The Definitive Guide to

The Watermelon Seed

Written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli
Published by Disney Press
1234567
5.88
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.1 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
3-5
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli’s picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

What Kind of Book is The Watermelon Seed

Themes:
food

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt
1234567
5.25
Readerly Mom
Bay Area mother of two, world traveler, book lover, picky reader
1234567
6.5

I’m not exaggerating when I say that I think I’ve read this book to my kids a thousand times. It’s funny, and the ironic humor is easy for even young toddlers to enjoy. It’s a great length. The cute minimalist illustrations are a perfect match for the simple storyline and concise writing. Oh, and there are some good opportunities to make silly noises, which is a big plus for us. There’s no real lesson or moral or deeper meaning, it’s just a fun book. Honestly, I’ll probably read it another thousand times, and I’m fine with that.

Book Lists That Include The Watermelon Seed

Book Lists › food
Fun Children's Books About Food
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Watermelon Seed

author & illustrator
Greg Pizzoli

Greg Pizzoli is an author, an illustrator, and a printmaker. His picture books include The Watermelon Seed; Good Night Owl; Tricky Vic; and North, South, East, West, which was also written by Margaret Wise Brown. When not traveling on trains, he can be found at home in Philadelphia with his wife, their dog, and two cats. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com.

View Author

What Has Greg Pizzoli Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Greg Pizzoli know that we want more details from them about The Watermelon Seed!

More Books From These Creatives

The Quest for Z book
5.3
historical figures · explorers
The Quest for Z
Crunch, The Shy Dinosaur book
5.0
dinosaurs · making friends · shyness
Crunch, The Shy Dinosaur
Two Little Trains book
4.8
trains
Two Little Trains
picture book
The Book Hog
Number One Sam book
4.0
losing · competition
Number One Sam
mischief · bunnies
Hi, Jack!
mischief · outer space
Jack Blasts Off

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

LMNO Peas book
6.0
alphabet (ABCs) · food · jobs and careers
LMNO Peas
Enemy Pie book
5.8
resolving conflict · friendship · food · being nice · forgiveness · dads · kindness · making friends
Enemy Pie
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs book
5.8
clouds · rain · weather · food
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs
That Fruit Is Mine! book
5.5
animals · elephants · food · nature · teamwork
That Fruit Is Mine!
Little Chef book
5.5
helping others · grandma · food
Little Chef
The Very Hungry Caterpillar book
5.5
fruit · bugs and insects · caterpillars · numbers · food
The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Happy Birthday, Cupcake! book
5.5
food · birthdays
Happy Birthday, Cupcake!
Aw, Nuts! book
5.5
squirrels and chipmunks · food · adventure · travel
Aw, Nuts!

Book Details

ISBN 10:
1423171012
ISBN 13:
9781423171010
Publication Date:
May 14, 2013