Samuel Morse, That's Who!
Samuel Morse, That's Who!
Goodreads3.8 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Samuel Morse, That's Who!

Written by Tracy Nelson Maurer & illustrated by El Primo Ramón
Published by Henry Holt and Co (BYR)
Prices as of Jun 21

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Back in the 1800s, information traveled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that’s who! Who traveled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions—only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that’s who! This dynamic and subtsantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta’s popular inventor series.

What Kind of Book is Samuel Morse, That's Who!

Topics

Locations

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Tracy Nelson Maurer Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Tracy Nelson Maurer know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has El Primo Ramón Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let El Primo Ramón know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Locomotive
      4.8
      Brian Floca
      Who Says Women Can't Be Doctors?
      4.8
      Tanya Lee Stone, Marjorie Priceman
      When Sparks Fly: The True Story of Robert Goddard, the Father of US Rocketry
      Kristen Fulton, Diego Funck
      Wood, Wire, Wings: Emma Lilian Todd Invents an Airplane
      Tracy Subisak, Kirsten W. Larson
      Elizabeth Leads the Way
      6.5
      Tanya Lee Stone, Rebecca Gibbon
      The Crayon Man
      6.5
      Natascha Biebow, Steven Salerno
      Hi, I’m Norman: The Story of American Illustrator Norman Rockwell
      5.5
      Robert Burleigh, Wendell Minor
      Thank You, Sarah
      5.3
      Laurie Halse Anderson, Matt Faulkner
      Mr. Ferris and His Wheel
      5.0
      Kathryn Gibbs Davis, Gilbert Ford
      The Boy Who Thought Outside the Box: The Story of Video Game Inventor Ralph Baer
      5.0
      Marcie Wessels, Beatriz Castro

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781627791304
    Publication Date
    June 25, 2019
    Reading Age
    4 - 8 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2018039225
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1627791302
    Lexile® Level
    AD700L
    ATOS® Book Level
    4.09
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    0.5
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    503558
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    LG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 66%

    Making good progress . . .

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.