The Definitive Guide to

Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Written by Alicia Potter & illustrated by Birgitta Sif
1234567
5.38 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
5-8
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A tale with many tails, perfect for cat lovers everywhere!

Miss Hazeltine is opening a very special school for shy and fearful cats. They come from all over, and Miss Hazeltine gives them lessons in everything, from “Bird Basics” to “How Not to Fear the Broom.”

The most timid of all is Crumb. He cowers in a corner. Miss Hazeltine doesn’t mind. But when she gets in trouble and only Crumb knows where she is, will he find his inner courage and lead a daring rescue?

Filled with adorable illustrations and ideal for fans of Disappearing Desmond and The Invisible Boy, Miss Hazeltine’s Home for Shy and Fearful Cats is a story that’s perfect for shy and fearful children as it both helps them face scary situations and accepts them just as they are.

What Kind of Book is Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
5.5 / 7.0

Crumb the cat, along with many other shy and fearful cats, live with the kind Miss Hazeltine. One day, Miss Hazeltine ventures out to get milk for the cats and only Crumb knows where she’s gone. When something bad happens to her, Crumb faces his fear and leads a wonderful example for the rest of the cats to do the same. As they brave the dark and their fears, the rescue Miss Hazeltine. This is a fun book about facing fears, pets, and cats!

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
5.25 / 7.0

An unexpectedly adorable book about bravery, courage, friendship, and passing it on. The little Roald Dahl-esque illustrations are cute and lend the perfect cat character to the story. The way Miss Hazeltine handles the cats’ rehabilitation with love and empathy, sharing some of her own fears along the way, is perfectly returned as the cats and Miss Hazeltine learn that the true antidote to fear is love and friendship.

Book Lists That Include Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Book Topics › bravery
Bold Children's Books About Bravery
Book Topics › feeling scared
Children's Books About Feeling Scared
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

author
Alicia Potter

Alicia Potter is the author of several picture books, including Mrs. Harkness and the Panda, which was a Cybils Award winner and was named an NCSS-CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People. She lives in Boston, where she is a freelance writer and children’s book reviewer. As a former animal shelter “foster mom,” she has coaxed many a kitten out from under the bed.

View Author

Who Illustrated Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

illustrator
Birgitta Sif

Birgitta Sif is a designer and artist and the author-illustrator of Oliver and Frances Dean Who Loved to Dance and Dance. Born in Reykjavik, Iceland, Birgitta Sif now lives with her family in Sweden.

View Illustrator

What Has Alicia Potter Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Alicia know that you want more details about Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats!

What Has Birgitta Sif Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Birgitta know that you want more details about Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Miss Hazeltine's Home for Shy and Fearful Cats

Book Details

ISBN:
9780385753340
Publication Date:
May 12, 2015
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2013031961
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0385753349
Lexile:
AD560L
Accelerated Reader Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
177115
ATOS Book Level:
2.9
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.