The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
Goodreads4.1 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Written by Michelle Cuevas
Published by Puffin Books
Prices as of Jul 25

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A girl’s friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses. When eleven-year-old Stella Rodriguez shows up at NASA to request that her recording be included in Carl Sagan’s Golden Record, something unexpected happens: A black hole follows her home, and sets out to live in her house as a pet. The black hole swallows everything he touches, which is challenging to say the least–but also turns out to be a convenient way to get rid of those items that Stella doesn’t want around. Soon the ugly sweaters her aunt has made for her all disappear within the black hole, as does the smelly class hamster she’s taking care of, and most important, all the reminders of her dead father that are just too painful to have around. It’s not until Stella, her younger brother, Cosmo, the family puppy, and even the bathroom tub all get swallowed up by the black hole that Stella comes to realize she has been letting her own grief consume her. And that’s not the only thing she realizes as she attempts to get back home. This is an astonishingly original and funny adventure with a great big heart.

What Kind of Book is The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Michelle Cuevas Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Michelle Cuevas know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      Beginners Welcome
      5.0
      Cindy Baldwin
      The Memory of Forgotten Things
      Kat Zhang
      The Miraculous
      Jess Redman
      Line Tender
      Instructions for a Secondhand Heart
      Tamsyn Murray
      It's the End of the World as I Know It
      6.0
      Matthew Landis
      The Five Lives of Our Cat Zook
      Joanne Rocklin
      A Stitch in Time
      Daphne Kalmar
      The Land of Yesterday
      K. A. Reynolds
      Zombie Tag
      Hannah Moskowitz

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780399539145
    Publication Date
    September 11, 2018
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    039953914X
    Lexile® Level
    710L
    ATOS® Book Level
    4.8
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    4
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    193457
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.