An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Haunted Places: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about haunted places?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to haunted places. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about haunted places.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about haunted places, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Haunted Bridge to popular sellers like The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo.

We hope this list of kids books about haunted places can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
The Great Shelby Holmes and the Haunted Hound
Written by Elizabeth Eulberg
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg continues her hilarious middle-grade twist on Sherlock Holmes as detective duo Shelby and Watson face their spookiest case yet–a haunting! Now infamous in their Harlem neighborhood for solving the most difficult mysteries, super sleuths Shelby Holmes and John Watson stumble into their creepiest case yet. Residents of a local apartment building are hearing scary noises at night, like screams, scratching, and an unearthly dog’s howl. It can’t be a ghost . . . Can it? Well, Shelby Holmes doesn’t believe in ghosts, and she plans to prove they don’t exist! But Watson can’t help but wonder if there are more supernatural forces at work–especially after he and Shelby hear rumors that the building’s previous owner, Hugo Baskerville, and his loyal hound haunt the premises. If Shelby and Watson want to find out who (or what!) is behind the spookiness, they’ll have to prove they’re not afraid of ghosts–by surviving an overnight Halloween stakeout! Elizabeth Eulberg’s charming middle-grade take on Sherlock Holmes continues in this retelling of The Hound of the Baskervilles that reunites readers with the charming detective pairing of Shelby and Watson. Don’t miss the rest of the Great Shelby Holmes series: The Great Shelby Holmes The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match The Great Shelby Holmes and the Coldest Case The Great Shelby Holmes and the Haunted Hound

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$15.59
Used $12.18
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Griffins Of Castle Cary
Written & illustrated by Heather Shumaker
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A charming, adventure-filled debut novel that’s perfect for fans of The Penderwicks series.

Siblings Meg, Will, and Ariel Griffin are off on an adventure! They can’t wait to spend a week visiting their eccentric aunt and her giant, tongue-drooling Newfoundland dog in England. But when they finally arrive, they’re faced with a few local secrets that stir up more than a little trouble.

Add in some very peculiar lights, strange new friends, a police chase and some stampeding sheep, and the Griffin kids are in over their heads—literally. Apparently this town has a ghost problem and the three children must race to solve the mystery before the ghosts take something that doesn’t belong to them.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.39
Used $7.73
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Ghosts Don't Ride Bikes, Do They?
Written by Andres Miedoso & illustrated by Victor Rivas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Desmond and Andres are in for a bike-riding adventure in the second book of the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol chapter book series!

Welcome to Kersville, a town with a spooky history and a collection of ghosts and spirits who are major mischief-makers. Most kids spend their days without ever seeing or dealing with a ghost, but some kids get stuck with a haunt. When that happens, they call Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol. There’s no job too spooky, icky, or risky for Desmond.

I’m not like that at all. My name’s Andres Miedoso. I’m Desmond’s best friend and ghost patrol partner.

So when Desmond and I are called to track down a ghost on wheels, Desmond is sure that ghosts don’t ride bikes. Here’s why: they float everywhere. Makes sense, right? But if there’s one thing I’ve learned during my Ghost Patrol days, it’s this: Never tell a ghost what they can or can’t do.

With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Surf's Up, Creepy Stuff!
Written by Andres Miedoso & illustrated by Victor Rivas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Desmond and Andres battle beach bullies who also happen to be creepy monsters in the third book of the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol chapter book series! Welcome to Kersville, a town with a spooky history and a collection of ghosts and spirits who are major mischief-makers. Most kids spend their days without ever seeing or dealing with a ghost, but some kids get stuck with a haunt. When that happens, they call Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol. There’s no job too spooky, icky, or risky for Desmond. I’m not like that at all. My name’s Andres Miedoso. I’m Desmond’s best friend and I’m afraid of everything. When you go to the beach with Desmond Cole, it isn’t all sand, surf, and sun. It’s more like, ghosts, ghouls, and gloom. And yes, being haunted while there’s sand in your swimsuit is annoying, but at least you can always count on one thing—beach life is never boring with Mersurfers around. With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo
Written & illustrated by Drew Weing
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Charles just moved to Echo City, and some of his new neighbors give him the creeps. They sneak into his room, steal his toys, and occasionally, they try to eat him. The place is teeming with monsters! Lucky for Charles, Echo City has Margo Maloo, monster mediator. No matter who’s causing trouble, Margo knows exactly what to do—the neighborhood kids say monsters are afraid of her. It’s a good thing, because Echo City’s trolls, ogres, and ghosts all have one thing in common: they don’t like Charles very much.

