The Secret Fawn
The Secret Fawn
Goodreads4.1 / 5

The Secret Fawn

Written by Kallie George & illustrated by Elly MacKay
Published by Tundra Books (NY)
Prices as of Jul 4

What's The Secret Fawn About

Publisher Summary

Gorgeous cut-paper art illuminates this sweet, heartfelt picture book about how special being little can be. For fans of Finding Wild and Little Fox in the Forest. A little girl is always missing out on the wonderful things her family gets to see and do, just because she is the youngest and smallest. She misses seeing shooting stars because she goes to bed too early; she can’t pick the first apple of autumn because she’s too short; and, this morning, everyone else got to see a deer . . . except her. She goes into her backyard in search of the deer, a sugar cube tucked in her pocket. She sees a flick of brown in the orchard – is that the deer? No, it’s just the neighbor’s friendly dog (Shhhhh, Nala!). Is that it by the pond? No, that’s just a bird, playing in the water. Just when she’s about to give up, she spots a fawn, beautiful, quiet and small . . . just like her. The Secret Fawn beautifully captures the power of nature to inspire children and shows how connecting with animals can help kids who feel left out or overlooked.

What Kind of Book is The Secret Fawn

Topics

Genres

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include The Secret Fawn

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Kallie George Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Kallie George know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Elly MacKay Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Elly MacKay know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Secret Fawn

      Day at the Beach
      5.5
      Tom Booth
      A Way with Wild Things
      5.3
      Larissa Theule, Sara Palacios
      Sunrise Summer
      4.8
      Matthew Swanson, Robbi Behr
      A Mystery in the Forest
      Daniel Montero Galán, Susanna Isern
      Greta and the Giants: inspired by Greta Thunberg's stand to save the world
      5.8
      Zoe Tucker, Zoe Persico
      Florence Frizzball
      5.8
      Claire Freedman
      Alma and How She Got Her Name
      5.6
      Juana Martinez-Neal
      Dasher
      5.5
      Matt Tavares
      The Second Sky
      5.5
      Patrick Guest, Jonathan Bentley
      My Mindful Walk with Grandma
      5.3
      Sheri Mabry, Wazza Pink
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780735265165
    Publication Date
    February 2, 2021
    Page Count
    40
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    3 - 7 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    201995620
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    073526516X
    Lexile® Level
    430L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~L
    Est. ATOS® Book Level
    ~2.9

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 59%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @iheartbooks
    5

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo