An award-winning book club for kids
Shop Now

Inspired By Brothers Grimm Fairytales: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about Inspired by Brothers Grimm Fairytales?

As you can see, this list of kids books about Inspired by Brothers Grimm Fairytales is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about Inspired by Brothers Grimm Fairytales, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales book
#1
Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales
Written by Brothers Grimm and illustrated by Arthur Rackham
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-12

Grimms Complete Fairy Tales collects more than two hundred tales set down by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm in the early decades of the nineteenth century, among them some of the best-loved and most famous fairy tales in all literature: Little Red Riding Hood, Snow-White and the Seven Dwarfs, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Rapunzel, Rumpelstiltskin, and Tom Thumb. Derived from folk tales that had been part of the oral storytelling tradition for centuries, these stories are acknowledged as literary landmarks that transcend their time and culture. This edition also features ten rarely seen “Children’s Legends” and the full-color artwork of Arthur Rackham.

Rumpelstiltskin book
#2
Rumpelstiltskin
Written by Brothers Grimm and Paul O. Zelinsky and illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Richly hued oil paintings complement a story simply and gracefully told.

Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin book
#3
Rump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin
Written and illustrated by Liesl Shurtliff
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff “spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner].” In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone’s joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse. To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end. A Texas Bluebonnet finalist and winner of the ILA award for middle grade fiction, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz’s A Tale Dark and Grimm. And don’t miss Liesl Shurtliff’s other fairy tale retellings: Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood.

Rumpelstiltskin book
#4
Rumpelstiltskin
Written by Tiger Tales and illustrated by Loretta Schauer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Poor Isabel! The king has locked her in a tower and ordered her to spin straw into gold. It’s impossible! Then a mysterious, magical man appears, offering to help. But what does he want in return?

Little Red Riding Hood book
#5
Little Red Riding Hood
Written by Parragon Books and Gaby Goldsack and illustrated by Dubravka Kolanovic
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

The classic tale of Little Red Riding Hood comes to life in this vibrant retelling perfect for beginning readers. Designed to encourage vocabulary development and help children read aloud, this story uses larger font types and vivid, contemporary illustrations to help early learning skills. It’s a perfect addition to any children’s library.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!

    Join Our Kids Book Club
    Learn More