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$13.98
Used $1.68
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo: The Monster Mall - Charles meets a lot of monsters in his line of work. While assisting Margo Maloo on her assignments, he’s had close encounters with trolls, ghosts, imps, and ogres. And lately, they’re all saying the same thing: living in Echo City is getting harder. As the human population of the city is grows, monsters are being forced to abandon their homes. Teenagers are creeping into their territory, smartphones in hand, eager to photograph paranormal activity. Some monsters are tired of hiding and ready to fight. How can Margo and Charles keep Echo City’s monster community a secret, when it’s teetering in the brink of war? In this second volume of The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo, graphic novelist Drew Weing delivers a fresh and funny take on the age-old battle between kids and closet-dwelling monsters.

  • The Haunted Bridge - Mr. Drew is on the trail of an international ring of jewel thieves and asks Nancy to assist him. The trail leads to a summer resort area. Before Nancy has a chance to start work on her father’s case, a golf caddy tells her a frightening tale–in the dense woods nearby is an old wooden footbridge guarded by a ghost! Intrigued by the caddy’s story, Nancy decides to investigate. Several riddles confront the young detective as she attempts to solve the mystery of the haunted bridge and track down a woman suspected of being a key member of the gang of jewel thieves.

  • A Properly Unhaunted Place - “In a world full of ghosts, Rosa and Jasper live in the only unhaunted town–but must spring to action when they realize the ghosts are lying in wait to take the town back”–

  • The Story Collector - Eleven-year-old Viviani Fedeler grew up surrounded by books, but now she’s ready for her own story to begin. As thedaughter of the Library superintendent, Viviani has explored every nook, cranny, and room—except the ones her father keeps locked.When Viviani suspects that the Library is haunted, she decides to spook her friends and new girl Merit Mubarak with a harmless little prank. But what begins as a joke quickly gets out of hand. Soon Viviani and her friends have to solve two big mysteries: Is there really a ghost in the Library?And who stole the expensive stamp collection?

Add to list
A Festival of Ghosts
Written & illustrated by William Alexander
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

National Book Award winner William Alexander conjures up a spooky adventure full of excitement in this entertaining sequel to A Properly Unhaunted Place.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Night Air
Written & illustrated by Ben Sears
picture book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Plus Man is a roguish knave without equal, an antihero in his own mind. His coolheaded robot, however, knows better. This odd couple has just been given a break: a tip on a score of valuable alloy. The catch? The alloy is in a haunted castle. One really haunted castle.

Buy book
$12.00
Bookshop
$10.20
Amazon
$12.00
Used $12.00
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Trace
Written by Pat Cummings
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

In a debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Erin Entrada Kelly, award-winning author/illustrator and educator Pat Cummings tells a poignant story about grief, love, and the untold stories that echo across time. Trace Carter doesn’t know how to feel at ease in his new life in New York. Even though his artsy Auntie Lea is cool, her brownstone still isn’t his home. Haunted by flashbacks of the accident that killed his parents, the best he can do is try to distract himself from memories of the past. But the past isn’t done with him. When Trace takes a wrong turn in the New York Public Library, he finds someone else lost in the stacks with him: a crying little boy, wearing old, tattered clothes. And though at first he can’t quite believe he’s seen a ghost, Trace soon discovers that the boy he saw has ties to Trace’s own history—and that he himself may be the key to setting the dead to rest.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$11.99
Used $2.55
Prices as of Sep 30

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.