Samuel Morse, That's Who!
Samuel Morse, That's Who!
3.8/5
Goodreads

Samuel Morse, That's Who!

Written by Tracy Nelson Maurer & illustrated by El Primo Ramón
Hardcover
$18.99
$17.66
4 - 8
Reading age
40
Page count
25
Words per page
AD700L
Lexile measure
Jun 25, 2019
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Back in the 1800s, information traveled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that’s who! Who traveled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions—only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that’s who! This dynamic and subtsantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta’s popular inventor series.

What Kind of Book is Samuel Morse, That's Who!

Topics

Locations

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Tracy Nelson Maurer Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Tracy Nelson Maurer know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has El Primo Ramón Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let El Primo Ramón know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      picture • 32 Pages
      Elizabeth Leads the Way: Elizabeth Cady Stanton and the Right to Vote
      6.5
      Tanya Lee Stone, Rebecca Gibbon
      picture • 40 Pages
      A Computer Called Katherine
      Suzanne Slade, Veronica Miller Jamison
      picture • 40 Pages
      Freedom in Congo Square
      Carole Boston Weatherford, R Gregory Christie
      picture • 40 Pages
      Counting on Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Saved Apollo 13
      Helaine Becker, Dow Phumiruk
      picture • 40 Pages
      A Green Place to Be: The Creation of Central Park
      4.5
      Ashley Benham Yazdani
      picture • 48 Pages
      Abe's Honest Words
      7.0
      Doreen Rappaport, Kadir Nelson
      picture • 40 Pages
      The Kite That Bridged Two Nations: Homan Walsh and the First Niagara Suspension Bridge
      Alexis O'Neill, Terry Widener
      picture • 40 Pages
      Honey, the Dog Who Saved Abe Lincoln
      4.5
      Shari Swanson, Chuck Groenink
      picture • 32 Pages
      Looking at Lincoln
      4.3
      Maira Kalman
      picture • 48 Pages
      Pig War: How a Porcine Tragedy Taught England and America to Share
      5.5
      Emma Bland Smith, Alison Jay
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781627791304
    Publication Date
    June 25, 2019
    Publisher
    Henry Holt and Co (BYR)
    Page Count
    40
    Words Per Page
    24.825
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    4 - 8 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2018039225
    Lexile® Level
    AD700L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~Q
    ATOS® Book Level
    4.1
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    0.5
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    503558
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    LG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 90%

    So, SO close to perfection!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo