Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes
Penny and Her Marble
Penny and Her Marble
Goodreads4.1 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Penny and Her Marble

Written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes
Part of the Penny Book Series
Published by Greenwillow Books
Prices as of Jun 15

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third easy-to-read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum. When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin’s front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It’s a beautiful marble—it’s big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children’s author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss. Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Don’t miss Penny’s newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

What Kind of Book is Penny and Her Marble

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    Awards Given to This Book

    What Has Kevin Henkes Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Kevin Henkes know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Discover All the Books in the Penny Series

      Penny and Her Marble
      Penny and Her Marble
      See All Books

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Found
      4.3
      Jeff Newman, Larry Day
      That Fruit Is Mine!
      5.5
      Anuska Allepuz
      Tricky
      5.5
      Kari Rust
      Ruff!: And the Wonderfully Amazing Busy Day
      5.5
      Caroline Jayne Church
      Mirabel's Missing Valentines
      5.4
      Janet Lawler, Olivia Chin Mueller
      Ruthie and the (Not So) Teeny Tiny Lie
      5.4
      Laura Rankin
      The Mouse and the Moon
      5.0
      Gabriel Alborozo
      Good News, Bad News
      4.5
      Jeff Mack
      Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears
      4.5
      Emily Gravett
      Little Elliot, Big Fun
      4.5
      Mike Curato

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062082039
    Publication Date
    February 19, 2013
    Reading Age
    4 - 8 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0062082035

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 59%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.