Over and Under the Canyon
Over and Under the Canyon
4.2/5
Goodreads

Over and Under the Canyon

Written by Kate Messner & illustrated by Christopher Silas Neal
Part of the Over and Under Book Series
Hardcover
$18.99
$17.66
5 - 8
Reading age
56
Page count
680L
Lexile measure
Sep 7, 2021
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

In this latest book in the acclaimed Over and Under series, a spectacular hike reveals the hidden wonders, rich colors, and layers of wildlife living within a thriving desert slot-canyon. Over and Under the Canyon takes young readers on a thrilling tour of a desert canyon ecosystem. Over the canyon, the sun scalds the air, baking desert mud to stone. But under the shade of the cliffs hides another world, where bighorn sheep bound from rock to rock on the hillside, roadrunners make their nests in sturdy cacti, and banded geckos tuck themselves into the shelter of the sand. Discover the wonders concealed in the curves of the canyon, the magic of a desert wildflower bloom, and all the unexpected creatures that bring the desert to life. DISCOVER AMAZING ANIMALS: Kids are endlessly curious about the natural world and the wildly varied animals living in it–and the desert is FULL of amazing and surprising animals! CAPTIVATING NONFICTION: Like its predecessors, this latest offering in the Over and Under picture book series illuminates the magic of the natural world and its amazing inhabitants by telling the story of one family’s hike through a real-world desert ecosystem in lyrical prose and color-drenched illustrations. Even the most reluctant readers will be drawn into a fact-filled story this compelling! GREAT FOR TEACHING: The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) emphasize learning about animal habitats/biomes in K-2 curriculums, while later grades address topics like food chains, conservation, and endangered species. With a depth of research and an engaging, highly visual narrative, this book is an excellent resource for librarians and primary school educators. ENCOURAGES ENVIRONMENTAL AWARENESS: Concern for and preservation of the wilderness is an increasingly talked-about topic. This book provides a great, upbeat jumping-off point for discussions of the importance and wonder of our world’s natural habitats and ecosystems. ACCLAIMED AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Kate Messner is an award-winning author whose books for kids have been New York Times Notable, Junior Library Guild, IndieBound, and Bank Street College of Education Best Book selections. In addition to his work on this acclaimed series, Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator and author who regularly contributes to the New York Times and The New Yorker, and he has been awarded a medal from the Society of Illustrators. Perfect for: - Parents- Nature lovers- Fans of Kate Messner- Fans of Over and Under the Snow and previous books in the series- Educators and librarians seeking nonfiction books with STEM content

What Kind of Book is Over and Under the Canyon

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Kate Messner Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Kate Messner know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Christopher Silas Neal Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Christopher Silas Neal know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books From These Creatives

      picture • 40 Pages
      Hurry Up!: A Book About Slowing Down
      5.6
      Kate Dopirak, Christopher Silas Neal
      picture • 32 Pages
      From Tree To Sea
      5.5
      Shelley Moore Thomas, Christopher Silas Neal
      chapter • 272 Pages
      The Exact Location of Home
      Kate Messner
      chapter • 224 Pages
      The Mayflower
      #1 in Series
      Kate Messner
      chapter • 240 Pages
      Chirp
      Kate Messner
      picture • 32 Pages
      Rolling Thunder
      Kate Messner, Greg Ruth
      chapter • 448 Pages
      Breakout
      Kate Messner
      chapter • 144 Pages
      Rescue on the Oregon Trail
      Kate Messner
      picture • 40 Pages
      Lifetime: The Amazing Numbers in Animal Lives
      Lola M. Schaefer, Christopher Silas Neal
      chapter • 272 Pages
      All the Answers
      Kate Messner
      board • 40 Pages
      Animal Colors
      Christopher Silas Neal
      chapter • 160 Pages
      Marty McGuire
      Kate Messner, Brian Floca
      View more

    Discover All the Books in the Over and Under Series

      picture • 36 Pages
      Over and Under the Snow
      5.1
      Series
      Over and Under the Snow
      picture • 52 Pages
      Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt
      Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt
      picture • 48 Pages
      Over and Under the Pond
      5.6
      Series
      Over and Under the Pond
      picture • 48 Pages
      Over and Under the Rainforest
      Over and Under the Rainforest

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      picture • 48 Pages
      Moth: An Evolution Story
      Isabel Thomas, Daniel Egneus
      picture • 48 Pages
      The Sea Book
      Charlotte Milner
      picture • 64 Pages
      Drawn from Nature
      Helen Ahpornsiri
      picture • 48 Pages
      Extreme Weather and Rising Seas (a True Book: Understanding Climate Change) (Library Edition)
      Karina Hamalainen
      picture • 48 Pages
      Red Alert!: Endangered Animals Around the World
      Catherine Barr, Anne Wilson
      picture • 48 Pages
      Something Wonderful
      Nayl Gonzalez, Matt Ritter
      picture • 64 Pages
      The Ocean: Exploring our Blue Planet
      Miranda Krestovnikoff
      picture • 48 Pages
      Boreal Forest: A Year in the World's Largest Land Biome
      L E Carmichael, Josee Bisaillon
      chapter • 56 Pages
      Our Environment: Everything You Need to Know
      picture • 48 Pages
      The Polar Bear
      Jenni Desmond

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781452169392
    Publication Date
    September 7, 2021
    Publisher
    Chronicle Books
    Page Count
    56
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    5 - 8 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2020041357
    Lexile® Level
    680L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~P
    Est. ATOS® Book Level
    ~4.4

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 85%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @iheartbooks
    5

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo