On the Go Awesome
On the Go Awesome
Bookroo4.8 / 7Goodreads3.4 / 5

On the Go Awesome

Written by Lisl H. Detlefsen & illustrated by Robert Neubecker
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Aug 13

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A fun, awesome depiction of all the incredible ways we travel, perfect for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site. It’s fun to watch trains, planes, excavators, and other things that go. It’s even more fun to climb aboard. But most fun of all? Being the driver! Here’s a zippy read aloud that allows kids to imagine themselves as the driver of everyday vehicles like a train, to the most extraordinary of all, a rocket ship.

What Kind of Book is On the Go Awesome

Primarily about

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creatives Behind the Book

    Lisl H. Detlefsen

    Lisl H. Detlefsen is the author of a growing number of picture books, including TIME FOR CRANBERRIES, IF YOU HAD A JETPACK, RIGHT THIS VERY MINUTE, and 1, 2, 3, JUMP! She lives on a family-owned cranberry marsh near Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin with her husband and two sons. Visit her on the web at www.lislhdbooks.com.

    Illustrator
    Robert Neubecker

    Robert Neubecker is an award-winning illustrator whose work has appeared in The New York Times, Time Magazine, Newsweek, The Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, and just about every magazine in print. He helped create the look of Slate.com and was on staff there from 1996-2015. Robert won the prestigious 2004 Key Award for Best Comedy Poster for the movie Sideways. Robert’s first book for children, “Wow! City!” won the ALA Notable Book Award for 2005. Over thirty books have followed including: “Every Corner Needs a Monster” with Jean Reidy, 2013 Colorado Book Award winner “I got Two Dogs” with John Lithgow, “Air Show!” with Treat Williams, and “Sophie Peterman Tells the Truth” with Sarah Weeks.” In 2012, Robert’s “What Little Boys are made of” won a Kirkus Review Best Books of the Year award. Spring, 2017: “Keith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing” by Kay Haring, Keith’s sister. Summer 2017: “King Louie’s Shoes” with DJ Steinberg was released from Beach Lane Books. Fall 2017: Robert’s “Fall is for School,” Winter 2017: “Space Boy and the Snow Monster” by Dian Curtis Regan from Boyd’s Mill Press. Spring 2019: “King Louis’ Shoes” by Sarah Aronson Spring 2019: “Just Like Rube Goldberg” by Sarah Aronson Fall 2019: “Little Smokey” Robert has taught at School of Visual Arts in New York, BYU, and the University of Utah. An ex-New Yorker, Robert now lives on the side of Iron Mountain in Park City, Utah. He is married with two teenage kids and lives in the woods at the edge of town with a whole bunch of dogs and cats. Moose come around and eat his garden.

What Has Lisl H. Detlefsen Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Lisl H. Detlefsen know that you want to hear from them about their book.

What Has Robert Neubecker Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Robert Neubecker know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    McToad Mows Tiny Island
    6.2
    Tom Angleberger, John Hendrix
    Animals Go Vroom!
    Abi Cushman
    Mitchell Goes Driving
    Holly M. McGhee (a.k.a. Hallie Durand), Tony Fucile
    Race!
    4.9
    Sue Fliess, Edwardian Taylor
    Backhoe Joe
    Lori Alexander, Craig Cameron
    Bus for Us
    Suzanne Bloom
    What Kind of Car Does a T. Rex Drive?
    Mark Lee, Brian Biggs
    The Princess and the Pit Stop
    Tom Angleberger, Dan Santat
    Monkey on the Run
    Leo Timmers
    Vroom!
    Barbara McClintock
    View more

Book Details

ISBN
9781984852342
Publication Date
November 10, 2020
Page Count
40
Audience
Picture
Reading Age
4 - 8 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
2019022648
ASIN/ISBN 10
1984852345
Lexile® Level
450L
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
~M
Est. ATOS® Book Level
~3.1

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 9%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@booksnobmom
10

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo