The Definitive Guide to

Penny and Her Marble

Written & illustrated by Kevin Henkes
Part of the Penny Book Series
Published by Greenwillow Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$12.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
48
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third easy-to-read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin’s front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It’s a beautiful marble—it’s big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children’s author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Don’t miss Penny’s newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

What Kind of Book is Penny and Her Marble

Book Lists That Include Penny and Her Marble

Book Topics › mice
Children's Books About Mice
Book Topics › values and virtues
Children's Books About Values And Virtues
Book Topics › social themes
Children's Books About Social Themes
Book Topics › feelings and emotions
Fabulous Children's Books About Feelings and Emotions
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Penny and Her Marble

author & illustrator
Kevin Henkes

Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

View Author

What Has Kevin Henkes Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kevin know that you want more details about Penny and Her Marble!

Did This Book Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books by Kevin Henkes

When Spring Comes book
Kevin Henkes, Laura Dronzek
Picture book
5.0

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Penny and Her Marble

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062082039
Publication Date:
February 19, 2013

Suggested Links