The Definitive Guide to

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Written by Michelle Cuevas
Published by Puffin Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$8.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
224
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A girl’s friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses. When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan’s Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black hole follows her home, and sets out to live in her house as a pet. The black hole swallows everything he touches, which is challenging to say the least—but also turns out to be a convenient way to get rid of those items that Stella doesn’t want around. Soon the ugly sweaters her aunt has made for her all disappear within the black hole, as does the smelly class hamster she’s taking care of, and most important, all the reminders of her dead father that are just too painful to have around. It’s not until Stella, her younger brother, Cosmo, the family puppy, and even the bathroom tub all get swallowed up by the black hole that Stella comes to realize she has been letting her own grief consume her. And that’s not the only thing she realizes as she attempts to get back home. This is an astonishingly original and funny adventure with a great big heart.

What Kind of Book is The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Book Lists That Include The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Book Lists › loneliness
Children's Books About Loneliness
Book Lists › adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Book Lists › friendship
Favorite Children's Books About Friendship
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

author
Michelle Cuevas

Michelle Cuevas was born in 1982 in Berkshire County, Massachusetts. She graduated from Williams College and holds a master of fine arts in creative writing from the University of Virginia, where she received the Henry Hoyns Fellowship. She is the author of The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles illustrated by Caldecott medalist Erin E. Stead, Confessions of an Imaginary Friend: A Memoir by Jacques Papier, Beyond the Laughing Sky illustrated by Julie Morstad, and The Masterwork of a Painting Elephant illustrated by Ed Young. Visit her website at michellecuevas.com.

View Author

What Has Michelle Cuevas Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Michelle Cuevas know that we want more details from them about The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole!

More Books From These Creatives

The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles book
5.9
loneliness · community · the beach · letter writing · parties · the ocean
The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles
Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow book
5.0
bravery · shadows · imagination · shyness
Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow
self-discovery · imagination · friendship
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend
birds · family · belonging
Beyond the Laughing Sky
turtles and tortoises · innovation · being yourself · courage · self-discovery · building things
The Town of Turtle

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

This Little Explorer book
6.9
vikings · Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · explorers · travel · adventure · female role models · journeys · Native Americans · diversity
This Little Explorer
To the Sea book
6.7
making friends · kindness · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship
We are Better Together
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
ice cream · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family
When Your Elephant Has the Sniffles book
5.5
empathy · pets · feeling sick · silly · elephants
When Your Elephant Has the Sniffles
Russell and the Lost Treasure book
5.5
sleuthing · detectives · opposites · adventure
Russell and the Lost Treasure
Too Many Carrots book
5.3
sharing · coping with failure · friendship · carrots
Too Many Carrots
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Book Details

ISBN 10:
039953914X
ISBN 13:
9780399539145
Publication Date:
September 11, 2018