The Definitive Guide to

Ruby and Olivia

Written by Rachel Hawkins
Published by Puffin Books
Goodreads Rating - 3.6 / 5.0
$8.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
272
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's Ruby and Olivia About

Publisher Summary

A spooky middle-grade story that’s full of fun, friendship, and humor—perfect for fans of Ingrid Law and Lisa Graff. Ruby is bold and opinionated, while Olivia has always been respectful and well behaved. But Olivia’s good-girl image is tarnished when she takes the fall for her twin sister’s misdeed. And now Olivia is stuck with Ruby all summer—at a community service day camp for troublemakers. To kick off the spirit of service, the campers are tasked with cataloging the contents of Live Oaks, a historic mansion in their town. Sorting through objects in an old house sounds boring, and working together is the last thing the girls want to do, but the stuff is actually kind of cool. There’s everything from mink stoles to golf clubs to antique dolls . . . and . . . wait . . . is that doll watching them? It isn’t long until little tricks—like mysterious music playing, doors slamming, and shadows rising—start to spook the girls. They’d like to think the other campers are pranking them, but they soon realize that this empty mansion might not be uninhabited after all. To solve the mystery at Live Oaks, Ruby and Olivia will have to put their old grudges aside and figure out how to be a team. This gently creepy middle-grade story is full of all the heart, humor, and authenticity that make Rachel Hawkins a favorite with kids and teachers alike.

What Kind of Book is Ruby and Olivia

Book Lists That Include Ruby and Olivia

Book Lists › making friends
Marvelous Children's Books about Making Friends
Book Lists › teamwork
Children's Books that Teach Teamwork
Book Lists › mystery
Children's Books About Mystery

Who Wrote Ruby and Olivia

author
Rachel Hawkins

Coming soon!

View Author

What Has Rachel Hawkins Said About Ruby and Olivia

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Rachel Hawkins know that we want more details from them about Ruby and Olivia!

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Ruby and Olivia

The Secret Garden book
6.9
trees · seasons · making friends · nature · flowers · gardening · female role models · choosing cheeriness
The Secret Garden
Appleblossom the Possum book
6.8
animals · teamwork · dance · trying new things · problem solving · baby animals · siblings · rescue
Appleblossom the Possum
Anne of Green Gables (Puffin in Bloom) book
6.5
female role models · parties · friendship · moms · adoption
Anne of Green Gables (Puffin in Bloom)
Stuart Little book
6.5
animals · friendship · sleuthing · New York · mice · adventure
Stuart Little
Ender's Game book
6.3
war · trauma · teamwork · self-discovery · outer space
Ender's Game
The Trumpet of the Swan book
6.0
animals · musical-instruments · jobs and careers · music · trying new things · artists · confidence · being yourself · dads · friendship · love · trumpets · swans
The Trumpet of the Swan
Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot book
6.0
animals · bravery · teamwork
Mice of the Round Table #1: A Tail of Camelot
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book
5.9
imagination · food · chocolate · grandpa · hard work · kindness · honesty · friendship · bravery
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0147512913
ISBN 13:
9780147512918
Publication Date:
October 1, 2018