Book Series

Penny Books

In order from Penny and Her Doll to Penny and Her Marble
Penny and Her Doll
Penny and Her Marble
Penny and Her Doll
Penny and Her Doll
Penny and Her Marble
picture • 32 Pages
Penny and Her Doll
#1 in Series
Book #1

Penny and Her Doll

Written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes
4 - 8
Reading age
32
Page count
20
Words per page
Aug 21, 2012
Publication date
Physical book
$12.99
$12.08

Summary

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the second easy-to-read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum. When Penny receives a surprise box in the mail from Gram, she is thrilled. The surprise is a doll, and she is absolutely perfect, from her head to her toes. Penny loves her immediately. She introduces her new doll to Mama and to the babies and to Papa. But then Papa asks what the doll’s name is, and Penny realizes that she doesn’t know. What should Penny call her? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Don’t miss Penny’s newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

Primary Tags

namesdollsfeelings and emotions

Penny Series

Published from 2012 - 2013
2 books
picture • 32 Pages
Penny and Her Doll
Physical book
$12.99$12.08
picture • 48 Pages
Penny and Her Marble
Physical book
$12.99$12.08
Year#TitlePages
20121Penny and Her Doll32
2013Penny and Her Marble48

The Creative Behind the Books

    Author & Illustrator
    Kevin Henkes

    Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors–one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller–and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

Similar Series

    Little Bear
    Little Bear
    Hello, Crabby!
    Crabby
    Nina, Nina Ballerina
    Nina, Nina Ballerina
    Stocking Up for the Storm
    Katie Woo's Neighborhood
    Mac and Cheese
    Mac and Cheese
    The Fire Cat
    The Cat Club
    Do You Like My Bike?
    Hello, Hedgehog!
    Camila the Baking Star
    Camila the Star

Bookroo

Book Clubs

Follow Bookroo