The Definitive Guide to

Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Written by Alicia Potter and illustrated by Birgitta Sif
1234567
5.38
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
5-8
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A tale with many tails, perfect for cat lovers everywhere!

Miss Hazeltine is opening a very special school for shy and fearful cats. They come from all over, and Miss Hazeltine gives them lessons in everything, from “Bird Basics” to “How Not to Fear the Broom.”

The most timid of all is Crumb. He cowers in a corner. Miss Hazeltine doesn’t mind. But when she gets in trouble and only Crumb knows where she is, will he find his inner courage and lead a daring rescue?

Filled with adorable illustrations and ideal for fans of Disappearing Desmond and The Invisible Boy, Miss Hazeltine’s Home for Shy and Fearful Cats is a story that’s perfect for shy and fearful children as it both helps them face scary situations and accepts them just as they are.

What Kind of Book is Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom, Avid Reader, Austen Fangirl
1234567
5.25

An unexpectedly adorable book about bravery, courage, friendship, and passing it on. The little Roald Dahl-esque illustrations are cute and lend the perfect cat character to the story. The way Miss Hazeltine handles the cats’ rehabilitation with love and empathy, sharing some of her own fears along the way, is perfectly returned as the cats and Miss Hazeltine learn that the true antidote to fear is love and friendship.

B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt
1234567
5.5

Crumb the cat, along with many other shy and fearful cats, live with the kind Miss Hazeltine. One day, Miss Hazeltine ventures out to get milk for the cats and only Crumb knows where she’s gone. When something bad happens to her, Crumb faces his fear and leads a wonderful example for the rest of the cats to do the same. As they brave the dark and their fears, the rescue Miss Hazeltine. This is a fun book about facing fears, pets, and cats!

Book Lists That Include Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Book Lists › 2019 Picture Book Summer Reading List
100 Picture Children's Books to Read This Summer of 2019
Book Lists › shyness
Children's Books About Shyness
Book Lists › feeling scared
Children's Books About Feeling Scared
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Who Illustrated Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

What Has Alicia Potter Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Alicia Potter know that we want more details from them about Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats!

What Has Birgitta Sif Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Birgitta Sif know that we want more details from them about Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Madeline book
6.8
Paris · bravery · doctors · illness · female role models · adventure
Madeline
Hop Along Boo, Time for Bed book
6.5
bedtime · getting ready for bed · stuffed animal friends
Hop Along Boo, Time for Bed
Baby's First Bank Heist book
6.5
the zoo · silly · adventure · money · pets
Baby's First Bank Heist
Koalas Eat Gum Leaves book
6.5
picture book
Koalas Eat Gum Leaves
Hello, Mr. Dodo! book
6.5
picture book
Hello, Mr. Dodo!
The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His GRRRRR! book
6.4
friendship · animals · honesty · bears · teamwork · bullying · making friends · losing
The Grizzly Bear Who Lost His GRRRRR!
The Pout-Pout Fish book
6.4
self-discovery · the ocean · humor · choosing cheeriness
The Pout-Pout Fish
Stone Soup book
6.3
teamwork · cooking
Stone Soup

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0385753349
ISBN 13:
9780385753340
Publication Date:
May 12, 2015