The Definitive Guide to

These Words I Shaped for You

Written by Megan Merchant & illustrated by Basak Agaoglu
Published by Philomel
1234567
4.5 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 26
$7.99
Retail Price
$6.79
Bookshop
$7.99
used $7.99
Amazon
Dec 26, 2017
Publication Date
30
Pages
0-3
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

A loving, lyrical ode to the bond shared between mother and child in the tradition of You Are My I Love You and On the Night You Were Born. Before you were born, you fit into the round fullness of my belly and when I dreamt I sent words like love to keep you safe. And when I first touched your tiny hand to mine, I drew a heart inside your palm for you to hold. There is no love more beautiful, more pure, than the deep-rooted love shared between parent and child. Told with vivid, poetic language, and accompanied by Basak Agaoglu’s adorable, child-friendly art, Megan Merchant infuses genuine warmth and compassion in this celebration of a mother’s heartfelt affection for her child. Whether it’s Mother’s day, Valentine’s Day, graduation, or just an ordinary day, this is the perfect book to share with the people in our lives we cherish most.

What Kind of Book is These Words I Shaped for You

Video Gallery

Quotes from This Book

  • “Before you were born, you fit into the round fullness of my belly and when I dreamed, I sent you words like ‘love’ to keep you safe.”

What Questions Should I Ask My Child

  • What are your favorite words and how do they make you feel?

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.5 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include These Words I Shaped for You

Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote These Words I Shaped for You

author
Megan Merchant
Verified creative

Megan Merchant lives in the tall pines of Prescott, AZ with her husband and two children, and three dogs. She was a collegiate swimmer and holds a Master of Fine Arts degree in International Creative Writing from UNLV. When she is not playing with her children outdoors, hiking, drinking too much coffee, or avoiding the laundry—she can be found writing in her fully restored 1963 Travel-Eze Trailer named Zelda.

She is the author of three full-length poetry collections with Glass Lyre Press: Gravel Ghosts (2016), The Dark’s Humming (2015 Lyrebird Award Winner, 2017), Grief Flowers (2018), four chapbooks, and a children’s book, These Words I Shaped for You (Philomel Books). Her latest book, Before the Fevered Snow, came into the world in April 2020 with Stillhouse Press. She was awarded the 2016-2017 COG Literary Award, judged by Juan Felipe Herrera, the 2018 Beullah Rose Poetry Prize, and most recently, second place in the Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry. She is an Editor at Pirene’s Fountain and The Comstock Review. You can find her work at meganmerchant.wix.com/poet.

View Author

Who Illustrated These Words I Shaped for You

illustrator
Basak Agaoglu
Basak Agaoglu
View Illustrator

What Has Megan Merchant Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Megan know that you want more details about These Words I Shaped for You! Try messaging Megan on instagram (@megan.merchant.39).

What Has Basak Agaoglu Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Basak know that you want more details about These Words I Shaped for You!

More Books From These Creatives

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked These Words I Shaped for You

Book Details

ISBN:
9780399172533
Publication Date:
December 26, 2017
Word Count:
198
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2017948441
WorldCat Number (OCLC):
1017755800
ASIN/ISBN 10:
039917253X

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 37%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.
Top Contributors
#1
@meganmerchant
25