An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Platypus: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about platypus?

As you can see, this list of kids books about platypus is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about platypus, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Eee-Moo!
Written by Annika Dunklee & illustrated by Brian Won
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When the stork drops an egg before delivering it to its parents the little animal’s first words are EEE-MOO. So, a cow, pig, horse, and other furry friends who watch him hatch decide he is an emu and Australia is his home. Good friends that they are, they offer to help him get there. So EEE-MOO’s journey begins, and along the way he meets a cast of other animal friends who guide him to the open arms of his family. But when he gets there, he realizes something is missing.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Dude!
Written by Aaron Reynolds
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

The author of Nerdy Berdy and Creepy Carrots! teams up with the Caldecott–winning illustrator behind The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend to create the hilarious, gnarly summer adventure picture book, Dude! Dude! You have to read this book. It’s totally about this platypus and this beaver who are friends. They want to go surfing but dude, there’s this shark who’s in the ocean, too. But don’t worry. This shark approaches and you’ll never guess what happens.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$12.29
Used $1.89
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Frog Who Croaked
Written & illustrated by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked is the first in a series of zany, action-packed middle grade mysteries featuring platypus police detectives Rick Zengo and Corey O'Malley.

When a call comes in about a crime down at the docks involving a missing schoolteacher and a duffle bag full of illegal fish, Zengo and O'Malley are going to have to learn to set their differences aside if they want to get to the bottom of this. Especially when the clues all point to Frank Pandini Jr., Kallamazoo's first son and its most powerful, well-respected businessman.

Fans of Adam Rex, Jon Scieszka, and Jarrett J. Krosoczka's own Lunch Lady graphic novels will flip for Jarrett's series of funny illustrated Platypus Police Squad middle grade novels!

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
This Zoo Is Not for You
Written & illustrated by Ross Collins
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

When a platypus stops by the zoo one day, all the animals assume he wants to join their zoo, and he is swiftly taken through a rigorous interview process. But the platypus is far too bland for the chameleons, he’s not nearly graceful enough for the flamingos, and his tricks will never impress the monkeys. After he leaves, the animals soon regret their behavior, but . . . what’s this? The platypus has left something behind. Perhaps he didn’t intend to join their zoo after all! This rhyming picture book, from the award-winning creator of There’s a Bear on My Chair, combines comic misunderstanding with a heartfelt story about acceptance and belonging.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.89
Used $6.41
Prices as of Jan 21

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.