Discover

Company
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole Book
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole Book
A BookrooView of

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Written by Michelle Cuevas

Published by Puffin Books

Publisher's Summary

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses. When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan's Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black hole follows her home, and sets out to live in her house as a pet. The black hole swallows everything he touches, which is challenging to say the least--but also turns out to be a convenient way to get rid of those items that Stella doesn't want around. Soon the ugly sweaters her aunt has made for her all disappear within the black hole, as does the smelly class hamster she's taking care of, and most important, all the reminders of her dead father that are just too painful to have around. It's not until Stella, her younger brother, Cosmo, the family puppy, and even the bathroom tub all get swallowed up by the black hole that Stella comes to realize she has been letting her own grief consume her. And that's not the only thing she realizes as she attempts to get back home. This is an astonishingly original and funny adventure with a great big heart.

Topics in The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Details

  • Age Range: 8-12
  • Pages: 224
  • Book Type: chapter
  • Publication Date: September 11, 2018
  • ISBN: 039953914X
  • ISBN 13: 978-0399539145
Join Our Kids Book Club
Learn More
BOOKROOVIEWERS

Looks like we don't have any reviews for The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole yet!

author
Michelle Cuevas

Michelle Cuevas was born in 1982 in Berkshire County, Massachusetts. She graduated from Williams College and holds a master of fine arts in creative writing from the University of Virginia, where she received the Henry Hoyns Fellowship. She is the author of The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles illustrated by Caldecott medalist Erin E. Stead, Confessions of an Imaginary Friend: A Memoir by Jacques Papier, Beyond the Laughing Sky illustrated by Julie Morstad, and The Masterwork of a Painting Elephant illustrated by Ed Young. Visit her website at michellecuevas.com.

View Author
Michelle Cuevas

More books like The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

View All ›
This Little Explorer book
6.9
Age 2 · explorers · biography · Best Children's Books by Age · travel · adventure · female role models · journeys · Native Americans · diversity
This Little Explorer
To the Sea book
6.7
Preschool · 100 Hidden Gem · making friends · kindness · calming reads for bedtime · problem solving · friendship · being nice · hard work · loneliness
To the Sea
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
families · ice cream · rhyming · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship · rhyming
We are Better Together
When Your Elephant Has the Sniffles book
5.5
empathy · pets · sick · silly · elephants
When Your Elephant Has the Sniffles
Russell and the Lost Treasure book
5.5
sleuthing · detectives · opposites · adventure
Russell and the Lost Treasure
Too Many Carrots book
5.3
sharing · coping with failure · friendship · carrots
Too Many Carrots
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland book
5.3
adventure · imagination · inspired by classic literature
Lit for Little Hands: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland