Magic Mirror: Concerning a Lonely Princess, a Foundling Girl, a Scheming King and a Pickpocket Squirrel
Magic Mirror: Concerning a Lonely Princess, a Foundling Girl, a Scheming King and a Pickpocket Squirrel
Goodreads3.8 / 5

Magic Mirror: Concerning a Lonely Princess, a Foundling Girl, a Scheming King and a Pickpocket Squirrel

Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Sep 24

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

The twisty-turny journey of a girl searching for her heart’s desire–glimpsed in a magic mirror. Perfect for fans of Rump or Catherine, Called Birdy A foundling girl with a crooked leg and a crutch doesn’t expect life to be easy. Indeed, Maggie’s dearest wish is to simply not feel so alone. So when she spies a man behind bars in a magic mirror said to show one’s truest desire, she feels sure he is the father she’s always longed for–and she sets off on a quest to find him. Along the way, Maggie meets both kindly pilgrims and dastardly highwaymen. She discovers she bears a striking resemblance to the princess Petranilla. Their connection is so remarkable that Petra believes Maggie must be her lost sister who fell from the castle wall and was swept downriver as a baby. What a turn of fate! From reviled foundling to beloved royal! But being the lost princess turns out to be more curse than blessing given the schemes of the current king… And if Maggie’s a princess, then who is the man she spied in the magic mirror? This is a grand middle grade adventure story full of mistaken identities, lost loves, found families, and a tantalizing tinge of magic. I love this book–an uproarious, thoughtful, touching, absurd, ans altogether splendid adventure. –Karen Cushman, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Midwife’s Apprentice and Catherine, Called Birdy

What Kind of Book is Magic Mirror: Concerning a Lonely Princess, a Foundling Girl, a Scheming King and a Pickpocket Squirrel

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      The Way to Rio Luna
      Zoraida Córdova
      The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes
      6.0
      #1 in Series
      Wade Albert White, Mariano Epelbaum
      The Girl Who Speaks Bear
      Withering-by-Sea
      #1 in Series
      Judith Rossell
      The Language of Spells
      5.5
      Katie Harnett, Garret Weyr
      Greetings from Witness Protection!
      Jake Burt
      The War That Saved My Life
      #1 in Series
      Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
      The Voyage to Magical North
      #1 in Series
      Claire Fayers
      If the Magic Fits
      #1 in Series
      At the Bottom of the World
      #1 in Series
      Bill Nye, Gregory Mone, Nicholas Iluzada
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780553511345
    Publication Date
    May 10, 2016
    Page Count
    320
    Words Per Page
    198
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    9 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2015022145
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0553511343
    Lexile® Level
    800L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~S
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.6
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    10
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    182706
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 59%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @elainer
    1

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo