The Definitive Guide to

Sarah, Plain and Tall

Goodreads Rating - 3.8 / 5.0
$7.99
List Price
6-10
Target Age
112
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan’s chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? This children’s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan’s Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list. Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

What Kind of Book is Sarah, Plain and Tall

Book Lists That Include Sarah, Plain and Tall

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Sarah, Plain and Tall

author
Patricia MacLachlan

Patricia MacLachlan is a versatile and prolific author whose titles range from picture books to novels, including the Newbery Medal–winning Sarah, Plain and Tall. Barkus was inspired by the imagined adventures of her neighbor’s dog. She lives in Massachusetts

View Author

What Has Patricia MacLachlan Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Patricia MacLachlan know that we want more details from them about Sarah, Plain and Tall!

Did This Book Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books From These Creatives

My Friend Earth book
5.8
the environment · nature · Earth
My Friend Earth
Through Grandpa's Eyes book
4.8
grandpa · disabilities · empathy
Through Grandpa's Eyes
You Were the First book
4.5
new parents · new sibling
You Were the First
Barkus book
4.4
dogs · imagination · adventure
Barkus
news and reporting · dance · farms · summer
Just Dance
dogs · friendship · moving · love
White Fur Flying
helping others · poetry · weather · siblings · family
Fly Away
hard work · loneliness · robots
Little Robot Alone
chickens · mischief · animals · farms
Chicken Talk
bedtime · animal homes · animals · the moon · getting ready for bed
The Moon's Almost Here
Barkus Dog Dreams book
3.0
adventure · dogs · imagination
Barkus Dog Dreams

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone book
7.0
magic · witches · wizards
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
The Graveyard Book book
7.0
chapter book
The Graveyard Book
The Wheel on the School book
7.0
chapter book
The Wheel on the School
The Secret Garden book
6.9
trees · seasons · making friends · nature · flowers · gardening · female role models · choosing cheeriness
The Secret Garden
Appleblossom the Possum book
6.8
animals · teamwork · dance · trying new things · problem solving · baby animals · siblings · rescue
Appleblossom the Possum
Where the Red Fern Grows book
6.5
animals · dogs · death · bereavement · coping with death · pets
Where the Red Fern Grows
Stuart Little book
6.5
animals · friendship · sleuthing · New York · mice · adventure
Stuart Little

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062399527
ISBN 13:
9780062399526
Publication Date:
March 3, 2015