The Definitive Guide to

Sarah, Plain and Tall

Goodreads Rating - 3.8 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 28
$7.99
Retail Price
$6.79
Bookshop
$6.99
used $1.60
Amazon
1985-04-01
Publication Date
112
Pages
6-10
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan’s chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? This children’s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan’s Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list. Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

What Kind of Book is Sarah, Plain and Tall

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • If you had to write a letter, like Caleb and Anna, to someone who might be coming to live with your family, what would you want to know about this person?

  • Of all the nice things Sarah does for her new family, what do you think is the kindest?

  • Of all the nice things Papa does for Sarah, which do you think is the kindest?

  • Why doesn’t Caleb want Papa to teach Sarah to drive the wagon by herself? Why is he afraid?

Book Lists That Include Sarah, Plain and Tall

Book Topics › historical fiction
Children's Books About Historical Fiction
Book Topics › stepfamilies
Children's Books About Stepfamilies
Book Topics › Age 8
Children's Books About Age 8
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Sarah, Plain and Tall

author
Patricia MacLachlan

Patricia MacLachlan is a versatile and prolific author whose titles range from picture books to novels, including the Newbery Medal–winning Sarah, Plain and Tall. Barkus was inspired by the imagined adventures of her neighbor’s dog. She lives in Massachusetts

View Author

What Has Patricia MacLachlan Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Patricia know that you want more details about Sarah, Plain and Tall!

Did This Book Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books by Patricia MacLachlan

Patricia MacLachlan, Francesca Sanna
Picture book
5.1
Add to list
Patricia MacLachlan, Deborah Kogan Ray
Picture book
4.8
Add to list
Patricia MacLachlan, Stephanie Graegin
Picture book
4.5
Add to list
Patricia MacLachlan, Micha Archer
Picture book
4.5
Add to list
Patricia MacLachlan, Marc Boutavant
Picture book
4.4
Add to list
Patricia MacLachlan
Chapter book
Add to list
Patricia MacLachlan, Emily MacLachlan Charest, Matt Phelan
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Sarah, Plain and Tall

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062399526
Publication Date:
March 3, 2015
Original Publication Date:
April 1, 1985
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
83049481
WorldCat Number (OCLC):
910615547
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062399527
Lexile® Level:
560L
Scholastic Level:
R
ATOS® Book Level:
3.4
Accelerated Reader® Points:
1.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
137
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 92%
So, SO close to perfection!
Depth Score - 21%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.
Top Contributors
#1
@grammy
65