ATOS® Book Level
    4.4
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    7
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    504302
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 110%

    Perfect!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @elainer
    25
    02
    @booksicedlattesblessed
    20

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo