The Definitive Guide to

These Words I Shaped for You

Written by Megan Merchant and illustrated by Basak Agaoglu
Published by Philomel
1234567
4.5
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
$7.99
List Price
0-3
Target Age
30
Pages
Board
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A loving, lyrical ode to the bond shared between mother and child in the tradition of You Are My I Love You and On the Night You Were Born. Before you were born, you fit into the round fullness of my belly and when I dreamt I sent words like love to keep you safe. And when I first touched your tiny hand to mine, I drew a heart inside your palm for you to hold. There is no love more beautiful, more pure, than the deep-rooted love shared between parent and child. Told with vivid, poetic language, and accompanied by Basak Agaoglu’s adorable, child-friendly art, Megan Merchant infuses genuine warmth and compassion in this celebration of a mother’s heartfelt affection for her child. Whether it’s Mother’s day, Valentine’s Day, graduation, or just an ordinary day, this is the perfect book to share with the people in our lives we cherish most.

What Kind of Book is These Words I Shaped for You

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom, Avid Reader, Austen Fangirl
1234567
4.5

Book Lists That Include These Words I Shaped for You

Book Lists › new babies
Best Children's Books About New Babies
Book Lists › new parents
Special Children's Books About New Parents
Book Lists › babies
Fun Children's Books About Babies

Who Wrote These Words I Shaped for You

author
Megan Merchant

Megan Merchant lives in the tall pines of Prescott, AZ with her husband and two children, and three dogs. She was a collegiate swimmer and holds a Master of Fine Arts degree in International Creative Writing from UNLV. When she is not playing with her children outdoors, hiking, drinking too much coffee, or avoiding the laundry—she can be found writing in her fully restored 1963 Travel-Eze Trailer named Zelda.

Megan is the author of three full-length poetry collections with Glass Lyre Press: Gravel Ghosts (2016), The Dark’s Humming (2015 Lyrebird Award Winner, 2017), Grief Flowers (2018), four chapbooks, and a children’s book, These Words I Shaped for You (Philomel Books). She was awarded the 2016-2017 COG Literary Award, judged by Juan Felipe Herrera, the 2018 Beullah Rose Poetry Prize, and most recently, second place in the Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry. She is also an Editor at The Comstock Review. You can reach her and find her work at  meganmerchant.wix.com/poet. 

View Author

Who Illustrated These Words I Shaped for You

illustrator
Basak Agaoglu

Coming Soon!

View Illustrator

What Has Megan Merchant Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Megan Merchant know that we want more details from them about These Words I Shaped for You! Try tweeting at them on twitter (@meganamerchant) or messaging them on instagram (@megan.merchant.39).

What Has Basak Agaoglu Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Basak Agaoglu know that we want more details from them about These Words I Shaped for You!

More Books From These Creatives

The Almost Impossible Thing book
5.6
following your dreams · engineering · perseverance · teamwork
The Almost Impossible Thing

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

More Than Balloons book
6.2
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · love · valentines · babies · parents
More Than Balloons
Penguin and Pinecone book
6.0
friendship · love · penguins
Penguin and Pinecone
Emma book
6.0
Jane Austen · valentines · anger · feelings and emotions · inspired by classic literature · happiness
Emma
Spot Loves His Daddy book
6.0
dogs · family · dads · love
Spot Loves His Daddy
My Heart Is Like a Zoo book
5.9
Unique Books for Baby Shower Gifts · animals · the zoo · stuffed animal friends · valentines
My Heart Is Like a Zoo
My Love is For You book
5.9
love · nature · animals · belonging
My Love is For You
We are Better Together book
5.8
teamwork · love · friendship
We are Better Together
Best Friends: We Are A Family book
5.8
ice cream · diversity · friendship · family · love
Best Friends: We Are A Family

Book Details

ISBN 10:
039917253X
ISBN 13:
9780399172533
Publication Date:
December 26, 2017