The Definitive Guide to

Penny and Her Marble

Written & illustrated by Kevin Henkes
Part of the Penny Book Series
Published by Greenwillow Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Jan 17
$12.99
Retail Price
$11.04
Bookshop
$12.99
used $12.99
Amazon
Feb 19, 2013
Publication Date
48
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third easy-to-read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin’s front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It’s a beautiful marble—it’s big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children’s author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Don’t miss Penny’s newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

What Kind of Book is Penny and Her Marble

Book Lists That Include Penny and Her Marble

Book Topics › games
Children's Books About Games
Book Topics › toys
Children's Books About Toys
Book Topics › mice, hamster, guinea pigs, etc.
Children's Books About Mice, Hamster, Guinea Pigs, Etc.
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Penny and Her Marble

author & illustrator
Kevin Henkes

<p>Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for <em>Kitten’s First Full Moon</em>; Caldecott Honors for <em>Waiting</em> and <em>Owen</em>; two Newbery Honors–one for <em>Olive’s Ocean</em> and one for <em>The Year of Billy Miller</em>–and Geisel Honors for <em>Waiting</em> and <em>Penny and Her Marble</em>. His other books include <em>Egg, </em> <em>Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum</em>, and the beloved <em>Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse</em>. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com</p>

View Author

What Has Kevin Henkes Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kevin know that you want more details about Penny and Her Marble!

Did This Book Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books by Kevin Henkes

Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek
Picture book
5.0
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Penny and Her Marble

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062082039
Publication Date:
February 19, 2013
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062082035

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 59%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.