The Definitive Guide to

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Written by Michelle Cuevas
Published by Puffin Books
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 22
$8.99
Retail Price
$7.64
Bookshop
$8.99
used $8.99
Amazon
Sep 11, 2018
Publication Date
224
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A girl’s friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses. When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan’s Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black hole follows her home, and sets out to live in her house as a pet. The black hole swallows everything he touches, which is challenging to say the least–but also turns out to be a convenient way to get rid of those items that Stella doesn’t want around. Soon the ugly sweaters her aunt has made for her all disappear within the black hole, as does the smelly class hamster she’s taking care of, and most important, all the reminders of her dead father that are just too painful to have around. It’s not until Stella, her younger brother, Cosmo, the family puppy, and even the bathroom tub all get swallowed up by the black hole that Stella comes to realize she has been letting her own grief consume her. And that’s not the only thing she realizes as she attempts to get back home. This is an astonishingly original and funny adventure with a great big heart.

What Kind of Book is The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Book Lists That Include The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Book Topics › loneliness
Children's Books About Loneliness
Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

author
Michelle Cuevas

Michelle Cuevas graduated from Williams College and holds a master of fine arts degree in creative writing from the University of Virginia. She is the author of acclaimed picture book and national bestseller The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles (illustrated by Erin E. Stead), Smoot A Rebellious Shadow (illustrated by Sydney Smith), and several children’s novels including The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole (winner of the Massachusetts Book Award), and Confessions of an Imaginary Friend. Both novels are currently in production as feature films. Michelle lives and writes in Western Massachusetts. Read more about her books at MichelleCuevas.com.

View Author

What Has Michelle Cuevas Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Michelle know that you want more details about The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole! Try tweeting Michelle on twitter (@JacquesPapier) or messaging Michelle on instagram (@pgreenboat).

More Books by Michelle Cuevas

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Book Details

ISBN:
9780399539145
Publication Date:
September 11, 2018
ASIN/ISBN 10:
039953914X
Lexile® Level:
710L
ATOS® Book Level:
4.8
Accelerated Reader® Points:
4.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
193457
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 62%
More than halfway there—keep going!
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.