The Definitive Guide to

The Watermelon Seed

Written & illustrated by Greg Pizzoli
Published by Disney Press
1234567
5.88 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
3-5
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli’s picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

What Kind of Book is The Watermelon Seed

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
5.25 / 7.0
Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
6.5 / 7.0

I’m not exaggerating when I say that I think I’ve read this book to my kids a thousand times. It’s funny, and the ironic humor is easy for even young toddlers to enjoy. It’s a great length. The cute minimalist illustrations are a perfect match for the simple storyline and concise writing. Oh, and there are some good opportunities to make silly noises, which is a big plus for us. There’s no real lesson or moral or deeper meaning, it’s just a fun book. Honestly, I’ll probably read it another thousand times, and I’m fine with that.

Book Lists That Include The Watermelon Seed

Book Topics › food
Fun Children's Books About Food
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › funny and humorous
Hilarious Children's Books Filled With Humor
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Watermelon Seed

author & illustrator
Greg Pizzoli

Greg Pizzoli is an author, an illustrator, and a printmaker. His picture books include The Watermelon Seed; Good Night Owl; Tricky Vic; and North, South, East, West, which was also written by Margaret Wise Brown. When not traveling on trains, he can be found at home in Philadelphia with his wife, their dog, and two cats. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com.

View Author

What Has Greg Pizzoli Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Greg know that you want more details about The Watermelon Seed!

Did This Book Win Any Awards

You bet it did. Check it out below!

More Books by Greg Pizzoli

Two Little Trains book
Margaret Wise Brown, Greg Pizzoli
Picture book
4.5
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Watermelon Seed

Book Details

ISBN:
9781423171010
Publication Date:
May 14, 2013
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2012020297
ASIN/ISBN 10:
1423171012
Lexile:
350L
Accelerated Reader Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
159260
ATOS Book Level:
1.0
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 70%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.