Ruby and Olivia
Ruby and Olivia
Goodreads3.6 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Ruby and Olivia

Written by Rachel Hawkins
Published by Puffin Books
Prices as of Oct 24

What's Ruby and Olivia About

Publisher Summary

A spooky middle-grade story that’s full of fun, friendship, and humor–perfect for fans of Ingrid Law and Lisa Graff. Ruby is bold and opinionated, while Olivia has always been respectful and well behaved. But Olivia’s good-girl image is tarnished when she takes the fall for her twin sister’s misdeed. And now Olivia is stuck with Ruby all summer–at a community service day camp for troublemakers. To kick off the spirit of service, the campers are tasked with cataloging the contents of Live Oaks, a historic mansion in their town. Sorting through objects in an old house sounds boring, and working together is the last thing the girls want to do, but the stuff is actually kind of cool. There’s everything from mink stoles to golf clubs to antique dolls . . . and . . . wait . . . is that doll watching them? It isn’t long until little tricks–like mysterious music playing, doors slamming, and shadows rising–start to spook the girls. They’d like to think the other campers are pranking them, but they soon realize that this empty mansion might not be uninhabited after all. To solve the mystery at Live Oaks, Ruby and Olivia will have to put their old grudges aside and figure out how to be a team. This gently creepy middle-grade story is full of all the heart, humor, and authenticity that make Rachel Hawkins a favorite with kids and teachers alike.

What Kind of Book is Ruby and Olivia

Topics

Categories

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Ruby and Olivia

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Rachel Hawkins Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Rachel Hawkins know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Ruby and Olivia

      One on One
      Andrea Montalbano
      Cody and the Fountain of Happiness
      Tricia Springstubb, Eliza Wheeler
      New Kid
      5.8
      Jerry Craft
      The Magic Misfits
      5.8
      Neil Patrick Harris, Lissy Marlin, Kyle Hinton
      Bridge to Terabithia
      5.8
      Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson
      Quinny & Hopper
      5.3
      Adriana Brad Schanen, Greg Swearingen
      The Desperate Adventures of Zeno and Alya
      5.3
      Jane Kelley
      The Lost Stone
      5.0
      Jordan Quinn, Robert McPhillips
      Animal Inn 3-Books-in-1!
      5.0
      Paul DuBois Jacobs, Jennifer Swender, Stephanie Laberis
      The Great Shelby Holmes
      5.0
      Elizabeth Eulberg

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780147512918
    Publication Date
    October 1, 2018
    Page Count
    272
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0147512913
    Lexile® Level
    870L
    ATOS® Book Level
    5.6
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    9
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    194967
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 59%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.